We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second return visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Dromoland

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Dromoland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at Dromoland
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   on the N18 Limerick to Galway road | Dromoland, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland (Formerly Clare Inn Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Second return visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I am just home after my 3rd visit to the Inn at Dromoland. I return there because of the excellent value for money and the friendliness of the staff and the wonderful hospitality offered to their guests. I was with my aunt who is now in her 85th year and she fell in love with the Inn also. Yes it is very family orientiated and they welcome children in a big way , but saying that they also have a full programme to amuse them. They do run around but is not that what kids do.

All the staff are trained to greet you but when you are in the dining room make sure you meet with Maureen she is a gem.

Hope to return again sometime on route to my annual visit to my home county of Kerry.

Enjoy your stay if you choose to go.

Jean O'Leary

Room Tip: Ground floor facing to the front. I requested ground floor this year and got it BUT it faced a cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear DublinAthlone,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay with us at The Inn at Dromoland. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future,

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    163
    94
    40
    35
See reviews for
239
75
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed for one night and were given one of the newly renovated rooms which was superb.
We had a dinner, bed and breakfast package for €100 for 2 on a Sunday night mid July which was a reasonable price, however, the evening meal was of very poor quality and mass produced hotel food. They had no choice of good wines and anything they had on offer (at €19.50 and €20.50 per bottle) could be bought abroad for €1.99 per bottle, dreadful stuff! I didn't visit the bar but my husband said that the service was ok and was a typical hotel bar and prices. The hotel seems to have had a "gloss over", new carpets here and there but holes in the floors underneath. If you have any walking problems - watch your step! This is really a family hotel and ideal for children but if you're looking for a nice relaxing break forget it. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and better than most hotels of a higher grade.
All in all, as I said, you get what you pay for!

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear beegeeireland,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay with us at The Inn at Dromoland. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. With regard to your comments about our wine list - we did think we didnt have a varied selection on our wine menu and as a result we have just launched a new menu on Monday with prices starting at €15.95

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future,

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Room - Very dated, furnishings at least 20 years old, TV is actually a 13 inch tube (should be in a museum). The accumulation of the toilet running, kids running around the halls and very audible voices until late in the evening ruined my wife's night sleep. At our request we were moved on the 2nd night to the 3rd floor. It was better, and at least quieter, but still not good. No ventilation, muggy.

Pub - we went down to listen to some Irish music and were pleased to hear two Irishman singing a Celtic tune. That did not last long, it was followed my Kenny Rogers "You got to know when to hold 'em" and then "Lean on Me".We left.

Staff - a real plus, friendly, helpful and patient. However as good as they are they cannot over come the rest

In summary ... Stay somewhere else.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Mark O,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us at The Inn at Dromoland. I am disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay. I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you regarding the issues you had while you were here.

I would be grateful if you could contact me on claire.coughlan@theinnatdromoland.ie

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We booked this hotel specifically for the children's activities, and we were not disappointed. From the minute we arrived there was something to keep our two aged 6 and 4 occupied, excellent indoor play centre, swimming pool (children's area pretty small), kids club (3 euro) which have a range of activities that change every day, face painting and balloon art in the evening followed by the magic show one night and pirate disco another night.
There is also a well equipped games room for the older kids, and a family room with fridge, microwave and ironing boards .
We had all our meals in the hotel and the food was excellent, well presented and no delays. We stayed midweek and there were plenty of staff on duty.
There can be queues for the buffet at breakfast time, same as any other very busy hotel, but for no more than a couple of minutes.

Yes some areas of the hotel look a bit tired and dated, and yes there are a lot of children staying at the hotel so it can be noisy.

If you are looking for a quiet weekend away this may not be the hotel for you.
If you are looking for 5star luxury this may not be the hotel for you.

If you are looking for a place with a big family room, where the kids have so much entertainment you don't have to leave the hotel grounds, helpful staff and food to suit everyone's taste,
then this might be the hotel for you.

We will definitely be returning and would recommend to anyone with young kids.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear mariehurley H,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay with us at The Inn at Dromoland. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate you posting such a concise and informative review.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future,

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingle, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Enjoyed our stay,only sorry our stay was short. Our room was newly refurbished, beautiful with a walk in shower. A big improvement ,from our previous vist ,when it was the Clare Inn.
Sunday lunch,was excellent with a great choice of Menu.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lifford, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Very satisfactory service at this hotel, very child friendly which was perfect for me travelling with 3 children under 4! Family kitchen was a great addition & proved very useful. One waiter,Izat,in particular was very good with the children & was more than accommodating when one of my children was sick as a result of the heat we experienced while travelling. I'll definitely be back again for a family holiday & would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Since travelling with young children we went with interconnecting bedrooms which proved to be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear PJ T,

Dear AnnF,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay with us at The Inn at Dromoland. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning our staff member Izat - it is lovely to hear feedback about our team.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future,

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at Dromoland Inn the weekend of the 12th of July. We had previously stayed in this hotel 2 years ago prior to it being purchased by the Dromoland group. Our previous experience had been disappointing, however on this occasion we had a wonderful experience. We stayed in one of the upgraded rooms, which was very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. The new en-suite included a large power shower, which was wonderful! Although the room did not have air-conditioning, the large windows over looking the lush green lawns provided adequate ventilation and kept the room cool. Although the décor of the dining room is a bit dated, we found the dining staff incredibly helpful and the cooked breakfast which was self-service was one of the nicest breakfasts I had eaten in any hotel. In fact it was equivalent to a "cooked to order" breakfast. In addition, the hotel provides a kiddy club, which my shy 5year old loved!
While the décor is dated in some part of the hotel, if you are looking for a family friendly hotel, which is good value for money, with friendly staff. I would highly recommend this hotel. We look forward to a return trip very soon.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying in one of the upgraded rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear mtd,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us here at the Inn at Dromoland. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your lovely review.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Dromoland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Dromoland

Address: on the N18 Limerick to Galway road | Dromoland, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland (Formerly Clare Inn Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Dromoland 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are visiting Clare purely for pleasure, celebrating a family occasion or wedding, planning a business meeting or conference, the Inn at Dromoland is the best hotel for you. The Inn at Dromoland comprises of elegant guest rooms, a variety of Dining options, bar, conference and banquet facilities as well as a fully equipped health and fitness club. Our guests can avail of special rates for the Spa at Dromoland and also on the championship golf course in Dromoland Castle. The Inn at Dromoland commands panoramic views across the Clare Hills and Shannon estuary. A range of Clare attractions are located nearby including the Dromoland Estate as well as Bunratty Castle & Folk Park, Craggaunowen and Ennis town. We invite you to explore our extensive range of special offers which range from Midweek and Weekend Breaks, Family Breaks and Luxury Package Breaks.The team at The Inn at Dromoland look forward to welcoming you and ensuring you have a relaxing and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Inn at Dromoland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clare Hotel Newmarket-On-Fergus
Clare Inn Hotel And Suites
The Inn At Dromoland Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Dromoland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.