We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, in a nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Harbour Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Harbour Inn to your Saves list
The Harbour Inn
Derry Road | Ludden, Buncrana, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Buncrana
Skipton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Nice place, in a nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Have been in here a couple of times, and have always found the service and food to be good. I have never stayed in the accommodation.
I have also attended functions here in the past, and again, service, food and facilities are all really good.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    46
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
38
63
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Drogheda, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel is a lovely clean hotel with big spacious rooms which are spotless, and the food is amazing but it is designed like a motel, where the rooms are all outside, so to go to the bar restaurant or reception, you have to go outside, and if its raining heavy its not ideal. The room we were in was above the kitchen and there was a constant drone and vibration in the room as a result of a boiler or something, and this for me was a let down, because it really was a nice fresh place, and I would highly recommend the food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just returned from 1 night in this gem of a hotel. Room was excellent, no complaints. Staff very friendly. Excellent bar food. Excellent value for money. No complaints at all. It is little out of the town but in fine weather a nice walk, about 25mins. Well definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonny Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed at The Harbour Inn recently with my mum for 6 nights and found the hotel, staff, food, rooms etc to be excellent. We were lucky enough to be given two rooms which had a seperate entrance so it was like a self contained apartment, with two bedrooms which was perfect for us. We ate breakfast and dinner in the hotel every day and never once got a meal that wasn't delicious. The rooms are big, bright and very spacious, the bathrooms are large also with a big comfortable bath and shower. Each and every single member of staff was pleasant, polite, friendly and very very helpful. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Bit of a walk into Buncrana from here (30 mins) but no probs if the weather is fair, very friendly and helpful staff, good sized clean and quiet rooms , good spot to tour the area from, the food is good and there are several very good local restaurants not too far away

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Top Contributor
460 reviews 460 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
524 helpful votes 524 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Harbour is on the Derry Road, about half a mile outside Buncrana. It's not huge, but I find it very comfortable and friendly, and would recommend it. It's just across from "An Trá Bán", or the White Strand beach, so if the weather was kind, you could enjoy all the beach has to offer.

There's a lovely bar there, which serves meals, and my favorite was the "Hawaiian Chicken", but not sure if it's still on the menu. However, all the food I ever sampled there was top notch, and didn't cost an arm or a leg. They used to do a four course meal + a drink for 20 Euro, but again, not sure if that deal is available.

The rooms are very comfortable, clean, with a nice view. It has more or a Motel feel about it. It makes a good base to stay, if your touring around the Inishowen Peninsula. Forgot to mention, breakfast is very good, and the staff are excellent, make you feel at home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Armagh, N Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights from 19 July. We were attending a family christening that weekend and booked the hotel on the strength of the reviews posted here. From the moment we arrived we were delighted with both the place and all members of staff. The room was large and very comfortable with free wifi, flat-screen TV, and there was even a small room off the main room like a walk-in wardrobe. We ate in the bar each evening and the quality of food was excellent and very reasonably priced. There are many places to visit in the surrounding area and we will return in the future to spend more time there. We will definitely be staying in the Harbour Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour Inn

Address: Derry Road | Ludden, Buncrana, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Buncrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Buncrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 luxurious en-suite bedrooms, each with television, tea/coffee making facilities and hairdryer. 70 seater restaurant serving lunch daily and evening a la carte menu. Warm & welcoming lounge bar. 5 minute walk from NorthWest Golf Club & 20 minute drive from renowned Ballyliffin Golf Club. Special rate green fees for NorthWest Golf Club available to hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Harbour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbour Hotel Buncrana
Harbour Hotel Buncrana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Harbour Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.