We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vaughan Lodge

Save Saved
You added Vaughan Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vaughan Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ennistymon Road, Lahinch, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Lahinch
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Above and beyond...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My family and I stayed here for 3 nights recently as part of a road trip around the South West of Ireland. Though Lahinch town wouldn't win the prettiest town in Ireland award it does have the most stunning beach, great music pouring out of pubs and that world famous golf course. Vaughan Lodge was a great base for touring beautiful Co. Clare and came with quite exceptional service and food provided by the ever hospitable Michael Vaughan and his lovely team. The breakfasts were the best we had anywhere and dinner is not to be missed...The single nicest thing apart from the food was the warmth and helpfulness of the staff. Surf Lesson required? Not a problem, can be organised. Need some mid-tour washing done?
Laundry washed and returned promptly at a very reasonable rate. After checking out I discovered en route back to London that we had left some items behind us. The team found, packed and posted everything back to us straight away and refused any payment to cover the expense. Very impressed! Special thanks to the delightful Laura on front desk.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
My 91 year old Dad who brought me into this business and was himself a 3rd generation hospitality man always said that families were the back bone of Irish Tourism.
If an hotel cannot afford welcome and hospitality to children and their parents then it is failing to serve. We enjoyed having you and your family stay with us and were delighted to learn how much you enjoyed the hotel and Lahinch and we hope to see you return again
Thank you for your business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    18
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
73
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

stayed at Vaughan lodge for 2 nights recently on a golf trip with friends. wow! great location - walking distance to lahinch golf club and town. the rooms were setup perfectly. we ate at the lodge both nights and the food was superb. the staff was friendly, professional, and quite interactive. mention Big Bang Theory to Rita and you will be in-like-flint! laura at the desk (not nora) was very accommodating and friendly. I had an issue with phone/bank service and she went out of her way to make sure I had every opportunity to connect with customer service and thought of ways to enhance my experience by thinking outside the box. thank you Vaughan lodge - I plan to visit you again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Its definitely Laura ( not Nora ) but alas its also Breda ( Not Rita ) lol
But no worries .... Breda will warm to your theories on the Big Bang or any other alternatives!!
In between she serves our guests with a disarming combination of professionalism, wit and low key Irishness that you just cannot manufacture.
All my colleagues are great people to work with and to work for - we all work for each other and for our guests - I am so glad that you saw that on your visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I experienced an outstanding stay in Lahinch, all thanks to Michael and staff! From the big details (Michael provided excellent maps, directions, sightseeing recommendations, and dining suggestions) to the little details (110v outlets in the rooms for US visitors)...it was the best lodging experience we have ever had. Easy to find/park. Within walking distance to town, and driving distance to the Cliffs. The food was exceptional. Our extended family will be visiting Ireland next year, and this will be our #1 recommendation for place to visit/stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Gentle readers please note that I am not related to the reviewer !!!
Thank you for a superlative review
We probably should just blush .....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We landed in Lahinch (Lehinch?) almost by accident, after following a suggestion from a B&B owner in Kinsale. We were headed to Galway and the Cliffs of Moher, and this seemed like a good spot to stay.

When we drove into this funky little surf village, it just blew me away! Such a cool little town.

Anyway, we hadn't organised accommodation, but based on a recommendation we ventured to the Vaughan Lodge and managed to grab a room. What a surprise! One of the biggest rooms in any accommodation we'd stayed in during our 5 week trip. Bathroom was brilliant, bed was absolutely massive! Room temperature was perfect given the high temps outside. And it was as quiet as a church mouse.

Location wise, it was less than 5 minutes walk into the town centre where the food and drink options were plentiful.

Breakfast at the Vaughan was like a fine dining experience. Loads of fresh fruit, breads, cheeses, meats, cereals, coffee, tea, yoghurt, pastries.....you name it, it was there for you. Then, the hot freshly cooked breakfast with a number of choices, all beautifully served. Perfect!

