We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Falls Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Falls Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Falls Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ennistymon, Ennistymon, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ennistymon
Carryduff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Fabulous Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Me and my two sons stayed three nights and I was delighted to see that my request for a double and two single beds had been met without any fuss. The room was spacious and comfortable and everything worked inside the room. Wifi is available in the bar and reception.

What impressed me most about the hotel was the courtesy of the staff - they really do care. The owner (Michael) is always around and he actually takes the time to ensure that you are comfortable and contented.

The food is of a good standard and is served quickly. The carvery is particularly good value at 10 euro. A pint in the hotel is marginally cheaper than the pubs nearby.

The hotel has an above average leisure centre with CV room, all the latest gadgets, pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and open air hot tub.

The hotel is a must for Father Ted fans. All the film locations are within driving distance. A map is available from reception.

This is a great value for money, clean hotel with wonderful staff. Go.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want when you book through your travel website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hello Trip Advisor Member,
By the sounds of it, you and your two sons had a terrific stay with us here at the Falls Hotel & Spa. You appear to have been very impressed with a number of the features we offer. The standard of our accommodation is praised along with our complimentary facilities at our Aqua and Leisure Club. You obviously like a good deal and we are happy that you appreciate the quality of our food delivered at a recession friendly price. You also raise a good point about Fr. Ted that's often forgotten. A number of scenes were filmed at the hotel and also as you state many more are only a short driving distance away.
Finally it's especially pleasing to see your praise for our General Manager and all our staff. It's our mission to make our guests enjoy their stay with us and to that our staff have to be friendly and welcoming. Make sure that you pay us a return visit.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    179
    92
    50
    50
See reviews for
185
210
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed for three nights over the Easter weekend. This was our first stay in the Falls hotel and had paid so little for our stay (three nights B&B with one evening meal for two) we were unsure what to expect.
I could not praise this hotel enough from the time we arrived everything was perfect. The room (310) was the cleanest hotel room we have stayed in with nothing damaged or worn. The food in the bar was very nice and a great pint of Guinness. The bar staff were so friendly even when hectic busy at night. The breakfast and dinner were equally as good and again very friendly hard working waiting staff.
The pool and outdoor hot tub again immaculate and so relaxing.
Over all one of the best hotels we have stayed in. Other Irish hotels should take note and offer the same service as the Falls for such a great price. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member,
"One of the best hotels we have stayed in " is an amazing compliment to get from any of our guests. It's a pleasure that you were so impressed with the Falls Hotel & Spa. You seemed to appreciate every single element of what we provide to our guests. Our food, our Guinness and most of all our standard of staff all receive your kind words and for that we are delighted.
I hope you had a fantastic Easter break and hope to see you back here again soon.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

we stayed at the falls not so long ago its a nice hotel has a lovely pool and gym, we where in a group and were looking for fun activitys to do for the few days, we did surfing in lahinch with Ben and tried some pitch and putt also went to the cliffs of mohar. on the way home we stopped in lahinch where we got a number for kayaking with alan on the river next to the hotel so we decided to have a go its a must do if staying in the falls hotel the river is one of the best I've ever been on and kayaking is great crack. After that we went straight into the leisure centre in the hotel and relaxed in the outdoor hot tub amazing :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hello TripAdvisor Member,
The Falls Hotel & Spa are proud of the fun filled activity based packages and services we can offer all our guests. Some are on site such as the kayaking you enjoyed on the river Inagh which runs on the grounds of our hotel all the way to Lahinch. Speaking of Lahinch you seemed to have a great time surfing out there! We are a fantastic base for many other sights and activities also such as the pitch and putt you refereed to. I have to compliment you on your choice of visiting our Aqua leisure club at the end of your day to relax and unwind. Tell all your family and friend about what our hotel offers.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights and found it to be beautifully situated but a bit dated. Our room, overlooking the river, was very noisy due to a function in the bar area and we asked to be moved. We ended up with a bleak view over the car park. The staff were not particularly friendly but seemed competent. Nice breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hello TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It seems like you had a mixed experience with us but I am happy to see you praising our scenic location. Our setting is one of our major selling points. You also compliment our breakfast which is appreciated.
Unfortunately when you requested to move rooms we were unable to find you another room with a view but we were quick to rectify the situation and happily found you a room farther away from the function. We are constantly updating and redecorating our hotel but some parts maintain their original historic image which is important as part of the hotel's history.
Hope that you may return in the future.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Have just spent easter weekend at the Falls. Family of 4 with 2 young kids. Lovely big rooms and proper beds for everyone, double & 2 singles, hate the way some hotels just have a crappy camp bed for the kids. Lovely proper beds for everyone in the falls. Was not in one of the new rooms but room was lovely and quiet, just over the spa area.

