We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whats good is good, whats not is disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inishowen Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inishowen Gateway to your Saves list
Inishowen Gateway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Railway Road, Buncrana, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Buncrana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Derry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Whats good is good, whats not is disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Visited the Sunday Carvery on Bank holiday weekend after hearing good reviews. Booked for 2.45 arrived and were seated by 2.50. First impressions were that it is a big room, very busy and quite noisy.
Good things, Quality and variety of starters, main course and what was left of the desserts. At 20 euros this is a competitively priced meal, the wines are also very reasonable.
Disappointing things, No water offered at table, vegetable soup is quite boring, noisy children running around the restaurant, the floor resembled a war zone in places food and napkins discarded at will, hot desserts had run out and there was no intention of replacing them, starters included spare ribs i.e finger food but no napkins were available to clean hands afterwards.
On a busy day any Carvery will be under strain however some things are fundamental to become a great one. The last customer in, is entitled to the same selection as the first. Not bothering to replace all of the hot desserts before they run out is cheap, lazy, penny pinching and unforgivable. This and other disappointing things can be addressed quite easily.
One thing that cannot be changed is the very size of the place, it feels like a noisy works canteen at times. This place will never feel intimate for romantic couples.
All this being said, the place was incredibly busy the locals love it, you would do well to book, the food was really very good and well worth the money. Its probably ideal for large families and family celebrations.

Room Tip: Did not stay only visited for Carvery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    172
    71
    30
    12
See reviews for
160
187
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

would stay again, Buncrana is a lovely area and the hotel was ideal, good golf course on the doorstep and enjoyed the pool etc..breakfast was great and the staff chirpy, bit of a misunderstanding after dinner about payment but we did get an apology...nothing major

Room Tip: we stayed at the front of the hotel but the noise from the road was minimal, ask in advance for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just returned from five day trip with Eclipse Breaks ,staying at this lovely hotel ,rooms were lovely as was the food,breakfast was self service with lots of choice ,evening meal table
service which again had a good choice ,compliments to the chef ,first time in Ireland , & staying in such a lovely hotel made this a very enjoyable holiday,hope to return sometime

Room Tip: We had room on the first floor very quief.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

first time I have been to this hotel the location was fantastic rooms spacious and food excellent. Swimming pool etc were good. Only faults were toilet rolls and shower gel were not replenished also bin wasn't emptied on last day

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here with 5 friends for 4 nights. I was most impressed by the hotel, the staff, the food and its situation. We used the spa which was great, despite having to wear nylon bathing caps! This was my first visit to Ireland and it wont be the last

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. The rooms were very comfortable but not modern. Breakfast was nice and we also had dinner at the hotel restaurant one night which was fantastic. There are wonderful views over the golf course and the sea. I didn't bring my bathers so we didn't use the pool but it looked great. The hotel location was also great and there is parking available.
We had one small issue with the booking which was done online. I was travelling with my husband and my mum and we were not able to book a room for three people. We were a little surprised that our room and my mother's room had a double bed and a single bed.
I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

went to this hotel for a midweek break in april, got three nights and three meals at an excellent price this included full breakfast and a four course meal each evening, staff were pleasant and very helpful and made the guests feel welcome, Buncranna is a lovely clean town with great walks and is a great touring location for touring the innishowen peninsula.The rooms facing the sea offer the best views, and there is a gym and pool in the hotel and golf was free with the deal

Room Tip: facing the sea over the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inishowen Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishowen Gateway

Address: Railway Road, Buncrana, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Buncrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Buncrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inishowen Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inishowen Gateway Hotel is located just outside the picturesque town of Buncrana on Donegal's Inishowen Peninsula. The hotel commands stunning views of the majestic Lough Swilly leading out on to the Atlantic Ocean. The hotel has 80 well appointed en-suite bedrooms, many of which overlook the lake. Some of the facilities are the Gateway Health & Fitness Club, Seagrass Wellbeing Centre, Planet Active for kids & The Peninsula Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Inishowen Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inishowen Gateway Hotel Buncrana
Inishowen Gateway Buncrana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inishowen Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.