We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel & Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilcooly's Country House

Kilcooly's Country House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kilcooly's Country House to your Saves list
Kilcooly's Country House
Main Street, Ballybunion, Ireland (Formerly Iragh Ti Connor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Ballybunion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel & Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Our group had a great experience at Kilcooly's. Very clean and with ample space for double occupancy. Inviting bar/restaurant. Great service and very accomodating to our large group. Highly recommend for golf groups!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    12
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
10
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed with 17 other golfers from America for 3 nights. The staff was excellent greeting us as we came and went and helping with any issues we may have had. The food in the morning was wonderful as was the late night pub in the hotel. The rooms were spacious and more than met our needs, I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We spent three nights in Kilcooley's on our last trip to Ireland and I can't speak highly enough about it. After a busy day of touring it was the perfect place to come back and unwind with a few drinks in the bar and some AMAZING food in the restaurant. The rooms are lovely and the staff could not be more helpful. They bent over backwards to help is make the most of our visit. Owner's John and Joan were wonderful, warm people. It was like staying with friends--we almost hated to leave and will definitely be back our next trip!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I just want to say what a wonderful weekend I had in this idyllic spot. It's located on the main street and just 5 minutes walk from the beach. The rooms were lovely, and after a long walk on the beach a power shower was just what was needed. The food was lovely, and I can highly recommend the prawn linguine. The service was great and the staff were welcoming and helpful. I would highly recommend a stay in Kilcooly's.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We spent a lovely weekend in Kilcooly's on a recent trip to Ballybunion. Our room was spacious, spotless and very comfortable. We found the staff and other guests very friendly. Overall the atmosphere was perfect for relaxing and "getting away from it all".
The hotel was well located for checking out the local shops and pubs and was the perfect place to return to after a bracing(!) walk along the cliffs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sylvania, oh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We just attended my father's funeral. The hotel's in Ballybunion were closed for the season. This one opened up for us. The decor is upscale with wonderful woodwork and furniture and fluffy dressing gowns in the armoire's. The service is fantastic, they were completely unprepared for guests and they bent over backwards to deliver messages and open up rooms and completely looked after us. They served the funeral luncheon in a spacious, yet old fashioned, dining room. Everything was so elegant and yet not too formal. The bar is just as you might imagine from movies of Ireland. Great place to stay - Real people.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Thank you very much too all the staff at kilcooly country house. We had a fantastic time. This very friendly and spacious hotel made our weekend.. A special thanks to the chef whom I think is called Danny ( as the staff told me) as he treated us to hearty and delightfull meal... Setting is fab. What's more is the fact that you were so friendly yet professionalism shone throughout our visit.. A big thank you to all and will recommend it to anyone

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kilcooly's Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilcooly's Country House

Address: Main Street, Ballybunion, Ireland (Formerly Iragh Ti Connor)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Ballybunion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilcooly's Country House, formerly known as Iragh Ti Connor. John &; Joan O'Connor invite you to relax in their luxury country house. The 19th-century building has recently been refurbished to the highest standard with all modern conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kilcooly's Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilcooly's Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.