We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked online - Viewed personally - Left immediately” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cliff House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cliff House Hotel to your Saves list
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff Road, Ballybunion, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballybunion
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Booked online - Viewed personally - Left immediately”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We booked that hotel online as the photos and assesments looked well.

Once we arrived: There is no hotel specific parking space. So you need to be very lucky to get one, as the closeby beach with their visitors occupy anything available.

Once we entered the hotel lobby: There is a fat filled air that welcomes you, originating from the kitchen and pub/restaurant. The lobby is not really a lobby.

Once we received the keys: We decided first to take a look at the room. The pictures from the owner are not really showing the condition of this place. The bath room had no window and so the fungus et al takes its toll. The beds had seen better days as well. Most anyoing: the carpets, and you don't want to know what's living in there.The balcony had seen no maintenance for a while. Gras is grwoing in where possible, and you have the road right in from of your balcony. Yes, you can see the beach. But do you also need the noise from people down there and the cars passing by? We defenitely not.

Once we been back to the lobby: We decided not to sleep here. The lady on the reception had no clues what to due and insisted on the full price. So we asked for the manager(in), and she told us a strange story about the commission she had to pay for the online booking company, and if we pay 50 Euro, we are done. So we did and left this place as quick as possible and promised never to come back to this miserable place.

BTW: The town isn't worth a trip. It has the charme of on English style beach village from the 70ths with lots of casino and kid entertainment on the main road, to park the kids when the parents doing something different or whatever. Also - it's hard to find a reasonable restaurant in that town.

Dear traveller: If you are not up for golf - you better miss this place at all.

BTW2: The restaurant at the golf club is very lousy. Beliefe me - My family owned and operated a hotel & restaurant. So I know what I am writing about.

BTW3: Sorry, I missed to took some pictures of this plae. I was so shocked and looked at my wife shaking her head that we head over heels left it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor, I am sorry that you did not like Ballybunion, it is indeed a pity as the town has loads to offer, the two beautiful blue flag beaches , the two green schools, newly refurbished 150 year old church, stunning cliff walks, the traditional seaweed baths, Surfing, bike riding, heritage walks, flora & fauna walks, the newly built leisure center , a theater and of course the famous golf course.

Ballybunion is family friendly seaside resort with all the facilities one would need to enjoy a break away, the locals are extremely friendly and very accommodating, we have some great restaurants and bar's with live music most nights, I am disappointed for you that you did not allow yourself the time to experience what Ballybunion was really all about.

I meet with you when you viewed your Balcony room and did not like it because it looked onto the road that runs between the beach and the hotel.

Last minute Canceled rooms are normally charged full price, I charged you less that half for yours.

The Cliff House Hotel is a small family run business with a great restaurant, that has a very good reputation for good food and excellent service, the "fat filled air " you referred was the wonderful aroma of good fresh local produce being prepared for by our team of chef's who are highly offended by your unjust comments.

Once again, I am sorry that you did not give Ballybunion or the Cliff House a change to add something very special to your holiday.

Yours Sincerely,

Mrs Fiona O Callaghan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    24
    7
    4
    7
See reviews for
23
17
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ballybunion, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Our favourite place in Ballybunion so much so that we held our wedding here, Fiona and Kevin made not just our day but the whole weekend so very special, Fiona worked tirelessly to make it a dream day for us, the meal was just perfect, absolutely gorgeous. Our guests just loved it and still talk about it. The location is just perfect, fabulous views, beside the beach and the Cliff walk, great food, beautiful rooms overlooking the beach with amazing sunsets. The staff are so friendly and helpful, a real family run, exceptional hotel, a little gem. You wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room a balcony room overlooking the beach and enjoy the beautiful sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Kat & Joe,

Thank you so much for your lovely write up on trip advisor, Kevin & I loved looking after you on your special day, mind you though it only seems like yesterday !

We have posted your wonderful write up on the staff notice Bord to remind the staff how great they are and how they are what makes the Cliff House so special ! so thank you for that !

Kindest Regards.

Yours Sincerely,


Mrs Fiona O Callaghan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

For over 10 years our golf group has enjoyed staying with Kevin and Fiona at the Cliff House. Wonderful service, food and clean rooms. Great hot showers after a long day on the course in typical wet, cold and windy Irish weather. The staff is always ready to help with any and all requests.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.ireland.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This house is proprietor run with four star quality, amazing views. The menu and reputation for excellent food is Legendary! Slight blip..incorrect photo.. Outside pic on T.A. shows the great Older Attic guest house on upper Main Street..great location but Cliff House is located over the Beach. It is absolutely Amazing and ity`s reputation is infamous... Excellent, classic and solo comfortably arranged bedrooms with Balconies..spotless hotel where both owners and staff have a smile for everybody! They run a consistently excellent hotel, restaurant and bar.!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night as my friends' wedding reception was on in the hotel. Everything down to the last detail was just perfect. I would highly recommend the Cliff House Hotel as a wedding reception venue. It was just lovely. The hotel is the sister hotel of the Listowel Arms Hotel where the civil ceremony was held - again every little detail was just perfect. Not that we spent much time there but our room was spacious with a view overlooking the entrance which was ideal as we could see the bride and groom arriving from our window and this gave us the right amount of time to head downstairs to greet them on their way in. Ballybunion is a lovely beach location and we got to enjoy a walk along the beach the next day. Again I highly recommend this hotel as a wedding location. We will be back:)

Room Tip: Request a room with a sea view. The hotel faces the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

A party of four of us stayed in the Cliff House for a couple of nights during a golfing trip to the south west. We all really enjoyed the Cliff House and the wonderful hospitality provided by Kevin, Fiona and the team. The rooms we had were comfortable and clean with great sea views but the real highlight was the warmth of the welcome, the great food and the unbelievable service ; nothing was too much trouble with Fiona, in particular, readily offering to make bookings, check times and adapt the menu in their fine restaurant to meet the varying requests of our party! Kevin's wine expertise was also well appreciated ... We'll be back for sure

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We recently stayed at the Cliff House for 2 nights with our 2 small boys and had a wonderful experience!! From the greeting on arrival by Fiona (who insisted on helping with our luggage!!) to all staff we encountered in the bar, restaurant and on reception, nothing was too much trouble. The staff were welcoming, pleasant and showed a genuine interest in ensuring that we enjoyed our stay. We sat in the restaurant in the morning looking out onto the beautiful Ladies Beach which would bring a smile to anyone's face. The rooms are comfortable and have all the necessary facilities. We will definitely return in the future and keep up the good work xx
Deirdre Hayes McCann

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cliff House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff House Hotel

Address: Cliff Road, Ballybunion, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballybunion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cliff House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Ballybunion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliff House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.