We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Poachers Inn

The Poachers Inn
Clonakilty Road, Bandon, Ireland
023 88 41159
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Bandon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Recently went to a craft beer and food tasting event at tha Poachers in Bando. Food was just brilliant. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    43
    13
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

4 of us ate here by pure chance and we were all blown away. Chicken is usually a bland choice but I liked the description in the menu so I went for it. The chicken, the potatoes and vegetables were absolutely fantastic. The customer service was also great, friendly and no problem in getting their attention. I can't wait to go back to Bandon just to go there

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Very nice but not eceptional”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Visited here when in the area on a long weekend from London.

I think we were impressed on arrival by all the signs outside saying how many organisations recommend the place, perhaps less is more and a lesson to be learnt is that somewhere that has only one or two plaques is better. Perhaps they do protest too much about how good they are.

The interior was average and not sure if it was a pub or a restaurant. People were sat at the bar drinking whilst they staff tried to make some sense of formality to the tabled area.

The food was slightly above average, and well presented. I would recommend the chowder although the fish and chips were slightly greasy. The ice cream had crystalised and was almost inedible.

It was very overpriced fro what you got and hence perhaps the reason for the average review. Sorry haven eaten in a number of Michelin star establishments I cannot see how this place was event recommended. Suggest sticking to what you do well - good quality food but at more reasonable prices.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We have just enjoyed great meal at poachers.Standard is excellent ,warm friendly service ,great mix of families with teens , well behaved toddlers couples and groups.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exactly why have I driven past this place 1000 times?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Family of four, kids have properly yummy soup and lovely bread. Adults had a tapas of seafood that included crab gratin, a bisque shot, great calamari and one solitary delish langoustine.

This place is a cut above others in west cork.... Don't drive by!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Poachers Inn also viewed

Bandon, County Cork
Bandon, County Cork
 
 

Been to The Poachers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Poachers Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.