We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Harbour Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Harbour Inn to your Saves list
The Harbour Inn
Derry Road | Ludden, Buncrana, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Buncrana
north east
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“very good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

this hotel may have had some some less than complementary reviews in the past, but in our experience we cant imagine why. the rooms were comfortable and the staff were very helpful and pleasant. the residents menu was more than adequate and the breakfasts brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    50
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
44
72
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had our ceremony at the Red Door which only has 4 rooms so we booked most people into the Harbour Inn. I was concerned with how cheap it was and asked Kathleen/Helen to show me around a few of the rooms. They are big and clean, what more would you want when you only hit the bed in the early hours! It is 2.5 miles away from The Red Door so easy to get taxis to and from. Breakfasts were good and showers hot. Staff also great and gave us breakfast earlier than normal the morning of the wedding. Didn't hear any complaints from friends or family about their experience. Also really handy to meet the night before in their bar/restaurant as people could walk back to their rooms.

Room Tip: There are some rooms above the bar which we were not in so don't know about the noise level but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a lovely stay in the harbour Inn. For curiousity I thought I'd read some reveiws, I cannot believe that some of the people who have written very negative reviews actually stayed in the same hotel. The experience they describe is a world removed from the one we have just had. We booked on a dinner plus B & B package and had a lovely modern and clean room overlooking the sea. We were advised that the heating is on a timer it came on as promised. Food in the restaurant was a residents menu some may describe it as limited. However we enjoyed a good 3 course dinner served by a pleasant and attentive young lady. We considered it very good value. A good breakfast was served by another very pleasant lady. Our experience of the staff was totally positive very friendly and helpful. All in all a great value break which we hope to repeat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

There is a special set menu up until 8pm. It's only €13 for two courses. This menu is quite basic but if are prepared to pay an extra €4 for the steak sandwich you can have a great meal. The Guinness here is perfect too!

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I had broken down on my motorcycle and the breakdown service recommended this hotel. Very friendly and could not do enough. Just what was needed in the circumstances.

It was spotless, quiet and the staff in the restaurant and breakfast area were excellent. The food was good in the restaurant and the breakfast had something for everyone.

Happy to recommend it to all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Have been in here a couple of times, and have always found the service and food to be good. I have never stayed in the accommodation.
I have also attended functions here in the past, and again, service, food and facilities are all really good.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel is a lovely clean hotel with big spacious rooms which are spotless, and the food is amazing but it is designed like a motel, where the rooms are all outside, so to go to the bar restaurant or reception, you have to go outside, and if its raining heavy its not ideal. The room we were in was above the kitchen and there was a constant drone and vibration in the room as a result of a boiler or something, and this for me was a let down, because it really was a nice fresh place, and I would highly recommend the food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buncrana
0.8 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#2 of 5 in Buncrana
4.0 of 5 stars 563 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lake of Shadows Hotel
Lake of Shadows Hotel
#3 of 5 in Buncrana
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
13.6 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
4.0 of 5 stars 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
15.7 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downings
5.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
14.7 mi away
Malin Hotel
Malin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malin
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour Inn

Address: Derry Road | Ludden, Buncrana, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Buncrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Buncrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 luxurious en-suite bedrooms, each with television, tea/coffee making facilities and hairdryer. 70 seater restaurant serving lunch daily and evening a la carte menu. Warm & welcoming lounge bar. 5 minute walk from NorthWest Golf Club & 20 minute drive from renowned Ballyliffin Golf Club. Special rate green fees for NorthWest Golf Club available to hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Harbour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbour Hotel Buncrana
Harbour Hotel Buncrana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Harbour Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.