We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Value.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Linsfort Castle B&B

Linsfort Castle B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buncrana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Linsfort Castle B&B
Linsfort | Inishowen, Buncrana, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Buncrana B&B and Inns
Letterkenny, Donegal, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed here as a birthday treat for myself last August, taking the ferry from Rathmullan to Buncranna on route.
If the owners make a place, then rest assured, this couple are genuinely nice and welcoming.
The house and grounds are like a 4star lodge, best of all, on the waterfront, and within walking distance to a beautiful wee beach.
Alan, the owner ,waited up for my return, like my daddy from yesteryear, only not knowing, I sneaked in at midnight to avoid disturbing them, and he waited up 'till after one.
He cooks a beautiful breakfast in the kitchen, as seen on their YouTube video, and makes all jams and preserves himself. All this, and modest too!!
You won't believe the price for my having a 4 poster bed and nice warm bath...35 euro !!!
What are you waiting for? I'm heading back in August, that's for sure!!

Room Tip: Bedrooms all have sea view, as I recall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

No tea/coffee provided in rooms or television, which should be stated on the website! Have a disgusting dog which is also not noted on the website, that was allowed into our room and the owner walked away and left it there! Also was aloud into the kitchen while we were eating. The room was so cold that your couldn't sleep, woke up several times freezing! The owner couldnt handle critizisim so we got through out. DON'T STAY HERE!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We (2 adults and a baby) spent one night here in May 2012, and they accommodated us graciously at very short notice. They are welcoming and interesting people, with values we appreciate (they grow or source their food locally, are committed to their community, etc.). The building is a fine example of a 17th/18th century manor house - spacious and somewhat austere. The owners have spent many years bringing it and its grounds up to a high standard. It's not luxurious, but it is perfectly fine for a family stay. The lounge has a fireplace and a comfortably worn old leather sofa and chairs. Books abound. The shared bathroom is clean and practical, and the fine breakfast is served in the lovely old kitchen. Our room had a superb view over Lough Swilly and the castle's gardens. (Castle here means large house - there's no sign of fortifications or knights in armour...) The setting is fabulous: a quiet spot right on the Lough, with access to the beach. All in all, a place with lots of character and a very homey ambience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Linsfort Castle B&B is a perfect ‘Gem’ to visit, nestled in a lovely spot of the ‘Inishowen Scenic 100’route, north of Buncrana. As soon as you arrive you’re greeted by wonderful hospitality. The couple serve, up a superb breakfast, oozing in flavour, as they produce much of their own food stuff, i.e. honey, jams, free range eggs and vegetables etc. Otherwise, they’ll bring in, locally sourced organic food such as bacon and sausages. 4 of us, had a lovely stroll to the beach after the breakfast, which was invigorating
Linsfort Castle is a great longstanding historic building, with great features and yet it has the ‘charm of a cosy cottage’. It’s situated in fine grounds and a stroll around their own garden, is also stimulating from their own small orchard, the trees, the birds to their own bee hives. This B&B is also situated, a few minutes’ walk from a lovely quiet beach and other scenic and historic areas within, to explore by car /walking or partly both. A great place to be!

Room Tip: Every room is in a lovely quiet spot of the house and yet each room has their own individual charm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Linsfort Castle B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linsfort Castle B&B

Address: Linsfort | Inishowen, Buncrana, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Ulster > County Donegal > Buncrana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Buncrana
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Western shore of Donegal's Inishowen Peninsula, Linsfort Castle is a country house overlooking Lough Swilly. According to Dr John Corbett a Trinity historian who lived in the Castle from 1938 to 1943 it was originally built around 16o0 as a fortified tower house which together with a sizeable estate was made over to Paul Benson a London Stonemason, as part payment for the contract to build the Walls of the City of Derry. It was rebuilt in 1720 by his grandson Captain Arthur Benson. The house is described in “ Classic Irish Houses of the Medium size as "an H plan house of 1720 with an armorial tablet”.We offffer spacious accommodation where you can relax and feel comfortable in this lovely rural coastal setting. We have over an acre of lovely gardens and a terrace with a lough view. * large double bedrooms with Lough views - single beds can be added to make family or twin rooms * three bathrooms/shower rooms adjacent to bedrooms * large lounge with open fire, library, table games, quizzes * meals are served in our Old Irish kitchen with crane and inglenook fireplace * private sun terrace with Lough Swillly views * freeWiFi broadband ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linsfort Castle B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Linsfort Castle B&B to your Saves list