We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low cost and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake of Shadows Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lake of Shadows Hotel to your Saves list
Lake of Shadows Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lake of Shadows Hotel
Grianan Park, Buncrana, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Buncrana
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Low cost and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed recently whilst on a golf trip at this hotel. It was comfortable and clean but in need of a little refurbishment. The staff were first class and made the stay more memorable.
Had a good meal in their restaurant where the food was well prepared, well presented and tasted fine. A note to Guinness connoisseurs - the bar here has a fine pint of Guinness.
Cooked breakfast does not begin until 08.00 and the shower in my room was on trickle flow only. Apart from this it was very good value for a one night stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    21
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
18
21
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Not a lot of choices in Buncrana, hotel was OK for the value. Location was great for our interests, with Doherty's Keep a block away, with nice riverwalk. Townsfolk were very very helpful and friendly. Hotel beds were clean, and food was actually very well done, good chef on Board and restaurant staff were friendly and on top of everything. However, when we checked in hotel reception staff were more dismissive than happy to see us. We did not feel welcome. Bath was pretty bad, a lot of mold on walls and floor, trickle of a shower, and the walls too thin for a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: With such thin walls, probably not a great room in the place, but for the value and location, accept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Having grown up around Buncrana, this in somewhere that I have been on numerous occasions.
The decor is maybe slightly outdated, but thats the only negative comment that I have.
The hotel is also situated very close to the beach and Swans park, which have some beautiful walks and scenic views...
I have been here on nights out, and the bar is spacious, with lots of seating, and very friendly bar staff. Having been here to eat, the food is always good, and good value too.
I have attended a few events here over the years, and have always found the events to be well done on the part of the hotel.
I have stayed once or twice, but any information I have on this would be very much out of date.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

The price you pay is reflective of what you get: a basic, dates but clean room that's fine to sleep in!
The staff seemed a little disinterested in being friendly at reception but they checked us in efficiently and pointed out the way to the rooms clearly.
The shower was possibly the worst ever, just a dribble (other guests who were staying to visit the same wedding as us all said the same!). Luckily the bath is good, so ask for a jug in the bar to wash your hair!
Location is good to access all parts of Buncrana.
All in all it was Ok, just don't go expecting it to be great!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The staff are very welcoming & polite, our room although dated was very clean & the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was spotless but was hugely let down by the poorest shower I've ever experienced. There was no way I could have washed my hair as the pressure was so low, in fact it was so bad it was difficult to even get a body wash in it. Because I was going to a wedding I walked into town & had my hair washed at a lovely hairdressers called Bliss for a reasonable charge. The next day I asked for a jug (so I could fill it at the bath taps) at reception but had to justify why I needed it!
On the other hand their breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had dinner at The Lake of Shadows recently while visiting family in Buncrana.
The food is excellent and plentiful, there is a good choice on the menu.
The staff are very friendly and welcoming. We will be back on our next visit to Inishowen.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Lake of shadows, it has a name that would resonate eerie thoughts but far from eerie thoughts it lies. Its a charming hotel which is great value 2mins walk to the beach. The hotel is quirky because it is an old hotel but very user friendly. Staff were lovely and extremely polite. The dinner and breakfast was lovely.
I would recommend this hotel for a nights stay or if you plan on leaving touring everyday.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake of Shadows Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake of Shadows Hotel

Address: Grianan Park, Buncrana, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Ulster > County Donegal > Buncrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Buncrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lake of Shadows Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake of Shadows Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.