We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for food ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Harbour Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Harbour Inn to your Saves list
The Harbour Inn
Derry Road | Ludden, Buncrana, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Buncrana
Leek, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great for food ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Beautiful food they have a quite extensive menu with great prices . Also early bird menu 2 course meal 13 Euro also accept sterling at the current exchange rate . Beautiful place for a meal on your own or in a group . The rooms are well priced too

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    46
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
38
63
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Broxwood, Herefordshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great welcome on a hot evening ; given a cooler ( and very large ) room and it was just me!
Easy to find , plenty of parking , and an excellent restaurant in the complex (The Harbour Bar)
Superb value in both the restaurant and the Hotel ( room €55)
Great staff

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Just back from an overnight stay in the Harbour Inn. I am so glad I chose it. The staff, food, drink all excellent, in fact the owner offered to run us into Buncrana as we wanted to have a look around. It was clean and the rooms very spacious and comfortable. The view looking out at Lough Swilly was fantastic. I have been trying to book for our wdding anniversary in Oct but all sold out. Didn't disappoint

Room Tip: Two double beds in double room sleep four easily
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at the Harbour on a previous golf outing for 7, this time there were 10 of us visiting.The standards remain excellent throughout all aspects of the hotel including reception,restaurant,bar and domestics......all doing their job to a very high standard and ,most importantly ,with a smile on their faces.Kathleen and her staff are great ambassadors for Donegal's welcoming reputation.
Look forward to returning.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The hotel is located on a main road into Buncrana - easy to find with plenty of parking. Great service - friendly and efficient. I was shown to my room on arrival, which was large and very well equipped. Walk-in wardrobe. Good size bathroom with natural light.

Restaurant was very good value with great service. Good selection, even at 8pm on a Sunday. Although the hotel seemed busy, my room was quiet and I had a great night's sleep in a large, comfortable bed.

Wide choice of continental and cooked breakfast, again with great service.

There is a wonderful sandy beach on the shore of Lough Swilly just across the road from the hotel.

I wish I had booked for more than one night. This hotel is exceptionally good value and I hope to be back for a longer stay before too long.

Room Tip: First floor rooms at the front have view of Lough Swilly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Fantastic one night stay. We had a family room whch was actually 2 bedrooms. Very clean. We ate in the restaurant and the meal was fantastic. Breakfast was good and staff accomodated our party of 6 for us by moving tables around. Enjoyed it so much we booked for June while we were there. Only negative the Wifi does not seem to stretch to the family rooms which was disapointing for the kids. Other than that very good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed for one night on first weekend in May. We booked two rooms for family. We had our own front door and two rooms opposite on the first floor, Just like being at home and completely private. Perfect place for family with children. The rooms were spotless and warm and had all we wanted - kettle with lots of milk,tea,coffee and biscuits - Iron and hairdryer. The food in the restaurant was excellent and varied and the price was very good. The staff were more than helpfull and take you to your room on arrival. On our two week travel around Ireland I can safely say this was one of the best we stayed in.

Room Tip: Two rooms opposite with own front door is perfect for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour Inn

Address: Derry Road | Ludden, Buncrana, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Buncrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Buncrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 luxurious en-suite bedrooms, each with television, tea/coffee making facilities and hairdryer. 70 seater restaurant serving lunch daily and evening a la carte menu. Warm & welcoming lounge bar. 5 minute walk from NorthWest Golf Club & 20 minute drive from renowned Ballyliffin Golf Club. Special rate green fees for NorthWest Golf Club available to hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Harbour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbour Hotel Buncrana
Harbour Hotel Buncrana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Harbour Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.