We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really enjoyed it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Dromoland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Dromoland to your Saves list
The Inn at Dromoland
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   on the N18 Limerick to Galway road | Dromoland, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland (Formerly Clare Inn Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Kidwelly, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We really enjoyed it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

I decided to take my daughter and grandchildren away for a few days while I was staying with them in Ireland, they had stayed at the Clare Inn 4 years previously and my daughter warned me that although they had enjoyed themselves then there were some bad reviews. The first thing I found when looking for a place to stay was that there were few hotels that catered for families of 2 adults and 3 children in 1 room. My daughter told me that her eldest son really wanted to go back to Clare Inn. Despite the bad reviews I decided to book a deal and chance it. I'm so glad I did! The staff were very friendly when we arrived and it was immediately apparent that children were welcome. The decor was a bit outdated but it was clean and tidy. Our room wasn't ready so they switched us to a room that was. It was a lovely big room with 2 single beds a king size bed and a settee that doubled as a bed if needed. The bed was very comfortable and my daughter said he had had the best sleep for ages. There was also a table and chairs, a large walk in wardrobe there were howevery not enough hangers and draw space was not great although shelves in the wardrobe provided ample space for our needs. The decor was clean and modern and the room generally clean and tidy. Our offer gave a bed and breakfast for 3 nights and 1 evening meal. I have to say that the food served was delicious, plenty to eat for breakfast with fruit, cereals, several different types of bread and rolls and a wonderful selection of cooked food. The staff were very riendly and the service good. There was a good selection of bar meals and the meal we had in the hotel restaurant on the one evening we ate there was excellent. Children were well catered for and obviously welcomed. The childrens club provided activies in the morning and evening with the very popular Captain Jacks show on 3 evenings a week - the children loved it.
The basic swimming pool provided the opportunity to go swimming although at times it was quite full. the outdoor playground was enjoyed by children of all ages as was the crazy golf and pitch and put. The indoor soft play area gave further opportunity for the children to let off steam and although it cost 4 euro to go in was well worth it. The service given was good and any problems reported were attended to although perhaps not immediately depending on what it was. Notices asked that parents made sure that children kept the noise levels down in the corridor after 10.45 which I think was reasonable but not always adhered to. The corridors to the bedrooms were not always as clean as they might be although they were cleaned every day. A room service tray was left out in the corridor over night and really no excuse for this. The window in our room didn't had a safety catch to prevent it opening right out however I did report this on checking out and was promised it would be seen to - I should have reported this sooner
perhaps no excuse! To sum up our experience we all really enjoyed ourselves, leaflets in the foyer were handy to plan outings, we could relax and not worry about every little noise the children made, we had good food in good surroundings would definately return. Well done to all the staff at Clare Inn

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 275 very spacious, good decor the room opposite 276 looked to be the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear craftycatkins,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay here at the Clare Inn Hotel.

I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the kids were well entertained and enjoyed themselves too.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Clare Inn Hotel in the future

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    191
    107
    42
    36
See reviews for
260
94
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We travelled down to the Clare Inn for our anniversary last february. We went by train but we hadnt realised it was so far from Ennis Station, so we found the taxi fares a little steep. Other than that it was grand. Maybe not quite luxurious enough for a sexy break but it was clean and comfortable, and the reception staff were brilliant. We had nice fish and chips downstairs in the pub the first night but we got all glammed up and went out to The Townhouse restaurant at the Old Ground Hotel in Ennis, the second night. And, Oh my God, you have to go there! The food was the best we have ever had on a meal out, even my husband who is normally just too picky for words, really tucked in. We had a really nice time at the Clare Inn, but watch out for the woman who rations the breakfast buffet, i thought that was a bit mean.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear BusyMum_11,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Clare Inn Hotel. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Clare Inn in the future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Coughlan
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CORK
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Reception area was clean,with fresh flowers so i thought the bad reviews i had read had been acted upon.Reception staff were friendly but rooms not ready for another hour. Bathroom in adults room looked as if cleaning had been forgotten -previous occupant's spilled foundation,empty shampoo dispenser, plinth missing from bath.Entering adjoining children's room I tripped over TV cable trailing across doorway, connected with electricians tape! Curtain was hanging from pole even though hooks were on pole, no excuse for staff to not reattach it.Every single window I looked at was grubby. Windows opened onto roof with noisy heating/ventilation system going most hours,not conducive to sleep.Decided that we'd only use the hotel for sleeping ,noticed young children allowed in bar and lobby area as we re-entered to go to
bed at 11pm, and children roamed freely around hotel until after 1am. Charging for a towel at the pool is just unheard of anywhere else.On the plus side,water pressure was good and breakfast was fine (though the torn wallpaper outside the diningroom door would be easy to replace). Staff were friendly and young children seemed happily oblivious to the grime. I could go on,Speaking to reception staff,it seems that some rooms were upgraded but unfortunately we got an old one-old and tired decor I could accept, but not the downright dirt we saw! Cleaning superviser needs to pull their socks up!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear teresa S,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Clare Inn Hotel.

I am extremely disappointed to read your review and discover the issues you encountered while you were here. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak to you regarding your stay.

You can contact me on claire.coughlan@clareinnhotel.ie

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

I can understand the mix of reviews this hotel has received as it has serious pros and serious cons.

I'll start with the positives...

There is lots for families with free pitch 'n' putt, crazy golf, tennis and the leisure centre. The evening show for the kids is enjoyable, though as a music teacher/sound engineer I felt the volume was unnecessarily loud for the room, with the speakers facing width-ways rather than length-ways in the hall.

