We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub food and service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dooly's hotel bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dooly's hotel bar
emmet square, Birr, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 17 Restaurants in Birr
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good pub food and service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My pan seared cod was perfect! Service was prompt. Bar area has several tables and two areas for customers.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Great Service and the Bar staff were very accommodating going out of their way to knock up some food for us even though we arrived late....and then keeping the bar open for us until daylight hours. Thanks guys!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“3rd time visiting over a number of years & still good ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Popped in here for lunch recently while on my way to Donegal.
Had been in here twice previously while passing through and as always food was delightful. Ordered two portions of Brie with chips and a tea and coffee and it was lovely, good price, tasty, filling etc.

Will of course be back in future when passing through :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Pub Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Stopped in for a pub lunch, typically irish in atmosphere and style, nice place, great staff, decent food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
“Dinner in the Emmet Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

My husband and I along with another couple ate in the Emmet Restaurant in Dooleys hotel last weekend. We had a drink in the bar before dinner where the bar staff were very friendly and welcoming. We then went to the restaurant were we were seated at our table. The menu had something for everyone. Both the al a carte and the set menu were very reasonably priced and we all ordered from the set menu. We all really enjoyed our food. It arrived to us hot and without delay. It was extremely well presented and didn't disappoint the taste buds. The waiting staff were very attentive and polite. I would have no problem recommending Dooleys Hotel for a meal or returning myself in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dooly's hotel bar also viewed

 
Birr, County Offaly
 

Been to Dooly's hotel bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dooly's hotel bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.