We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place for a Golfing Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cashen Course House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cashen Course House to your Saves list
Cashen Course House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Golf Links, Ballybunion, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 22 Ballybunion B&B and Inns
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A Great Place for a Golfing Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I spent three nights with my son at the Cashen Course House. Rooms were perfect for the trip. Nicely appointed, clean, and spacious. Bathrooms were spotless as well.

When we arrived, we needed to do laundry. No problem. Nice honor bar for beer in the living room and a wonderful breakfast. John was welcoming, and upon our return, The Cashen Course House is located across from the Cashen Course at Ballybunion, and is less than a half mile from the clubhouse and practice facility. 9pm practice sessions at the range were a staple.

I would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We are not golfers, but sailors who love the ocean. We have stayed at dozens of B&B's, and this was absolutely the best ever for facilities, service and price. Our room and bath were spacious and phenomenal--luxurious bed and linens, huge windows, whirlpool tub and tiled shower. The common areas are elegant. John and Deirdre are so gracious and breakfasts are made-to-order terrific. The location is serene and peaceful, and you are so close to the beautiful beaches of Ballybunion. Can't imagine a better place to settle into while you explore County Kerry.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We went here so my husband could play golf at the famed Ballybunion golf course. Cashen House was right across the street and down the road. The owners made all his golf reservations and even put it on our room bill which just made things easier. The Cashen House is beautiful. Our room was huge and bright. The bathroom was the same with a lovely jacuzzi tub along with a shower. Their dining room features pictures of celebrities who played the course and the decor was perfect. Breakfast was pretty much whatever you wanted and tons of it! They could not have been more accommodating! It was just luxury for a great price. Make sure to take the scenic walk along the beaches--just beautiful!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Two of us on a golf trip through Ireland stayed at the Cashen House for a couple nights. The hospitality was exceptional and the rooms were spacious, clean and practical. We got great recommendations for dinners, and the breakfast was very, very good. Perfect location for Ballybunion golf club and the town as well. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We booked the superior room with spa (#7)...room and ensuite were huge..certainly achieved the 'wow factor'. Great value for money. Bed comfortable and room very clean. A great place to stay for golfers as it's within walking distance to the club house. The staff were friendly and obliging. Easy parking. Wi fi connection available but not strong – laptop ok, iPad didn’t connect. Wouldn't hesitate to book this B&B again - well worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewJersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2008

I recently vacationed in Ireland with my husband and our two adult sons. The highlight of our trip was playing golf at the famed Ballybunion Golf Course. Since the town is so small I wasn't expecting much in terms of luxurious accommodations. Boy was I surprised! The Cashen Course House is magnificent!!! It's located directly across a tiny lane from the golf course, a very short stroll to a spectacular beach and a mere stretch of the legs to the tiny town itself which is as cute as can be. Our beautifully appointed rooms were huge, I'm guessing at least 18 feet by 30 feet, with two queen beds, a desk and a sitting area with a comfy leather couch. The very large bathroom was beautifully tiled and luxurious. The property seems to be only a year or two old and is spotless. The owners, John and Deidre and their children, were very welcoming and helpful. And it 's very reasonably priced. And all of this is surrounded by some of the most spectacular landscape we've ever seen! You will love it!

  • Liked — Beautiful location/ comfortable inn
  • Disliked — Loved it all
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2008

This was our second trip to Ballybunion, and I was disappointed that our first choice guesthouse (Teach de Broc, where we'd stayed previously) was full. I didn't think TdB could be topped, but I was about to be pleasantly surprised.
Cashen Course House is a large, sprawling detached house, with a great big driveway in front of it, separated only by a tiny little dead-end road, from the magnificent Cashen Course at Ballybunion Golf Club. However, the size of the house from the outside could not prepare me for the massive room we were shown to. It had a double bed, and 2 other single beds, and the bathroom had a large shower cubicle with power shower, 2-person jacuzzi tub and 2 sinks as well.
Deirdre was a very welcoming host, and my 11-month-old daughter had a splendid time playing with her.
Breakfast is served from 6am, and the buffet table had a good spread of what you'd expect: cereals, fruit, irish bread, cheese etc. Hot service is also offered, with a choice of irish fry-up, pancakes, french toast, and some others, all served in big quantities.
I was happy to discover that the beds were comfortable, being firm with good firm pillows as well, none of that crappy, about-to-die flat and empty kind you frequently find fobbed onto you on your travels.
The bathroom was also well stocked with shampoo, lotion, soap, cotton buds and balls, something I don't even find in luxury hotels, let alone a guesthouse.
Maybe the only thing I could have done with was a tea caddy, where I could have boiled my own water/tea.

  • Liked — The massive room
  • Disliked — No tea making facility within the room
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cashen Course House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cashen Course House

Address: Golf Links, Ballybunion, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Ballybunion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cashen Course House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run guesthouse overlooking Ballybunion's famous golf course, boasting spectacular views of the golf links, Cashen River and surrounding countryside. Tee times can be arranged for Ballybunion and local golf courses. Relax and unwind on a walk of Ballybunion's beautiful sandy beaches. We have 12 spacious bedrooms including suites with jacuzzi baths, a large comfortable lounge with baby grand piano and minibar and beautiful dining room. Perfect getaway location for groups, couples or families. Ample parking available for buses and cars, a stone's throw from the clubhouse and a short stroll into town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cashen Course House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cashen Course House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.