We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Civil Partnership” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort to your Saves list
Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Blessington Lakes, Blessington, Ireland (Formerly Wingate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blessington
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Our Civil Partnership”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We are both just settling back into reality after our amazing Civil Partnership at Tulfarris, so apologies for the delay in thanking you and all the team there.

We had been so apprehensive about the whole day for so many different reasons but we had our nerves calmed from our first visit to you beautiful location many months ago now.

To be honest we didnt know to much about Tulfarris even though I've passed the turn off on the Blessington road for over 20 years (on my way home to Carlow to visit family) and so on that first visit we were so delighted with how beautiful the setting was, how good the hotel looked and obviously the stunning orginal manor house.

All of those things were hugely important but I cannot express enough how the welcome we received from everyone we met from bar/reception/accomodation/management staff indeed everyone at Tulfarris was what swayed our decision to book our partnership with you.

We also loved that there was so many options available to us (different Venue rooms, various bars that could be opened, and endless accomodation choices)and none of them seemed to be any trouble to your team. It really felt like everthing was tailored just for our needs (and it was).

As you know we opted to rent the entire Manor house with its fabulously decadent drawing rooms and 7 excuisite bedrooms all individually designed with that old world grandeur that were just to die for. For us this was the best decision ever. It meant that if the weather was good we could have the champagne reception in the charming courtyard but gave us the option that if not we had the incredible entrance hall and two stunning drawingrooms in the manor to entertain our guests before dinner.

We spent the night before in our room in the manor house and it was just so wonderful to have that quiet time just the two of us to enjoy the calm before the storm (so to speak) the following day. It really felt like we owned this beautiful property if even for a few days and as we enjoyed a bottle of champagne in the Library that night life was just perfect!

We really need to thank the gentleman who is Derek for being our absolute rock over the few days. For him nothing was too much trouble and his reassurances were what we needed most when the nerves kicked in. So to you a special thank you Derek!

We suppose the talking point on most of these occassions tends to be the food and we have only fantastic things to report. Our guests were blown away with the quality, the portions the choices and above all else the wonderful service they received. We have not had one discerning voice (and thats unusual with our friends/families...LOL), they all as one loved the venue the ambience, their own bedrooms(another talking point), the food and of course all of the staff who made our day so special.

All we can say again to all of you, from the bottom of our hearts, is thank you so much for a simply wonderful day....we had a ball!

Hopefully some of our friends or family will choose Tulfarris for their special day (there were 3 engaged couples at ours) so that we can experience that special brand of magic that you managed to create again soon!

Thanks again!

Joe & Niall

Room Tip: The Manor House is just stunning for that special occasion!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTulfarris, General Manager at Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hello Joe & Niall,

Thank you for your amazing review and I will certainly pass on your thanks to Derek and all the team here. I know the two of you were so nervous with all the orgainsing and making sure that everything was perfect and I'm just glad that we didnt disappoint. It was a great pleasure looking after you two on your very special day.

Hopefully see you again soon,

Regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    135
    47
    17
    13
See reviews for
109
270
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had two nights here on route to a wedding, midweek break and got a very reasonable rate. We had a suite which consisted of a king bedroom with ensuite bath then a huge separate sitting area and balcony. Two televisions, and a kitchenette with microwave and fridge. First night we ate in the very pleasant and comfortable bar area, second night our meal was included in our package in the restaurant. Both nights the food was excellent and the views over the golf cours were beautiful. Very friendly and efficient staff xx

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTulfarris, General Manager at Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hello J195,

Thank you for the great review and taking the time to write it and review our hotel.
I will pass pn your comments to all our staff also.

Hope to see you back soon,

Kind Regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at the this hotel as it was convenient for a family occassion nearby. We have stayed here before and really enjoyed the comfortable accomodation and beautiful food plus the picturesque location. My 12 year old niece joined us unexpectedly for our stay and all the extra beds were in use as the hotel was busy so they could not put an extra bed in the room. Aishling, the hotel receptionist was so helpful and sorted out the problem even though it was not of the hotel's making. This is the kind of customer service that brings people back and we certainly will be returning. Thank you!

Room Tip: They have lovely suites with a balcony which are really good value so ask and you may get one at a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my girlfriend on a dinner, bed & breakfast package. The location of the hotel is remote but beautiful setting, the grounds are well maintained & clean, car park could have been bigger!!
This hotel caters for wedding & golf groups but also looks after its couples looking for a quiet relaxing stay.
Staff are excellent, couldn't do enough for us & even though busy with larger groups didn't forget about us. I don't like to single out staff members in particular but I feel Melissa was excellent...so friendly, full of chat & easy on the eye!!!
Our room was big, comfy bed & spotless bathroom, nice view too. Food was excellent... Chicken wings in the bar are savage & the seabass in the restaurant was gorgeous....plates were roasting don't know how our server carried them!!
Overall was very impressed, will be back...Melissa thank you for wonderful service.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed in the Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort on an overnight, B&B plus 1 evening meal package. The package was really reasonable and excellent value for the accommodation, dinner and breakfast.
I was really surprised how modern and big the bed rooms were. The decor in room was lovely and the bathroom was great. A nice big, powerful, shower!
The food was delicious, both at dinner and breakfast. Again, excellent value.
The area is gorgeous and I will go back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We returned to Tulfarris for a complementary nights stay for our 1st wedding anniversary. The Hotel & Staff never disappoint, a year on from our wedding in Tulfarris we got a great welcome and an upgrade to one of the lovely suits. It was great seeing the fantastic views again of the lakes. We had a meal in the Lime tree restaurant and as usual the food was delicious with great views to enjoy while you eat. The hotel has got some maintenance done recently and all the work has even improved an already fantastic hotel.
Thanks again to the Staff for making us feel special we'll be back again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Just returned from a family wedding at Tulfarris. Lovely setting if the weather is nice, but it was cold and wet, which was a shame as we did'nt get to make the most of the lovely area. Food at the wedding was fantastic and would recommend for a wedding. Hope to stay again some time and hopefully get better weather! The rooms with balconies are very nice, just need some crockery and cutlery, etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort

Address: Blessington Lakes, Blessington, Ireland (Formerly Wingate)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Blessington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blessington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulfarris Hotel And Golf Blessington
Tulfarris Hotel Blessington
Tulfarris Resort Blessington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.