We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vaughan Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Vaughan Lodge to your Saves list
Vaughan Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ennistymon Road, Lahinch, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lahinch
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Well run hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Spent a saturday night here in late summer. Room was fine but pretty standard for this level.
The restaurant was seriously good for a relatively small hotel. Pleasant bar area as well.Overall a sense of a well run establishment with high standards of service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thanks for the kind words. Our hotel is seasonal which makes it twice as tough as a year round hotel to keep standards. It's like opening a new hotel each season. I'm glad you enjoyed the stay especially given your pen name lol!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    24
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
84
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

From making the call to follow up with Martina and Linda, this hotel exceeds all expectations. First impressions are warm, inviting, clean, professional. We had a lovely bedroom with 2 double beds - including an excellent sleep on the 2 night stay. We dined in the restaurant on the 1st night - such presentation, flavour and variety. This was a culinary delight. The staff are exceptional and as I delighted in telling Michael - well selected staff - a pleasure to see their work ethic and friendliness - they could teach a lot to other establishments! Back to the food, I had crab claws to start..ooh la la..and monkfish - cooked to perfection and salted caramel - v unusual - delicious. My friend had the beef and it was divine. The breakfast was quality food from the smokey bacon to the smoked salmon and mackeral and yes the porridge is worth a try - we were so looking forward to b'fast on the 2nd morning to try the omelete - again it did not disappoint. I best not go on..we are not golfers but that does not matter, there is a beautiful walk around the golf club and on to the beach. Lovely relaxed atmosphere and a lovely stroll into town. Top marks - you would go a long way to find such high standards. I look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Having played the beautiful Lahinch Golf Club it was time to check in and freshen up and get out for a night in the famous town of Lahinch and what better night to do it that on Arthur's Day!!. The Vaughan Lodge is perfectly located very near the golf club. WIth spacious rooms that are well finished and comfortable make for a perfect location to rest up after the challenges of of the golf course.

The irish breakfast served on a nice hot plate provides a good start to the next day. The owner states that is the only way to serve it up and he gets full marks for that too. As you leave there are complimentary golf tees for the next golfiing challenge. Staff were warm and friendly and will be back for another crack at the golf course.

Great Breafast took two shots off my next round!!

Room Tip: There are only 22 rooms - it is designed for golfers
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at the Vaughan Lodge and would not hesitate to stay again.
The lodge is situated in a quiet location only a few minutes walk to the centre of town.
We stayed in a King room which was spacious, well maintained very clean.
There was no tea and coffee making facilities in room however they happily brought some up, free of charge and with some delicious shortbread.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful.
The breakfast was very tasty, made to order and well presented. We did not use the restaurant for dinner but it was highly recommended.
We found the free internet access to be very good
The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for a very encouraging review.
At the end of our season it is heartwarming to know that we served you well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Harbor, Maine
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a very well run modern hotel for golfers and other visitors, just down the main road close to Lahinch Golf Course and about a 20 minute drive from the Cliffs of Moher. It has a relaxing gathering room for a pint or a drink, and the restaurant serves really excellent food. Hotel rooms are nicely appointed and comfortable, and the staff is gracious. No problems getting on line with my MacBook Pro or I-pad. The restaurant serves an extensive breakfast that was delicious. Worth the money for a guaranteed nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the back parking. There is a door behind the hotel for getting luggage in and ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was the third overseas venture for our group of golfers; this one arranged by sunshine golf out of Marbella Spain. We could not have asked for a better venue to spend our last two days and rounds of golf in Ireland than the Vaughan. Everything was first class from arrival to departure with Michael the best host one could ask for. Between Michael and Martina and the rest of his staff our every desire was accommodated. Our awards dinner after two wonderful rounds of golf at Lahinch was superbly presented and prepared. This would be at the top of any recommendation as a destination for either golf or just a pleasant stay with a wonderful village on the coast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This lodge is absolutely fabulous and the proprietor Michael is 1st class. The food was so good we didn't bother to go anywhere else. The chef really deserves a pat on the back. A round of Golf at Lahinch and 2 nights stay at Vaughan Lodge was the Christmas present for my man that loves golf and seems to have everything else. Also it is just across the road from Lahinch.
We will definitely go again
Many thanks Maggie and Ross
England

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vaughan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vaughan Lodge

Address: Ennistymon Road, Lahinch, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Lahinch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lahinch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vaughan Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star designer lodge hotel with 22 bedrooms. Situated overlooking Lahinch Golf Links and the Atlantic Ocean. Purpose built in 2005 and run by 4th generation local hotel family. Host Michael and Maria Vaughan - Seafood Restaurant ( open normallly Tuesday night to Saturday night - please check at time of booking ), Lounge, Free broadband, spacious accommodations, Drying Room, Putting Green, Free Car parking. Open March to November ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vaughan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vaughan Hotel Lahinch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vaughan Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.