We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Establishment/Food/Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inishowen Gateway

Save Saved
You added Inishowen Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inishowen Gateway
Railway Road, Buncrana, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Buncrana
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Establishment/Food/Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed 2 nights, Breakfast & Dinners, great atmosphere, friendly helpful staff. Buffet Breakfast that had everything you could think of, short of smoked salmon & caviare :) which we weren't really expecting. Dinner Al a Carte, excellent, tab la dote menu was great (if you have the appetite for it) as your given plenty.
Room with Lough view was very adequate, clean with TV/DVD & free WIFI.
Enjoyed our stay & will look forward to returning in the future.
No disappointments here!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Lough are best, in my opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    145
    60
    26
    12
See reviews for
132
142
12
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Have just returned from a wonderful 5 days at this lovely hotel, and can't find anything to complain about!. Accommodation was lovely, food excellent and staff friendly and helpful. We had a little ruffle on the last night over seating arrangements, but were quickly sorted by Connor Paige, the manager. He is a treasure, take note senior management!. The only grump I have is that our room looked onto another building, cutting out all sunshine, but hey-ho, we were only in there for an hour or so a day. Breakfast was lovely, everything we could have asked for, and the evening meal was beautiful. Well done Connor and the crew! I'll be baaacckkk!!!!

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the sea, the view is gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, we came hear for one night.. Defiantly great value, didn't have dinner in the hotel but breakfast was very tasty and the view while eating it was second to none.. Our room was overlooking the car park, very noisy, took us quite I while to get the broken window to close and it was still noisy, also the heat wasn't working- I did report this to reception but unfortunately they didn't land to sort it until I was fast asleep after 11!! Rooms are dated but clean.. Anyho I would most definitely recommend a treatment at the spa, it was a lovely treat, even my husband enjoyed it :-) overall stay very good, friendly staff, lovely area, i would stay again..

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I was there out of season - so I got a very good rate through Booking.com. I think in summer it would be a lot more expensive ! Pool and gym on premises, and fabulous restaurant - great views and friendly/professional waitress !! A 5 star experience for a 3 star price !!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I have stayed here on business and it is a very clean hotel with a good gym.The price I got on the corporate rate was outstanding!I remember the receptionists are lovely here and there are good options in the bar for food.I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland Derry City
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I must say the surrounding scenery is outstanding, you can watch the golfers out on the green. The Sunday Dinner, starter was a choice of fruit, salad, pasta, chicken and all sorts. Then you had your vegetable soup, main course turkey and ham or roast beef with roast potatoes and creamed, plenty of veg, brussels, carrots, cauliflower and broccoli. Then a selection of deserts, followed by tea or coffee. They have a large dinning area with plenty of space, staff very attentive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Bridesmaid and Best Man turned up to surprise my wife.

Weather was terrible, hotel is highly recommended. Wonderful views, helpful staff and very acceptable room. It had all that we expected, comfortable bed, tv and a bathroom, which was getting ready for a bit of an overhaul. Nothing wrong with it, just ready for a revamp. A bit dated.

The spa and pool were an added bonus. We each had a stress relieving massage

If you are a golfer there is a course in front of the hotel. For us, it was more fun eating breakfast and chuckling at the golfers slicing balls in the damp conditions from the dining room panoramic windows.

We had a bar meal the first evening as the dining room was busy and we were starving. This was good typical Irish fayre. Breakfast the next morning was buffet style and there was plenty of cereal, fruit and of course the Full Irish.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inishowen Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishowen Gateway

Address: Railway Road, Buncrana, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Ulster > County Donegal > Buncrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Buncrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inishowen Gateway Hotel is located just outside the picturesque town of Buncrana on Donegal's Inishowen Peninsula. The hotel commands stunning views of the majestic Lough Swilly leading out on to the Atlantic Ocean. The hotel has 80 well appointed en-suite bedrooms, many of which overlook the lake. Some of the facilities are the Gateway Health & Fitness Club, Seagrass Wellbeing Centre, Planet Active for kids & The Peninsula Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Inishowen Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inishowen Gateway Hotel Buncrana
Inishowen Gateway Buncrana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inishowen Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.