We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel located in an interesting and peaceful part of Ireland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Falls Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Falls Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Falls Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ennistymon, Ennistymon, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ennistymon
Wigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great hotel located in an interesting and peaceful part of Ireland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

As far as I am concerned a hotel is a place to lay your head at the end of an interesting day, as long as it's tidy, clean and peaceful, that'll do for me.
The Falls Hotel exceeded my expectations. We were staying for the purpose of allowing me to explore the local area. The hotel was easy to find and visible from various high points in Ennistymon, not surprisingly really, it's huge.
The check in was easy and quick, no bother whatsoever. The room was more than sufficent and the onsite activities were more than enough for anyone who didnt want to brave the elements.
This place is situated in a beautiful part of Ireland, a quaint village not too far from Lahinch, with a beautiful waterfall visible from the front of the hotel and the bar area.
We were offered afternoon tea upon arrival in the bar area which was great.
The swimming facilities were perfect for exercising or relaxing.
There are other leisure facilities but we didnt get chance to try them.
For a 2 euro deposit you get a towel. The changing rooms have lockers but they do not lock so avoid taking valuables with you.
The staff were polite and helpful at all times.
The Thai restaurant located within the hotel is stunning... the food was beautiful and reasonably priced. We had a platter to start and then individual dishes. We couldnt finish what we had and Im a monster when it comes to food.
The bar served amazing beer battered fish and chips along with salad... excellent.
We spent one evening in the games room, played around 15 games of pool and had just as many pints.
Breakfast is served in the cascades area down stairs. Its a self serve buffet with full Irish on offer or for those who look after their hearts a small bit more, there is a selection of fresh fruits, cereals and pastries. Or, just try it all......
Great location, great food... perfect break away

Room Tip: We stayed in room 506 over looking river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotel, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hello TripAdvisor Member,

You have painted a beautiful picture of our hotel and for that we are very grateful.
Our scenic surroundings and the incredible views from our hotel rooms have definitely added to your appetite for our small little town in county Clare.
From the cuisine available at the Thai River restaurant to breakfast in the Cascades your respect for our food on offer is truly appreciated.
It's very rewarding for the Falls to see that we catered for all your needs whether you wanted to relax with a few pints playing pool or enjoying one of our many treatments on offer at the River Spa.
You described your trip as a "perfect break away" so I hope you decide to have many more breaks of perfection with us at the Falls in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards,

Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Falls Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    191
    95
    55
    51
See reviews for
199
227
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
cork
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

the hotel fab it looks old fashioned outside but not inside the food in both resturants delicious ,the staff excellent could not have been nicer ,the room was large enough for a family of 2&2 plety of rooom great bathroom everything was spotless ,the pool and spa area was great kids loved the pool i loved the spa .we had no faults at all with this hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotel, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hello TripAdvisor Member,

I am delighted to see that you had such a great time here on your visit on Feb 12th.
Thank you for your generous praise for both our restaurants, the Cascades and the Thai River.
The Falls Hotel & Spa love to hear about families having marvelous breaks at our hotel as family is such a key concept at the core of our hotel beliefs.
Hopefully your family are already planning your next trip to us in Ennistymon!

Kind Regards,

Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Falls Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenagh, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The public areas of this hotel, lobby, bar, restaurant and pool were lovely. Unfortunately our room was very old fashioned and dated and I thought the price was a little high as a result. Other than that the food was lovely and staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms that have been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotel, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hello TripAdvisor Member,

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay at the Falls Hotel & Spa. We greatly appreciate equally your positive comments and your minor constructive criticism.
I am thrilled that you admired the public areas of our hotel and how you found our food and staff to be of such a high standard.
In terms of our accommodation I am disappointed that the design of the room did not meet your taste but we are constantly updating and modernizing all our accommodation on offer so I hope this is not a deterrent to prevent a return visit to us here in Ennistymon.

Kind Regards,

Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Falls Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clare
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I got this hotel as a weekend deal through the hotels Facebook page.

I did not expect to much as i had not paid too much for a weekend away for 2 B&B and a bottle of wine on arrival. I was wrong.

We arrived on Friday evening and were given a huge room with a double, single and with a Cot as i had rang to request this.(the hotel charge nothing extra for this). The room had everything we needed, was spotless and had loads of room for the buggy and everything else that a four month old baby requires.

