We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aaron House- Look No Further” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aaron House

Aaron House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Birr
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aaron House
Save
You added Aaron House to your Saves list
Kinnitty | Kinnitty, Birr, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Birr B&B and Inns
Williamsburg, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Aaron House- Look No Further”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

Aaron House has fine rooms and great food but the reason to stay here is the incomparable service of Betty and her husband Michael. Our car broke down on the way to Aaron House. Betty drove to get us and met us with hugs. Michael later drove us out to dinner and loaned us a cell phone to call for a ride back. Meanwhile, all that Saturday night and Sunday morning, Betty and Michael were trying to figure out where on a weekend to find us new tires and someone to repair the bent wheel (Thrifty rental was no help). On Sunday morning, Michael found a tire wholesaler who opened his store to sell the tire we needed, and Michael then waited outside the town church to track down another man who he knew had the equipment to mount the tire and repair the wheel. He paid both people out of his pocket first and insisted on mounting the repaired tire himself. Also, they loaned us a phone for calls we needed to make and accepted no money for the calls.
Betty and Michael represent the absolute finest in Irish hospitality and I would recommend that if your travels take you within 100 miles of Aaron House that you treat yourselves to their company- it will be the highlight of your visit.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
18
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

The rooms were very large, clean and the showers had good water pressure. Betty is an absolute delight and the house is wonderful. What a treat after a long day of driving. Beds are large and comfortable, breakfast was cooked nicely. It is amazing more people have not posted reviews on TripAdvisor for this house, this is one of the best places we stayed in our entire trip! If your trip takes you to Birr or Kinnitty you really won't be able to find a better place to stay in this price range than the Aaron House.

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2009

This B&B was absolutely amazing. The kindness of Betty Grimes and her family was so much more than my seven friends and I expected. Not only was the house itself clean, inviting, cute, and perfect for a relaxing stay, but the hospitality of its owners far surpassed our expectations. We stayed a mere two nights but by the end, we found it hard to leave. At least without a warm hug from Betty and doing what we could to show our gratitude. I would recommend this B&B to anyone and everyone. A great value for an amazing time!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewarrina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

Aaron House Guest House
My husband ,myself and three friends spent two weeks at Aaron House during the World Titles of Down the Line Shooting. I can not speak highly enough of Betty & Michael Grimes and their family. The hospitality was excellent with every whim catered for from food to information to services. The rooms were spacious and clean and well maintained.

  • Liked — Hospitality / Location / Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

Just back from a couple of days attending a wedding in the castle @ Kinnity.

Hit gold with this B&B. Rooms were large clean and in excellent order.
Betty the owner was brilliant. Never intruding but always there to refill the coffee or to provide more toast when needed. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2008

We were looking around for a B&B near to Birr, Co Offaly and just chanced by Aaron House in Kinnitty. What a fabulous find! It is by far the best B&B we have stayed in and will definatley be back. Large clean rooms, everything we needed to make it a very comfortable stay. Beer, tea, coffee and soft drinks were available in the guests private lounge, the beer even being kept cold in a small fridge. The host, Betty and her husband were very welcoming and accomodating and even let us leave our trailer there for the day after we had checked out so that we could tour around during the day. The breakfast was excellant, again everything you could want and more and all beautifully presented.

  • Liked — The rooms were fantastic and the welcome second to none.
  • Disliked — Nothing - it was all great!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aaron House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron House

Address: Kinnitty | Kinnitty, Birr, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Birr
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Birr
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aaron House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.