We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Promenade Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballybunion
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Promenade Hotel
Save
You added The Promenade Hotel to your Saves list
Sandhill Road, Ballybunion, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 21 Ballybunion B&B and Inns
Cork
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

I visited the promenade hotel with my husband last Saturday night! We were supposed to stay in the golf hotel, but the golf was very busy so we stayed in the promenade. The hotel, the staff, the food and the atmosphere was fab!! A very nice girl Siobhan gave us breakfast in the morning, she was very helpful!!! Looking forward to my next visit!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    5
    0
    2
    5
See reviews for
9
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed for one night, stayed in a room facing out the back of hotel. hotel was lovely, staff were very helpful and very friendly. Room was very clean. Had nice decor. Food was lovely n well presented. Can't fault this hotel. Would defo like to stay here again in the future.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for two nights with my partner and our 2 year old daughter. We stayed in room number 11 and I don't think I have ever stayed in a hotel room with such an amazing view. All staff were very helpful and even the chef came to our table for feedback on our meal. Don't think that has ever happened to me before. The food was beautiful and our daughter who is normally a fussy eater enjoyed it. €10 kids menu very well priced. This hotel is family friendly and the staff really made us feel welcome. Looking forward to staying again in the future.
Thanks pat and staff!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Firstly we did not book this hotel, we booked the Golf Hotel however either through overbooking or the fact that we were a family and there was a rock Band playing the weekend we got moved to this hotel which is a stones throw from Main Street.

We got room number 11 which had the best view of the castle the sea and the ladies beach, in all my time going to Ballybunion I enjoyed this stay the most for the view alone.

Rooms are basic but comfortable, clean and warm. TV is limited to 4 channels shower is good.

We stayed 2 nights, Breckfast on both mornings was excellent, reasonable selection of cereals, fruit, yougurts for kids.

We had dinner on the Friday night, we were the only 3 for dinner,early season, however that did not stop chef putting out 5 star food just for us, both the seabass and rack of lamb were gorgeous, house wine was reasonable. He even came out to check the food was ok and if we needed anything. Never had this before from a chef.

This is a holiday town and it is extremely quiet if weather is poor or weekdays outside of July August, however do not let that put you off coming to this B&B, I say B&B as Pat the manager looks after the place like he would his own, he is extremely attentive to customer needs he really made us feel welcome, nothing was too difficult and he is extremely professional. He even offered me a sandwich for my 6:30am rise to get to Golf course.

I would most definetly stay here again and I will be looking for room No 11.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Just back from a romantic night away with my partner. The promenade hotel is in a perfect location, right across from the amazing beach. The room we stayed in was extremely clean and we also availed of the free wifi which worked perfectly. Dinner was fabulous, the food was delicious and the service staff were really friendly. The chef also came out to the tables to check if everything was cooked to our liking which added a real personal touch. Breakfast was also lovely. I would recommend this hotel to couples as well as families. We will defo be returning and we will bring our daughter with us. Defo a hidden gem!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Located on the seafront overlooking the Atlantic Ocean this hotel has fantastic views and is lovely inside. Food was well presented and tasted delicious. Lovely friendly service and a great price. Bedrooms clean and modern. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

So disappointed. I vetted this hotel for guests to stay in as I was getting married in ballybunion, its beautiful, however One of my guests was moved into another hotel - golf hotel which is hideous, as they didnt have any staff to look after The Promenade! I had to chase the staff to get back to guests in the first place to confirm bookings! You'd think they'd want the business!!!! Stay elsewhere, like Kilkooleys which is fabulous!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Promenade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Promenade Hotel

Address: Sandhill Road, Ballybunion, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ballybunion
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to join us at The Promenade Hotel for an unforgettable and relaxing vacation at the most beautiful of settings in the famed seaside town of Ballybunion.In a world of rare beauty, facing the vast Atlantic Ocean, The Promenade Hotel welcomes families, tourists and business guests with professionalism and gracious hospitality.With its central location overlooking Ballybunion Castle and two of Ireland’s finest sandy beaches the Promenade Hotel has everything to offer you on your visit to beautiful Ballybunion. The Hotel boasts breathtaking evening sunsets and spectacular views of the sparkling Shannon Estuary. The recently renovated Promenade Hotel boasts 16 beautiful bedrooms with a contemporary chic style decor throughout. The sumptuous bed linen and the walnut furniture, enrich the ambience of each room.This style is continued in the piano bar where you can relax and enjoy a social drink while gazing out across the ocean or maybe join in a sing song with the locals. Our cosy Prom restaurant with its fine cuisine which chef has ensured has something for all tastes is a follow through from the bar area with the same tones and colours being used along with some unusual art decorating the facades.We at the Promenade Hotel would like to ensure all our guests a fantastic stay in our friendly quaint hotel on the south west coast of the Emerald Isle and hope you leave with some treasured memories of your visit and hopefully one day soon we will have the pleasure of your company again. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Promenade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.