We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at the 19th Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The 19th Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The 19th Lodge to your Saves list
The 19th Lodge
Golf Links Rd, Ballybunion, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Ballybunion B&B and Inns
slane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Staying at the 19th Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We played golf in Ballybunion and stayed at the 19th Lodge.(2 minutes away)
The room and breakfast were beautiful.
Mary and James(the owners) could not do enough for us. This is our 3rd stay there.
We will be back.
Eddie and Breda

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    24
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
155
196
23
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Had a great time here! Mary and James were wonderful. Made us a delicious breakfast and gave us a great recommendation for dinner. Very clean rooms. Great Internet service. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stopped at the 19th Lodge last week for a night. This was a return visit, as we had stayed with Mary and James' over twenty years ago when they were just starting. The room, breakfast and service were excellent and the location for golfers is the best. Great to see Mary and James have made such a success of the Lodge!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tipperary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Chatting to Mary on the phone we were looking for somwhere nice and spacious to stay.Our eldest boy Eric was goin to Ballybunion to play golf with the Kerry boys. Mary and her Husband James were so nice on the phone.When we arrived on Monday the 12th of Aug,Mary was at reception to greet us a very pleasant lady and her Husband Jim was so down to earth ,Our rooms were fabulous all mod cons, air conditioned powered showers. The beds were the best ive seen.I worked ina hotel for 9yrs and there would not hotel room touch in with the standard. The Breakfast was very nice each morning and the presentation was excellent,Mary you are a great cook and Jim u are a great waiter.We really enjoyed our stay with Mary and Jim and we would go back again tomorrow if we could.Mary and Jim you are both real sweethearts and keep up the great work you have a great business and you deserve it your great. Thanks for everything. Enjoy your wedding in December. All the best, The Grogans.

Room Tip: Just phone Mary and she will sort everyting out for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hi all,
I stayed in this BnD last Friday night 9th August 2013. After a 3 hour journey I was tired and ready for bed. I was greeted by James and Mary and made to feel very welcome.
My room was spacious and clean. The shower in the morning was the best I have had in Ireland by a mile. Great power which knocked the previous nights journey out of my back! As a result I swung the club amazingly well on BallyB in the afternoon. I will be back next time im due to play Bally B for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

After a long day on the road from Galway, Mary and James greeted us warmly and served us drinks in our room with a view overlooking Ballybunion Golf Course. Perfect room with large comfortable bed. Quiet and serene location. Mary offered and booked us a window table at The Cliff House restaurant. A nice cooked to order breakfast got us off to a lovely day of golf. Very good value. What more could you want?

Room Tip: We had the room next to the Tom Watson suite. Great view of the golf course and an open field.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Had a lovely bank holiday stay in the 19th Lodge. Clean and comfortable room with power shower, tasty breakfast and warm hospitality - perfect accompaniments to a day at the beach. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The 19th Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 19th Lodge

Address: Golf Links Rd, Ballybunion, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Ballybunion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 19th Lodge is a Golfers’ Paradise. This Luxurious 4 Star boutique-style guest house enjoys an enviable location directly opposite Ballybunion Links and is home to one of the great names in golf, Mr. Tom Watson, when in town. Guaranteed tee times at Ballybunion for residents. Jacuzzi tubs and power-assisted showers to a dedicated computer for guests' needs with wireless access throughout. Residents' lounge + wine bar + golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The 19th Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
19th Hotel Ballybunion
The 19th Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The 19th Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.