I always have to push the beds together as my young son rolls at lot during the night and in some hotels when you move the beds its obvious the carpet underneath has not been cleaned however when I moved the beds in the Falls the floor was pristine, really well cleaned room.

Food was good, ate both nights in the bar area and the young guys acting as waiters were friendly, helpful and great with the kids.

Have stayed in the falls before for a wedding about 5 years ago and really see a huge improvement in the hotel. Also the addition of the pool area is lovely, went to the pool saturday morning and the pool area, changing rooms were pristine.

If I was to have any niggle it would be that there were one or two little small things in the room that needed seeing too, the toilet roll holder was missing and the door on the cabinet under the tv would not close, but tbh that is just me being over the top, its a lovely hotel, lovely staff and I would 100% recommend it as a nice break for families with young kids.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi TripAdvisor Member,
Delighted to hear such a positive review of our hotel. It's very pleasing to see that you and your family had such a wonderful Easter break with us. We pride ourselves in our family rooms and we appreciate how children are just as important to look after.
It's encouraging to see your high praise for our food and staff also.
The small little niggles you mentioned will be addressed immediately.
I really can't wait to see your family back staying with us again and I hope your excellent recommendation persuades all of your family and friends to come stay with us at the Falls Hotel & Spa as well.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We are just back from a lovely midweek break in the Falls Hotel!
As always staff were so professional,kind and could not do more for us. Rooms were warm considering how cold it was so the hotel is not cutting back on heating! unlike other places we stayed in.
Food was amazing, we has a fantastic meal in the Thai Restaurant kids loved it and not expensive.
Every morning breakfast was tasty hot and loads of it.Bar staff love children and no problems with kids playing while adults talked.The pool was clean and again staff always on hand to help in any way they could.
Our room was serviced every day, tea and coffee making area and loads of towels for showers!
We had a great 4 day stay and will be back again!

Room Tip: Rooms on 5th floor are alot quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor member,
We can't wait to have you all back again! Delighted to see that your family had such a pleasant visit at the Falls Hotel & Spa.
You have given all our staff great praise which makes us very happy. You also compliment the food on offer at our hotel whether it be breakfast or Thai we pride ourselves in delivering quality food at reasonable prices.
The weather has been bad so we all know how lovely it is to return to a cosy warm room and that's what we give all our guests.
Thanks for posting this review.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just back from a 2 night stay at the Falls in Ennistymon. Despite the cold weather, it was a very enjoyable experience. I have stayed there before and felt that they have improved a lot in the last year or so. I)) was fortunate to get a room overlooking the river and the cascading falls which are a very well known tourist attraction.
The room was large, clean and well equipped, with TV, tea maker, hairdryer etc. I was with a big group of motorcyclists at an annual social gathering and the general opinion was that it was an excellent weekend. There was live music in the bar both nights and it was pretty good. ! The highlight was the Saturday evening dinner, the menu was good and the food excellent and plenty of it. We found the staff friendly and attentive and the manager on duty was very much hands on.
The buffet breakfast was absolutely brilliant... again,good food and plenty of it.. !!!!
The spa leisure / facilities looked good and seemd to be quite popular, especially for a hotel in a smallish town. There was plenty of lounges and areas to sit and socialize if you didn't want to stay in the bar. Unlike some of the other reviews, I found reception helpful and informative..... (maybe they read these and have taken note.. !! ) All in all, I would be happy to return again.

Room Tip: Ask if the room is near reception, sometimes you can hear music etc. if there is a wedding on. Leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hello TripAdvisor Member,
Firstly delighted to hear that you made it to the Falls Hotel & Spa as I know some of your fellow motorcyclists got snowed in up the North and missed out on your fantastic annual gathering with us in Ennistymon. Thankfully you were one of the majority and were lucky enough to get your much anticipated weekend away at the Falls Hotel & Spa.
You have given us praise for every department of our hoteland for that I am very grateful. You have complimented our location, setting, bar, lounge and our River Spa. You also point out how excellent you found all our staff to be and this feedback is respected.
After a long motorcycle I can imagine that the food on offer is important and we do pride ourself in the quality and quantity that we offer.
Can't wait to see your group return next year and hopefully the weather will be better.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Falls Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Hotel & Spa

Address: Ennistymon, Ennistymon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennistymon
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ennistymon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Falls Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Manor House of the local gentry, the history of the Falls Hotel is intertwined with that of the area, with many local legends being associated with it. Relax and unwind in the renowned Dylan Thomas Bar. The Grounds of the Hotel extend to 50 acres of gardens, woodland and glen. Its river walks and woodland pathways offer a haven of peace and tranquility, yet it is only 30 minutes away from the booming county town of Ennis and 50 minutes away from Shannon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Falls Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Hotel Ennistymon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falls Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.