We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inishowen Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inishowen Gateway to your Saves list
Inishowen Gateway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Railway Road, Buncrana, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Buncrana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

recently stayed for a two night break and were very impressed with check-in procedure, staff friendliness, cleanliness throughout the hotel and of course the food which was plentiful and excellent. This was our second visit and certainly not our last, would definitely recommend room with view over Lough Swilly, location excellent for scenic drives through this part of Donegal

Room Tip: ask for room with view over the lough
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    172
    70
    30
    12
See reviews for
160
186
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Have eaten here with family twice in the last two months at the Sunday carvery. We were a large group of 6 adults and 3 children. They cater very well for both kids and adults and the carvery is excellent with a lovely choice from beef, turkey and ham to lamb and plenty of veg. The dessert offering too is extensive and you can have as much as you like... not so good on the waistline. They also have an array of starters and soup and finally tea and coffee to finish. It is very busy but relaxed and the kids adore not as stuffy as some places. Well done to all looking forward to our next visit

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leitrim
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Excellent hotel, all staff extremely friendly and helpful, food was top class, upgraded to a larger room on request with no fuss. Bar and restaurant staff extremely pleasant. Reception staff also very helpful. Rooms were clean even if a bit dated. Would highly recommend. this hotel is located in the scenic inishowen area and is convenient to many areas for golf fishing etc. Complimentary golf is available at the local 9 hole course at the back of the hotel. many top class golf courses within one hour including Ballyliffin where there are 2 courses, greencastle, stranorlar, letterkenny and of course the local course. Great value packages available to include DBB. Tip - Go for the bar food as it appears to be much better, why I don't know. I note that some reviews here in relation to this hotel make adverse comments about the staff and describe them as being unfriendly, I cannot understand this as I did not come across any one member of staff who was either pleasant or unfriendly. on the contrary they were all very pleasant and I think genuinely so. To me they looked like a very happy bunch who were happy at their work.

Room Tip: All rooms are adequate, some are quite large, ask for one of the bigger rooms on the southern side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I attended the Sunday Lunch Carvery at the Inishowen Gateway last week with friends and family as it had been recommended by friends and family in recent months and always did have an excellent reputation for great service and food on a Sunday.

This Sunday proved to be no different in terms of food quality and flavour. The quality of the food was absolutely fabulous and the chefs deserve recognition for a great selection of starters, desserts and a award winning main event showcasing freshly cooked joints of beef, lamb, turkey, ham, breaded chicken with all the trimmings and a choice of sauce. It really was a banquet to behold.

I really wanted to put my feet up and relax however the standard of the service left me a little disappointed and on edge from the start. We were left standing at the entrance to the buffet for what seemed like a really long period of time before being acknowledged and seated by a member of staff. When we were seated the order of service was not explained and nobody took a drinks order. I took a drinks order from the table and took it to the bar only to be told to have a seat and wait for a member of staff to come and take the order. Service at the table was non-existent and we were not asked if we were enjoying our meal or if we wanted further drinks which was disappointing as I always like a glass of wine with my Sunday Roast, and maybe some bottled water for the table?

Maybe next time when we go we will receive better service to match the calibre of the food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We were recommend this hotel by friends as a very child friendly establishment!
It wasn't.
The play area for kids was closed, as was the kids swimming pool,
the in-house spa was also closed! We were not advised of any of this when booking!
The staff were unfriendly-apart from a polish lady in the restaurant & a young barman-all 3 receptionists we spoke to during our stay were very matter of fact there were no niceties or pleasantries exchanged. Being the point of contact in the hotel they should maybe be sent on a customer service course!
The rooms were poor & the cot; mainly the mattress supplied for our baby was hard as a rock.
Overall, I would not recommend this hotel so if venturing to Buncrana I would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights recently and thoroughly enjoyed our visit.The view from the bedroom and the restaurant was great and interesting.The pool and other fascilities were fantastic.Lastly the food was high quality and very well priced.

Room Tip: Even room numbers overlook Lough Swilly
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

i stayed at the inishowen gateway with my daughter for 3 nights in august 2013. this was a family friendly hotel and it had activities to keep children fully occupied and happy. there was activities 3 times per day and also had a 1st class swimming pool which you could use until 9pm daily. the hotel was very clean and had very friendly staff to help with any queries. if you are staying in buncrana with children i would highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inishowen Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishowen Gateway

Address: Railway Road, Buncrana, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Buncrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Buncrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inishowen Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inishowen Gateway Hotel is located just outside the picturesque town of Buncrana on Donegal's Inishowen Peninsula. The hotel commands stunning views of the majestic Lough Swilly leading out on to the Atlantic Ocean. The hotel has 80 well appointed en-suite bedrooms, many of which overlook the lake. Some of the facilities are the Gateway Health & Fitness Club, Seagrass Wellbeing Centre, Planet Active for kids & The Peninsula Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Inishowen Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inishowen Gateway Hotel Buncrana
Inishowen Gateway Buncrana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inishowen Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.