The dinners in the bar and restaurant were both enjoyable, with the service in the restaurant excellent. The bar was quite busy on the night we ate there and so was not as quick, but that's understandable. Breakfast in the restaurant had plenty of variety and as a previous poster said it was run very efficiently for the numbers staying in the hotel.

My 6yo and 3yo enjoyed the kids club activities, and a quick trip to the gym was enjoyable.

Before I mention the negatives I must point out that any issues we brought to the attention of staff were dealt with very quickly, politely and efficiently.

The first we encountered was our room. Upon entering we were hit with a wall of a mouldy/damp smell. The room looked quite drab, and with a young baby we were not happy to stay in it. We had a new room within 15 minutes with the help of the reception manager. The new room was a huge improvement, with no smell/damp and with a nicer decor.

Another issue was the public toilets around the hotel. 3 of the 5 cubicles I attempted to use in the common areas of the hotel were blocked. On each occasion I brought it to the attention of the staff, but did not return to check!!

The aforementioned crazy golf was a bit bland. It hadn't much variety and the concrete surface was not the most suitable. The pitch 'n' putt was well tended, but the tee markings were missing and the flags had no numbers, meaning that it was impossible to tell for sure which tee was for which hole, or which order to play a round in!

There were indeed children roaming the corridors till all hours as another poster mentioned, but I didn't find it interrupted my sleep too much - perhaps I was too tired after the busy days!

The other negative for me was the pool, where there was only hot water in one of the showers in the men's changing rooms, and none of the women's. The pool was quite cold, and all of the step-ladders into it wobbled a little which didn't inspire confidence! The shower in the spa area was also broken which meant no showers between sauna/steam room/jacuzzi etc.

Overall this is a hotel with some great facilities, but many of them need some t.l.c. (or complete overhaul!). The staff are very responsive to any issues raised. If you get lucky and have fine weather there you will be spoiled for choice. If you wait till next summer they will hopefully have sorted out all of the issues, and then it could be an excellent hotel!

Room Tip: If you're unhappy, don't be afraid to say it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Dear KevandCar,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us at the Clare Inn Hotel.

I am pleased to see that for the most part you enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate you taking the time to point out the negatives you experienced while you were here but I am happy to see that your issues were rectified quite quickly for you.

I hope that this wont deter you from coming back to the Clare Inn Hotel in the future. If you would like to return in the future please contact me directly on -------- and I will ensure you are well looked after.

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

This hotel is very good value for the money. Our package included dinner on the first night - unfortunately we didnt make it in time for the restaurant that night (our fault) but were accomodated in the bar. I had the loveliest Caesar salad.
Staff were hard working and very friendly and I thought breakfasts were lovely. The decor may be a little tired but there is something homely about this place.
Only round the corner from Dromoland castle, so convenient if you want to visit there without paying the 5 star rate.
It cost us more to have coffee there the next day than dinner in the Clare Inn the night before!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Dear Ela477,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us at the Clare Inn Hotel.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that I will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Clare Inn Hotel in the future,

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We were booked in for two nights and checked out after one. The hotel was totally unsupervised with children running around everywhere and in the bar till well after 12 midnight. They were lying on floors, in doorways on the steps of the stairs and others running mad, climbing on furniture, total madness. They were running along the corridors still at 1.30am. This seemed to be acceptable behaviour after speaking with a member of staff. If its a relaxing break away you want think again.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and it was extremely noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Dear Hilly2338,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us at the Clare Inn hotel.

I am extremely disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do try to control the level of children who are around the hotel - I am sure you will have seen that we have signs up around the hotel as well as on the kids programme and the information sheet that children are not permitted around the hotel after 10.45pm. This is then up to the parents to follow our guidelines and have the children off the corridors after this time. I am sure you will appreciate how difficult it is for the hotel to control other people's children.

If you wish to discuss your stay any further please contact me on -------

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011 via mobile

Just back from a 3 day break, we all had a great time, lots for the kids to do, room was fine , pool was clean (any problems from previous posters must have been sorted) hotel was fully booked and everyone I spoke to said they would be back. The bar could do with a bus boy for clearing tables , that's the only fault I could mention. staff all lovely and work very hard . Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Dear Orlaf7,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Clare Inn Hotel.

I am delighted to see that both you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we will see you back at the Clare Inn Hotel in the near future,

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Dromoland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Dromoland

Address: on the N18 Limerick to Galway road | Dromoland, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland (Formerly Clare Inn Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Dromoland 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are visiting Clare purely for pleasure, celebrating a family occasion or wedding, planning a business meeting or conference, the Inn at Dromoland is the best hotel for you. The Inn at Dromoland comprises of elegant guest rooms, a variety of Dining options, bar, conference and banquet facilities as well as a fully equipped health and fitness club. Our guests can avail of special rates for the Spa at Dromoland and also on the championship golf course in Dromoland Castle. The Inn at Dromoland commands panoramic views across the Clare Hills and Shannon estuary. A range of Clare attractions are located nearby including the Dromoland Estate as well as Bunratty Castle & Folk Park, Craggaunowen and Ennis town. We invite you to explore our extensive range of special offers which range from Midweek and Weekend Breaks, Family Breaks and Luxury Package Breaks.The team at The Inn at Dromoland look forward to welcoming you and ensuring you have a relaxing and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at Dromoland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clare Inn Hotel And Suites
Clare Hotel Newmarket-On-Fergus
The Inn At Dromoland Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Dromoland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.