We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Falls Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Falls Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Falls Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ennistymon, Ennistymon, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ennistymon
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Super hotel, really clean and the staff were very friendly. We also thought it was a great location, was central to everywhere we wanted to visit. Only thing I would say is that the "games room" in serious need of a revamp! If it were a more child friendly room, which wouldn't take much to do, it would make the hotel a perfect destination for families with younger children.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotel, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hello TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you for your positive review following your recent stay with us in the Falls Hotel. I’m delighted that you found the location, staff and all facilities good. With regard to your observation on the games room, we have a plan in place to do some work on it this winter.
I hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you and your family back again soon and thanks again for taking the time to post your feedback.
Joanne Clancy
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    179
    92
    50
    50
See reviews for
185
210
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Exterior of hotel has potential of a gem in the barren wilds of Claire. Set in the falls of Ennistymon with an old world exterior, the interior disappoints as a 'modern day' fix. The bar lacks character and warmth, and lacks potential as a potential local haven. The Sunday brunch was TERRIBLE, cold, low quality beef. Breakfast was staffed by a disinterested manageress with cheap bacon. Rooms were clean and functional. Furniture matched, leading to unoriginality in design. Bathrooms are dated and staff don't knock. Nothing that outraged but a series of small disappointments

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotel, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Member,
I’m sorry to read that you were disappointed with our hotel and the design of the extension and the bar plus the bedrooms, which were refurbished, it’s a pity you don’t like the matching furniture. I’d like to apologise that you received an under par meal during your stay. We normally get positive feedback about the quality and range of food that we offer. We are a family owned and managed hotel and at all times we strive to offer the highest quality food, service and value with a warm, friendly Irish welcome and I’m sorry that in your opinion we did not achieve this on this occasion
Kind regards,
Joanne Clancy
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The staff were pleasant and helpful. The room was clean and spacious. I didn't try the swimming pool, however, both the outdoor and the indoor Jacuzzis were enjoyable, as was the Sauna and the Steam room. Although the view of the Inagh River Falls from The Dylan Thomas bar restaurant are beautiful, the menu is limited and the quality barely made the 3* rating. As my visit wasn't during the festival season the Bars in village which is only a few minutes walk were quiet but the local and publicans were friendly. Over all we enjoyed our break and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Given the option take a room overlooking the front of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotel, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hello TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay with us. I’m glad that you enjoyed the setting, facilities and the rooms and that you found our staff pleasant and helpful. I’m sorry that you found our bar menu limited. The bar offers a carvery lunch menu each day and our bar menu after that. We do have other dining options in the hotel, an a la carte menu in our Thai River Restaurant and a set menu in our Cascades Restaurant, maybe you can try those options when you’re back with us again.
Thank you again for taking the time to post your feedback.
Kind regards,
Joanne Clancy
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was a great place, nice fitness center, good food, freindly people... The donkeys were a positive plus to the experience, and the town being just a short walk away was a big plus. The rooms were clean. My only complaint were the pillows. I may just be a pillow snab, but only one hotel my entire trip had exception pillows and bedding. I would stay here again, with my own pillow.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow, but a great place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotel, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hello TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us. I’m glad that you enjoyed the place, food, people, the leisure facility and of course our 7 donkeys.
Sorry that you didn’t like our pillows but I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed everything else. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Joanne Clancy
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lido de Jesolo italy
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We spent Christmas here last year. Pricey. Hotel setting lovely .Leisure centre very good. However Christmas lunch very poor. No Christmas feeling in hotel. Christmas eve mulled wine very spartan in a cold setting of the large bar. Wont return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotel, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hello TripAdvisor Member,

I’m sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your Christmas stay with us last year and that you found it expensive. We have guests that come back to stay with us every year due to the quality and quantity of food, the family atmosphere and the great value for money. This year our 2 night stay which includes 2 nights dinner, bed & breakfast plus Christmas day lunch, a visit from Santa on Christmas day with gifts for all the children plus live entertainment each evening is only 249.00 euro.
I’m sorry that you feel that this was not the case when you visited last year.
Kind regards,
Joanne Clancy
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

this is a wonderful place to stay with plenty of unique features. we loved the donkeys on site with a contest to name the latest baby. the falls are nearby and are lovely. the staff are friendly and helpful and overall it is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: face the falls
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotel, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Hello TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review, following your recent stay with us. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that you will get the opportunity to visit the hotel again in the future.
Kind regards,
Joanne Clancy
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My family and I had a wonderful stay at The Falls hotel. Everything was just as we had hoped. The apartment was spacious and well-equipped. The pool and spa were lovely. Our kids partook in swimming lessons and the teacher was brilliant with both of them. Food in the Thai restaraunt was delicious& staff were friendly and efficient. My only complaint was that the steps of the stairwell nearest to apartment 19 (where we stayed) were so slippy due to moss growing on them that my son & I both fell on them. Luckily we escaped with scrapes and bruises. My husband informed reception who were dismissive and nothing was done during our stay. Aside from this,we thoroughly enjoyed our stay & hope to return soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotel, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
I’m sorry to hear that you had a slip on the back steps leading up to your apartment during your recent stay with us; this has been sorted out and thank you for bringing it to our attention.
With regard to the rest of your stay, I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the facilities, food and the staff and I will pass your comments about the swimming lessons onto our two teachers, Niamh and Nicola.
I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Joanne Clancy
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Falls Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Hotel & Spa

Address: Ennistymon, Ennistymon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennistymon
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ennistymon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Falls Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Manor House of the local gentry, the history of the Falls Hotel is intertwined with that of the area, with many local legends being associated with it. Relax and unwind in the renowned Dylan Thomas Bar. The Grounds of the Hotel extend to 50 acres of gardens, woodland and glen. Its river walks and woodland pathways offer a haven of peace and tranquility, yet it is only 30 minutes away from the booming county town of Ennis and 50 minutes away from Shannon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Falls Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Hotel Ennistymon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falls Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.