We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best night in Ireland.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bunratty Castle Mews

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bunratty Castle Mews to your Saves list
Bunratty Castle Mews
Low Road, Bunratty, Ireland (Formerly Cecilia Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 27 Bunratty B&B and Inns
1 review
“Our best night in Ireland.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Dolores is a wonderful host and her outstanding hospitality made our stay a delight. The guesthouse is beautiful and the location is outstanding. Easily in my top 5 places to stay While in beautiful Ireland.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    33
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
75
77
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
waterford
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Dolores and Gary have a beautiful home and make you feel most welcome.Dolores has a lovely bubbly personality and I wouldnt say she sits down for a min,she seems to be on the go the whole time.My husband myself and our 13 year old son stayed for only the one night and our room was lovely and cosy breakfast nice and unfortunaly could,nt avail of her lovely grounds as we had to go early, but beautiful and tranquil grounds they are.

Finally her lovely home is only .5 mile from durty nellies where we had a fantastic evening by the way.Thank you Dolores for a lovely stay.

Ps one more thing as dolores said her and the Mother in law are the best strippers in co clare ha ha (bed strippers) I mean in case anyone gets any funny ideas.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were made so very welcome offered tea /coffee drinks on arrival.Our room was amazing,the decor simply fabulous.Delores is a welcoming person,the bed was very comfortable and
beautifully dressed,and that is very important having travelled for hours,we would recommend
it to all our friends.The breakfast was excellent,over all we would say an excellent B& B.

Room Tip: quiet and relaxing in a lovely location
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

the review by Clentgate 486 was identical to our experience, just proving that Dolores's legendary hospitality is consistent for everyone!
From the moment we arrived until the very last second we were there we really couldn't have asked for better care!! Our every need was catered for, befor we even knew what our need was!!
Our room was lovely, comfortable and spotlessly clean.
Breakfast is just amazing: huge choice of cereals, nuts, grains etc, fresh fruit, fruit salad, yogurts, cheeses, coldmeats, at least 5 types of bread, cakes, scones, pastries, biscuits, excellent full irish breakfast as well as anything else you may fancy eg omelettes, scrambled eggs etc.
we have put on at least a stone thanks to Dolores!!
We would recommend staying here to everyone at least once in your life!!
we are already planning our next trip!

Room Tip: all the rooms we saw through open doors looked great, but we loved our kingsize bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

We were made to feel so welcome. Room was great. We stayed for 5 nights and it was lovely and comfortable, clean towels every day, bed was made and bathroom cleaned. Delores could not do enough for us. We were in Bunratty for a wedding, Delores took us into the village so that we didn't have to walk. If we didn't make it to breakfast Delores was more than happy to do us brunch. B&B is minutes away from Durty Nellies pub which has great atmosphere. Looking forward to visiting again, such lovely friendly people :-). Trudi & Stephen

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed for two nights and enjoyed the warm and personal hospitality of Dolores and her husband as well as the beautiful Irish countryside. They do really take care of you and their breakfasts were fantastic. The location close to Bunratty castle and the cosy Durty Nellys pub is convenient. There are also a number of other things to do and see within easy reach.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Dolores greeted us warmly as we made it in late after a long day of driving. Over the next three days she made sure our day trips were coordinated, our breakfasts were delicious and our rooms were comfortable and welcoming on our return. Dolores even hopped into her car and gave us all a ride down to the Castle so we could grab a bite to eat and enjoy some evening fun. As the coordinator for the trip up to then, it was so relaxing to have help in making our stay enjoyable. I'm still trying to recreate the wonderful flavor of the potatoes served as part of the great Irish breakfast. If you are looking for a lovely, gracious stay near Bunratty Castle - stay at the Mews!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bunratty Castle Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunratty Castle Mews

Address: Low Road, Bunratty, Ireland (Formerly Cecilia Lodge)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bunratty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bunratty Castle Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunratty Castle Mews Hotel Bunratty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bunratty Castle Mews, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.