We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to drink and hear bangin' choons all night, this is your place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtmacsherry Hotel

Courtmacsherry Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bandon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Courtmacsherry Hotel
Save
You added Courtmacsherry Hotel to your Saves list
Court Macsherry, Bandon, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bandon
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“If you want to drink and hear bangin' choons all night, this is your place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here with my partner and our two kids on Friday July 19th. Rooms fine - basic but clean. No fridge or freezer, which was a pity considering the heat. We were on top floor, facing the garden and the sea. Disconcerted to see a sound system directly outside the hotel in the late afternoon.

And we were right to be. Music and associated carousing went on until about 2.30am, with plenty additional yelling going on for some time after. Not what you'd call restful.

The staff of the hotel are great, the view is gorgeous, the rooms are fine, but probably not the choice for a family break.

Room Tip: Front of hotel has great view. Back of hotel may have better sleep conditions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed in a 1970's room on July 12th. The whole place is a Butlins site. Our room was above the bar and with a sea view . The noise was intolerable, children's disco from early evening till 10, adults from 10 to 2am. The place was the worst hotel I have stayed in in 30 years.

In the summer school holidays Cork families use the place as a kintergarden. It is dreadful for adults.

Room Tip: Do not even contemplate going here in summer. Kiddies parties every day/ ancient bathrooms, just all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night only luckily. The hotel is old and the bedrooms really need some work. The curtains were see through - no hope of a lie in here. The food in the hotel is supposed to be nice but I was refused breakfast as I was 5 mins late. At €90 for the night, there is better value to be had elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I've stayed in Courtmacsherry Hotel twice now, first time was New Year's eve, and second was last weekend (June). We were two big groups each time and both stays were amazing. I've never met friendlier or more accommodating staff, and Billy and Ellen made us feel like we were family coming home for the weekend. Set in an idyllic setting, we went horse-riding, had an amazing BBQ and went to the beach (right outside the hotel) - and let's not forget the disco til the wee hours - so much fun!!. I CANNOT RECOMMEND COURTMAC HOTEL HIGHLY ENOUGH!!!!! We will be back....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork Ireland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stumbled upon here on St.Patricks Day just before the parade kicked off and were lucky enough tp get a seat by the large open fire.The food served in the bar was delicious and the service friendly and attentive.The whole town seemed to gather around the hotel before the parade commenced which only added to the atmosphere.Such a beautiful location right by the water we cant wait to return.At your service D & T.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This hotel is very old world and a million miles from the new modern hotels that are everywhere in ireland now. Its just fine, no pretense at all, but a good stop off all the same. the village is lovely with smashing pubs and lovely walks nearby. everything here goes at a slower pace and the golden pheasant coffee shop is lovely oasis to relax in. Village is busy in august but quiet the rest of the time. The resturant and bar food is fine, but not top notch, good pizzas in bar. Service is great and resturant steak is the best thing on menu, its really good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndmoor, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My partner and three of my sisters stayed here overnight while touring Ireland and were very glad we did. The food was wonderful--best brown bread we had the whole trip--and the setting was beautiful. Staff were just terrific, too (shout-out to Jerry). Our room had a stunning view and tons of dresser drawers. This would be a great place to stay for a week and settle in. Apparently there's lots of fishing, horseback riding, etc available and you could count on the staff to steer you right. It's an old building with a lot of character. We would have loved to sit in the residents' lounge reading books and hanging out--perhaps on a future visit! For history buffs, the lifeboats here helped out when the Lusitania was torpedoed in 1915, and polar explorer Patrick Keohane was from the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtmacsherry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtmacsherry Hotel

Address: Court Macsherry, Bandon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bandon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bandon
Number of rooms: 18

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtmacsherry Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.