We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous and Fun Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilbrogan House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bandon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilbrogan House
Save
You added Kilbrogan House to your Saves list
Kilbrogan Hill, Bandon, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Bandon B&B and Inns
New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Gorgeous and Fun Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We had a fantastic quick stay at Kilbrogan House in July 2011.

It is a lovingly restored old mansion, with beautiful historic details and all the comforts you could desire. This was the neatest building! We had fun exploring the rooms and hearing about how they renovated it.

Our hosts were personable, helpful, and very good cooks! They also accommodated our very late arrival, which was extremely generous.

Pros:
- We stayed in the rooms on the top floor, which were comfortable, quiet and spacious
- Huge bathtub and great shower
- Delicious breakfast with a lot of different options
- Catherine was quick to help us plan our routes in the area and tell us the history of the house
- Great jumping off point for exploring the area.
- Ample parking in lot
- Resident dog is very quiet and laidback

For exploring Kinsale and other nearby towns, this is a great option!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
14
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harwinton, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Four of us picked this old B&B in Bandon because it was close to Cork and Kinsale.
The house was built in 1818 with large bedrooms and baths and luxury linens.
Very comfortable with a large parlor to relax. Catherine Fitzmaurice the proprietor
was a wonderful host and an engaging conversationalist. Bandon is not big tourist
attraction but the Kilbrogan House is a good choice.

Room Tip: e-mail Catherine early and ask for the third floos
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

I stayed here while working in Bandon briefly. I thought the room was beautiful and the entire house itself was very impressive. The breakfast was lovely. I got greeted by a lovely dog who was very friendly. That may be the only thing that might put one or two people off but I definitely think it added to the charm of the place. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

As a business traveller I tend to go for the Hotel Chains as you know what to expect. So it was a pleasure to find that Kilbrogan House gave me all the things I expect to find in a Chain Hotel, TV, Tea making facilities, En Suite Bathroom etc but add old world charm terifffic hospatility and truly wonderful breakfast and this was way beyond anything a Chain Hotel could possibly hope to offer.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

I have stayed here regularly for several months and it is a joy. Catherine and David are charming and friendly. They are very welcoming from the moment you phone or email. They respond promptly and efficiently. Kilbrogan House is a short 5 minute walk into the town of Bandon and so is perfectly located.
The rooms in the main house are all very comfortable with great beds and sumptuous linen. All is clean and a good night's sleep is guaranteed.
The breakfasts are great, a good choice and well presented by David.
There are also some self-catering units at the back of the main house if you want a little more independence and the chance to cook for yourself. Why miss the breakfasts though!
You will not be disappointed to book Kilbrogan House.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

Took my mum to stay here last weekend , had seen reviews on trip advisor and boy it didn't disappoint. A lovely resorted Georgian house with lovely views of the garden and old worldly rooms.. Catherine and her husband were utterly charming , very welcoming . Loved the individuality of the rooms and the lovely white bed linen.. Breakfast was delicious and cooked to perfection with fresh homemade brown bread .. WIll definitely be staying here again some time soon I hope..

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

This house is in town but benefits from the peace and quiet of a large and beautifully kept walled garden. Bedrooms and the several lounges are all first class. Catherine is a wonderful hostess with information on where to eat, where to go and what to do, always at her finger tips. David's breakfasts, cooked to order, are delicious.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kilbrogan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilbrogan House

Address: Kilbrogan Hill, Bandon, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bandon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast and Self Catering (Holiday Rental) guest accommodation in an elegant historic townhouse built in 1818 in Bandon, County Cork, South West Ireland. Situated 16 miles from Cork Airport, it is an ideal base for touring the South West. Kinsale, Bantry, Clonakilty and the Blarney Stone are within 20 minutes drive. 5 minute walk to Bandon town centre where there are restaurants, pubs and shops. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilbrogan House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.