We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lahinch Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lahinch Hostel to your Saves list
Lahinch Hostel
Church Street, Lahinch, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cheap and cheerful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed a couple of times in this great hostel for surfing, always a pleasure. Staff are available and happy to help and kept an eye on our bags for the day even after we'd checked out.

Rooms are basic enough but with everything you need and plenty of hot water for showers. Well equipped kitchen and nice area out the back for a few drinks and bbq.

Great place to hang out and meet other groups and is right on the beach. Parking is available around the corner. Have stayed in other hostels around the area but this is the best in my books.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    3
    6
    6
See reviews for
1
2
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Booked this hostel last minute for the Easter weekend, Staff was very friendly and helpful especially Mick the porter, Hostel is located right on the beach so ideal for surfers / etc, rooms were clean and fresh linen on the beds, a free breakfast is also provided, cereals, bread for toast, jam nutella etc, tea and coffee is also provided all day free of charge along with free WIFI, while this hostel isn't the cleanest or fanciest around for a weekend trip it is ideal to stay in - central, affordable and great craic !! i would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greystones, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

The Lahinch Hostel was a really great place to stay! The owner set us up with surfing lessons and was overly accommodating. The beds were clean and comfortable, the showers warm, the facilities well kept. The rooms were small, but definitely manageable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat D, Manager at Lahinch Hostel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Hi Nicole, thanks for the nice review its good to get feedback and we appreciate it :) We hope to see you again soon. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagliari, Sardegna, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I stayed in this hostel for a week end, i was in Lahinch for surfing, and they provide a boards storage place and hot showers when you dress your wetsuit off. The breakfast was as normal for an hostel but they let all the stuff all day long, so if you feel hungry you can eat during the afternoon. The room was confortable and clean and the bathrooms too.
The owner is really kind and provided me all the infos I needed, and when I asked him if I could use changing room and showers after my morning surf, the checkout day, he let me do it.
I really apreciate my staying and I strongly recommend this hostel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat D, Manager at Lahinch Hostel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Hello again Alessandro, thanks for the kind words much appreciated. We hope you caught some good waves and we hope to see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I stay here every time I visit lahinch. Perfect for surfers with gear (board room out back + shower facilities ideal) staff are always friendly. Never had a problem. Always had a great time. Seems to be a bit of work going on at the back. Caused no inconvenience at all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We decided to pay a last minute short break in Lahinch before back to school routine ! Hostel was very clean and staff very helpful and friendly. We had a room with double bed and a set of bunks - absolutely suitable for our party of 2 adults and 2 children. Bedding, carpets etc v clean. Showers and toilets are communal and were equally clean and fresh! Location perfect for surfing / beach and eating out and enjoying the wonderful music and Craic lahinch offers. The kitchen was clean and had everything needed to make all meals! Would Defo recommend :-) and will return again soon

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

I just returned from a two night stay in this hostel with 3 of my friends. We were a group of 4 girls and Pat "the owner" out us in 6 bed dorm. The rooms was spacious Compared to other hostels I have stayed. The hostel was clean had all facilities needed..

I would reccommend this hostel to all travellers it's great location and value for money :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lahinch Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lahinch Hostel

Address: Church Street, Lahinch, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Lahinch
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Lahinch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Lahinch Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lahinch Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.