We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, warm welcome, beautiful rooms and overall relaxed stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Townsend House Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Townsend House Guest House to your Saves list
Townsend House Guest House
Townsend Street, Birr, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Birr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Galway, Ireland
1 review
“Friendly, warm welcome, beautiful rooms and overall relaxed stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

Very easy to find, helpful and friendly staff, It was a pleasure to stay in a family run business which was better quality and value than than most 4 star hotels. We had a beautiful four poster bed with a tastefully decorated room, breakfast was delicious. Over all we have no hesitation in recommending this gem of a B&B.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
31
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

We stayed in this lovely b&b only for one night, but we found it very nice. The host was really friendly and helpful, even if we came very late (after 10 p.m.) without calling before. The rooms are very clean and rather spacious, we got a family room, so we could even choose if we wanted to stay in a double or a twin one :). The place is very quiet and peaceful, so we slept very well, although the bed was a little bit too soft for us. It depends on what you prefer. In the morning we had a full irish breakfast (very good) and a choice of continental one. Surely to be recommended as a place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

I stayed in the Townsend in March. The rooms are amazing and the Townsend is a beautiful house with fantastic staff! Its only a short walk to the town centre where you will find a few banks, shops, restaraunts and bars including doolys which is a hotel with a small nightclub, a bar and a cafe which do lovely breakfasts. The rooms are cleaned everyday and the food is lovely. There are many bars in Birr which are very nice. I would definitley return to this B&B and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

Could not fault our stay in Townsend House. There was a real good family atmosphere in the house and the proprietors were extremely friendly and helpful. Room was very spacious and en suite was as good as many hotels we have stayed in and the breakfast was beautiful. Great location,only a few minutes walk from town centre and on doorstep of Birr Castle. I would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterboroough
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

had a great stay. rooms spotless food delicious. more than i can say for birr town

Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2006

This is a superb b&b! My husband and I were there this decembre and we really like this place. Owners are very friendly and helpful, and rooms (all ensuite) are decorated in a charming old style.

This is a good option if you need to stay in Birr, for only 45€ per person sharing.

  • Liked — Nice rooms in charming old style
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Townsend House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townsend House Guest House

Address: Townsend Street, Birr, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Birr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Birr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Townsend House Guest House is located in the center of Birr,Co.Offaly,Ireland's finest Georgian Town.This 19th Century house is complete with mature gardens and offers an enclosed courtyard perfect for private parking.Townsend House Guest House is a period house and all bedrooms are decorated with a Georgian theme and have the finest antique furniture with a mixture of king and queen size beds. All 10 bedrooms are ensuite,complete with direct dial telephone,satalite TV,tea/coffee making facilities and complimentaryWifi access. Townsend House is a 5 minute walk from Birr Castle Demense and Birr Theatre and Arts Centre,it is also within walking distance from the finest restaurants,hotels and pubs. Townsend House Tapas and Wine Restaurant opened Friday and Saturday nights from 6 Pm till 10 pm for food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Townsend House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Townsend House Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.