We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for lunch with a view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House

Beach House
The Pier, Swilly Road, Buncrana, Ireland
00353 (0) 7493 61050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 22 Restaurants in Buncrana
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We went to the Beach House for lunch with a friend who had recommended it.

We were not disappointed. Menu is mainly fish based and the seafood platter was good, as was the fish of the day (cod). Portions were a little on the small side but the quality was good.

Total for the three of us for starters, mains, desserts and coffees was €70. We didn't have drinks, but a jug of iced water was supplied without us asking for it - a nice touch.

Friendly service from two waitresses.

We enjoyed our lunch here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buncranabeachhouse, Owner at Beach House, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear bestframes,

Thank you for your lovely review of your visit to the Beach House. We are delighted that you were recommended to us and that you enjoyed your experience. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back again really soon.

Kind regards,

Claire Mc Gowan,
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    37
    11
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“second visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

we were a little disapointed on this our second visit to find that the evening menu was the same as it was in early June, that said it was good in June so....

Good Service generally although i did ask for a window opening , this request got lost somewhere , my Cod main dish was good , my partners chicken was very tender but a tad bland ....the absolute highlight hovever was my starter which we both agreed was one of the very best ...."poached pear" with blue cheese walnuts and pomergrante .....simply gob smacking....simple but so tasty , the Cachel cheese from Tipperary ....wow....got to have some more

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buncranabeachhouse, Owner at Beach House, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Rob L,

Thank you for visiting us again. Delighted that you enjoyed the fish dish, however we apologise about the chicken dish. We do hope to see you again at the Beach House and that your experience will be more enjoyable.

Kind regards,

Claire Mc Gowan,
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Service all at sea”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

quality of food good but told waitress need meal and out before next fairy at 6pm, giving them an hour for two courses.despite not being busy food took time and we asked to have dessert wrapped so we could get on the boat just docking outside.no wrapping for dessert ! so we had to adjust bill and run,a rather spoilt affair because of poor service. early bird menu is good value but leave lots of time.house wine good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buncranabeachhouse, Owner at Beach House, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear alpboy,

Thank you for your review of the Beach House. We are sorry that your service was slow. We do hope to see you again sometime in the future.

Kind regards,

Claire Mc Gowan,
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Simply Outstanding!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner love our food and are both avid cooks so we really appreciate well presented and high quality food. We were recommended by a friend to try this place when staying in Buncranna for the weekend and no exaggeration, when I tasted my steak a big smile came across my face!! Wow! We consider ourselves seasoned dinners but this place is definitely top of our list, the food, service and location are just unreal. So much so I made my partner promise to take me back here for my birthday (even though it about 1 hour 10 minutes journey for us). I am happy to report the second visit was just as good if not better if that's possible!! The staff were so friendly and even remembered us and were so touched when they heard we made the trek just for their food!! Just as we were finishing up our meal a surprise Crème brûlée appeared compliments of the chef complete with an elegant chocolate hand written message around the edge of the plate and what a Crème brûlée it was, Wow again!! We live this place and I honestly believe this place should be number 1 and would be number 1 in any town they operated!! Hope to see you's again soon guys, p.s please open another restaurant closer to me!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buncranabeachhouse, Owner at Beach House, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear QuestForTheBest,

Thank you for your lovely review and recommendation; we are glad that you found us. We really enjoy hearing about the experiences of our new customers. And we are delighted that you both decided to come here for your birthday and had a lovely time with us. Delighted that you enjoyed the food, service and atmosphere; and not to forget the location. Thank you again for sharing your experiences and we will be looking forward to your next visit.

Thank you once again for your review – these are important for us to ensure we provide a relaxing and enjoyable experience.

Kind regards,

Claire Mc Gowan,
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lendelede, Belgium
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good value for money, excellent and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Beach House at The Pier in Buncrana is a place where you want to come back. You get very good, fresh food. Fish of course. The view over Lough Swilly at sunset is stunning.
The service is excellent and the staff is very friendly.
Reservation is advisable as there are not that many tables.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buncranabeachhouse, Owner at Beach House, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear filip_rosselle,

Thank you for your recommendation and review of the Beach House. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable and memorable time with us. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Kind regards,

Claire Mc Gowan,
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach House also viewed

Buncrana, County Donegal
 
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.