We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Thatch

The Thatch
Crinkill, Birr, Ireland
057-912-0682
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 16 Restaurants in Birr
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
offaly
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We went for early bird ,great food good service . I like the bar area lovely fire old dressers a touch of grannys old house about it .Lovely staff warm and friendly .Better to make a reservation . A bit outside birr lovely quite area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    21
    7
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice relaxed dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Dine here quite regularly - always great food - very reasonable - great drinks and atmosphere - very helpful and attentive staff.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prosperous, Co. Kildare
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Yumm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Been here for the first time with husband and daughter. Very warm and friendly welcome from the owners. The food is great and the restaurant is very cosy. Thank you for the nice evening

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, Big portions!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Went here for a birthday family lunch, the Irish Stew was the best I have had! And the Mars Cheesecake was delicious, friendly staff, cosy ambience and good value for the food and drink that we had! Will definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We came here recently in business trip with collegues and we loved everything - Lovely decor, great attentive staff and most important for me, fabulous food. Each course delights and great value for money.Reservations recommended. Loved the feel of the place and how homey and welcoming' it felt.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thatch also viewed

 
Birr, County Offaly
 

Been to The Thatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thatch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.