We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Maltings

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Maltings to your Saves list
The Maltings
Castle St., Birr, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Birr
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Birr is a great spot and The Maltings provides an excellent base for a visit. Big rooms. Set back from roads so quiet. Beside lovely river. And excellent breakfast. Not really a hotel more a big guesthouse.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    12
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
26
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Situated close to Birr Castle, this B&B offered a very good location. There was a warm welcome from the lovely lady owner who offered us a cream tea as we arrived. The bedroom was clean but a little cramped. It backed onto the quiet river. There was no lift available so those more physically challenged may find some difficulty. Our night was disrupted by a group of very noisy residents who apparently brought in extra guests. The owner was extremely annoyed and very apologetic to us about this the next morning. There was a great choice of food for breakfast which was served quickly and well-presented. The noisy, uninvited 'guests' seemed to be a one-off and this apart we would recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed in Birr on the recommendation of TA on our way from Clifden to Dublin . The guesthouse is in a quiet location but close to walk to the shops. The Maltings is a lovely old building renovated to a very comfortable level. The rooms are big, as is the bathroom. Nice and clean throughout. Our hosts were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We walked into town and had lunch at Emma's cafe which was fabulous. We then spent the afternoon in the gardens at Birr castle which was also great. We ended up buying a bottle of wine and some cheese and bikkies and sat out on the deck at the malting in the late afternoon. I would certainly recommend The Maltings for a nice break.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I've stayed here twice and absolutely loved it on both occasions. It is well run, very hospitable and the rooms are spotless and spacious. I was delighted with the warm welcome, tasty breakfast and wonderful location in Birr town. There's a peaceful river running past right outside the dining room window, beautiful!

Room Tip: Ask for a room where the window overlooks the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I confess I never heard of Birr before. Like many of Ireland's pretty small towns, it suffers from the fact that traffic goes right through it. The imposing converted Guinness Maltings however, just off the main streets, are amazingly quiet. We arrived fairly late, about 8 PM, and were lucky to find vacancies. The friendly lady spontaneously gave us keys to choose a room before booking. We had a big and very comfortable, impeccably clean ensuite room (in fact a family room, double with an extra bed) on the first floor right above the idyllic river Camcor; the water was the only thing we heard at night. Full Irish breakfast was served in a veranda overlooking the river. We paid 70 €, probably the best price-quality ratio imaginable. The only minor problem was there was no adequate reading light in the sitting area. When you travel to Ireland's West with the Rosslare ferry, this definitely is the ideal stop; also for visiting Clonmacnoise. Thanks to the lady's advice, we could have a late and pleasant dinner at the pub of the nearby County Arms Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Grove, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My friend and I stayed one night in April at The Maltings. We were greeted with warm and friendly hospitality, which included tea and delicious homemade scones and jam. Our room was quiet, spacious and clean. The guest house has been beautifully restored and we enjoyed learning of its history. Breakfast was exceptional and the dining area sits right on the River Camcor, providing a beautiful and restful setting. The Maltings is located next to the Birr Castle and we spent the day walking through the castle's extraordinary gardens. We highly recommend The Maltings to anyone who is considering staying in Birr.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were really pleased with the Maltings. It's a cute building in a picturesque location, and the welcome is very warm. Maeve greeted us with coffee and fresh scones when we arrived, and offered a filling, delicious breakfast in the morning. Unfortunately, the Maltings suffers from being in Birr, which did not make a very positive impression. The river is very pretty, but the town seemed kind of empty, and we were really surprised to find that on a Friday night at 19:30 we had trouble finding a place to have dinner! (Note: We might not have gotten the best impression of Birr; we were just passing through.) So I heartily recommend the Maltings itself, but you might want to think about how much time you want to invest in the rest of Birr.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Maltings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maltings

Address: Castle St., Birr, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Birr
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Birr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Maltings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maltings Hotel Birr

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maltings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.