We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chocolate Cake Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mixing Bowl

The Mixing Bowl
Main Street | Unit 2, Supervalu Shopping Centre, Ballybunion, Ireland
+(353)863809266
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 10 restaurants in Ballybunion
Cuisines: Bakery, Irish, Contemporary, Café, Tea Room
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Chocolate Cake Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just had the best chocolate cake ever in The Mixing Bowl.

Very friendly staff and a good cup of tea. Just the ticket after a brisk walk around the cliffs.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    34
    2
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous home made cakes!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Great place for a cup of tea and home made cakes. Lots of extra touches makes the place that extra bit special.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Just what Ballybunion needed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Mixing Bowl is a new cake shop/cafe situated in the Super Valu Shopping Centre in Ballybunion. There is a great car park on site. The Mixing Bowl is a bright cheery welcoming place, where the proprietor Aine and her staff are ready to please. The Mixing Bowl serves only food baked/cooked on the premises, using only quality ingredients and no microwaves allowed. There is a relaxed friendly atmosphere in the place and everything tastes fresh and wholesome. During our stay in Ballybunion, we became regulars for the great coffee that they serve. We also enjoyed both the savoury and sweet temptations on offer. The many locals recommending and frequenting The Mixing Bowl, will surely ensure the success of this 'little gem'. So many people we met assured us that The Mixing Bowl is just what Ballybunion needed. We thoroughly agree!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Mixing Bowl - Ballybunion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Mixing Bowl is a little jewel located in the beautiful seaside town of Ballybunion, Co. Kerry. The delicious food is prepared on the premises using only "Fresh Irish Ingredients". The choice is so wide and appealing it is really difficult to make up your mind what to choose. Then when you are well satisfied choice and enjoyed the ambiance of your surroundings, you can also take home some of the divine cupcakes, coffee cake and lots of other goodies to enjoy at home. Service is quick and efficient and staff are very pleasant. In fact, it is service with a smile and every individual's needs are met. The decor is fantastic, bright and cheerful with mind-boggling displays of food.

The Mixing Bowl is a must for any visitor to Ballybunion and you will not be disappointed. Well done to all concerned with this lovely enterprise.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tasty goodness in Ballybunion.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Spotted the The Mixing Bowl Cafe when I parked up in Super Valu Car Park today. My mum and I were delighted with the friendly welcome and relaxing atmosphere on arrival. Great food all homemade on the premises. We paricularly enjoyed the rocky roads and red velvet cake. Definitely worth a visit if in Ballybunion.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mixing Bowl also viewed

 

Been to The Mixing Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mixing Bowl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.