This place is one of the most popular places in town for a reason. The perfect hotel experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
I am blushing now .....lol
We take great pride in doing our work and it is lovely to have that appreciated
Saying that- we are only as good as our next guest's experience so we will enjoy the praise for a nano second and quickly get back to serving our guests !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We spent just one night at Vaughan Lodge in July 2013. From the moment we arrived to the moment we checked out the entire experience was outstanding. The staff were very welcoming and genuinely interested in providing a fantastic service. Their manner and efficency was exemplary, professional and top class, exactly what you expect but often never receive in the Ireland of 2013. The front of house staff were brilliant and very efficient and the dining room staff were fantastic. We came with two children in tow and the head waitress brought crayons, stickers and other amusements to keep them happy all of which meant we stayed and enjoyed an amazing meal for two hours!! The food was lovely with lots of little flourishes and surprise courses. The room we stayed in was spotless and furnished and decorated to a very high standard. Absolutley 10/10. We managed to leave an item of clothing behind and the staff really bent over backwards to track it down and post it on to us in the UK. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and the Vaughan Lodge experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We have a motto here in Vaughan Lodge " Nice People deserve Nice things" !!
Not that any other sort of temperament will be shunned or treated in any less than favourable manner either lol
But you know what we mean!
It was our pleasure to serve you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed at the Vaughan Lodge in Lehinch on my last golfing trip to Ireland (July 10 – 17). We landed at Shannon airport and drove straight to the Vaughan Lodge on a beautiful summer day. I must say that the Lodge exceeded all my expectations. The owner Michael Vaughan personally manages the Lodge and has succeeded in provided all modern comforts at the Lodge with the warmth and personal touch of a family home. The room was spacious and bathrooms were excellent (definitely 5 star quality), however, it would be nice if a kettle with tea/coffee could be provided and there is no fridge in the room. Breakfast is included and was excellent

We stayed 2 nights and dined at the Lodge on both evenings. The food is superb – better than I have eaten at very highly rated resturants in Ireland and the price per head is approximately 40 euros which I thought was good value for what was served.

If you are a golfer than Lehinch Golf Club is superb and a 5 min walk from the Lodge. There are a few eating places in town which is about a 10 to 15 minute walk from the Lodge but I would recommend the restaurant at the Lodge.

I would rate the overall experience at the Lodge as really superb.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for such positive feed back
I take the kettle suggestion on board
I prefer to offer complimentary tea or coffee to guests during their stay as it will be accompanied by some nice home made cookies!!
Bur saying that.... if the season yields a better than last year financial result I may just buy a few nespresso machines altogether!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, België
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

great hotel, very friendly staff, big rooms. in the rooms its cool even when its almost +30 C outside ( not unimportant). good location, close to everything: the ocean, beach, golf, cliffs of Moter, castle of Bunratty

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
You can fit a lot into a few lines when you write a pithy review like this.
The reason for the cool rooms is that Dorota and Kaisa close the curtains ( Drapes in the USA) early in the morning and prevent the sun's warm rays from heating up the space.
If we could only store that rare heat for other cooler days that would be pure magic!!
You were a cool guest yourself .... as in ....we took pleasure in accommodating you!!
Thanks for appreciating our small Inn
All at Vaughan Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to Vaughan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vaughan Lodge

Address: Ennistymon Road, Lahinch, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Lahinch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Lahinch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vaughan Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star designer lodge hotel with 22 bedrooms. Situated overlooking Lahinch Golf Links and the Atlantic Ocean. Purpose built in 2005 and run by 4th generation local hotel family. Host Michael and Maria Vaughan - Seafood Restaurant ( open normallly Tuesday night to Saturday night - please check at time of booking ), Lounge, Free broadband, spacious accommodations, Drying Room, Putting Green, Free Car parking. Open March to November ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Vaughan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vaughan Hotel Lahinch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vaughan Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.