We had full use of the leisure center and had the option to book and pay for spa treatments. The main pool is big and had a large kid's pool off of it. The pool also had an inbuilt Jacuzzi section. There was also an Jacuzzi in the corner if you didnt think the pool one was hot enough.
A unique feature that i had not seen before was an external Jacuzzi and also a Sauna where one wall was a window and overlooked the river below.

The Breakfast was great. The usual cereals, Fry up and breads. Tea / Coffee/ Juices.

The only flaw anf is only a minor flaw is that the breakfast runs from 8-10 Mon -Sat and 08.00 - 10.30 on Sunday which for a hotel this size leads to congestion in the restaurant in the morning time.

There is plenty to do locally and Lahinch beach is only a few kilometers out the road.

Overall we had a great weekend and would return to the hotel again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotel, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hello TripAdvisor Member,

You certainly do prove that it is always possible to find a great special offer and a good deal at the Falls Hotel & Spa. We always try our best to create quality packages for all our potential customers.
Families are a major clientele for this hotel so we are happy you appreciate our accommodation and our facilities on offer for children of all ages.
The River Spa is a fantastic part of our hotel and it's very pleasing that you had such a good time enjoying yourself while visiting it.
In relation to breakfast times we find the times on offer are the most efficient and suitable and we always try our hardest to keep all our guests happy with a prompt, hearty and delicious breakfast every morning.
As you also pointed out there are a number of activities to do locally and at the Falls we are an ideal base for visits to Lahinch beach so we really do hope that all the reasons that made you enjoy this visit can be enough to persuade you to come back and see us again!

Kind Regards,

Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Falls Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband & I had the opportunity to stay here for two nights. We availed of all the facilities,I had a fab treatment in the spa,it was just marvellous!! The staff were so pleasant & chatty,food was excellent.. Our daughter & fiancé hope to get married here in the falls in the future... Micheal met us & was informative & gave us great attention,which is nice to have the personal touch when you are planning a great occasion like a wedding. We are planning our next trip already!!!!thank you for a very enjoyable stay in your lovely,homely hotel ❤

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotel, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hello TripAdvisor Member,

The fact that this was not your first visit or review makes your lavish praise even more enjoyable to read. The Falls Hotel & Spa greatly appreciate your incredible words of admiration and we really cannot wait to see you return.
We would love to host your daughter's wedding in the future and we will help you in anyway possible to make her dream day come through. We always put our customers' needs first and we promise to look after all the requests of your family whenever you come to stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Falls Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligeach, Sligo, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The Falls Hotel and Spa is set in a beautiful location. The room we were given was very spacious and clean, The hotel itself had a nice warm atmosphere, the staff were very helpful and friendly. The spa treatment I had was a lovely relaxing experience very professionally, I relaxed and all my cares just melted away during my massage.
I have only positives to say about my experience of the Fall hotel and Spa and i will be returns in the future.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotel, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

It is terrific when a guest has only positives to say after staying with us at the Falls Hotel & Spa. The praise you give to the size and our standard of accommodation is great.
Our staff are valued commodities of our hotel and on their behalf we appreciate your high praise.
I am also delighted to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your treatment at our River Spa and that it added to your relaxation on your visit.
The best part of all is that you intend to return again and we cannot wait to give you another amazing stay with us here in Ennistymon.

Kind Regards,

Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Falls Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We just had our wedding @ The Falls and we had the best weekend ever!!Great staff ,great food, great rooms!!We would highly recommend the hotel , such a lovely relaxed atmosphere...All the staff were exceptional ..... Eimear & David

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotel, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hello Eimear and David,

It is a privilege for the hotel to have made your big day so special for both of you. The Falls Hotel & Spa always try their utmost to ensure that the newly weds have a day that they will never forget' for all the good reasons.
Hearing that you really appreciated our staff, food and accommodation proves to us that our efforts at doing the best that we can do are certainly paying off.
I hope that a return visit will be on the cards in the future and whether it's an anniversary trip or a newly adopted annual visit, we will always offer you the very same welcome and high levels of service again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Falls Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Falls Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Hotel & Spa

Address: Ennistymon, Ennistymon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennistymon
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ennistymon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Falls Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Manor House of the local gentry, the history of the Falls Hotel is intertwined with that of the area, with many local legends being associated with it. Relax and unwind in the renowned Dylan Thomas Bar. The Grounds of the Hotel extend to 50 acres of gardens, woodland and glen. Its river walks and woodland pathways offer a haven of peace and tranquility, yet it is only 30 minutes away from the booming county town of Ennis and 50 minutes away from Shannon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Falls Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Hotel Ennistymon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falls Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.