We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Innisfree B&B

Save Saved
You added Innisfree B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innisfree B&B
Low Road, Bunratty, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 26 Bunratty B&B and Inns
Halifax, NS Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2007

Stayed at Innis B&B June 1, 2007, it was very good. The rooms were all on the first floor so we didn't have to lug the suitcases up a stairs. The rooms were clean and they had showers in them. The breakfast was good - requests had to be put in the night before. Good location close to Bunratty Castle.

  • Liked — It was clean and attractive
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    16
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
18
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2007

Having decided to spent a few days in Bunratty before flying out from Shannon, I picked the Innisfree B&B based upon the tripadvisor ranking and reviews. Our experience was so different from earlier reviews it is hard to believe that we stayed at the same place. We were there at a holiday weekend so maybe that is the reason. Who knows. I would never stay there again and would not recommend it.

Because of the size of our party we had two rooms. The room that I shared was somewhat poky and cramped. At one time it would have been a reasonable size but adding the en suite bathroom meant that a large corner of the room was taken by our bathroom. Worse still the opposite corner of the room was carved out for the ensuite bathroom for the room next door. These arrangements lead to privacy issues - particularly when woken up at 2 am with the noise of the person next door using their bathroom. Our own bathroom had its own privacy issues in that the door was a sliding door with only a track at the top so it never completely closed. It actually pivoted at the top so it could be completely pushed out when theoretically still closed. The bathroom was quite small with little space to put anything and no hooks etc so you ended up putting things on top of the toilet tank and hoping for the best. We were given two smallish towels each day. They were rather grey and hard and not very inviting. The bathroom itself was clean.

The room itself had two beds; one double and one single. It may work for a couple with a small child but otherwise would have been very short of space for three people. The comforters on the bed were "timeworn"and not very crisp. The bedlinen was scratchy and uncomfortable. The pillows were hard and lumpy. There was not really furniture as such but rather cupboards made of formica. The wardrobe was so small that the extra pillows left at the bottom meant that there was little room to hang clothes. There was a pink velvet chair that was small and , in my opinion, rather grubby. The other room for our party was actually a little better in that its bathroom had a proper door and the room had real furniture. She thought her room was OK but nothing special. The fact that this room was a little better means that I gave Innisfree a 2 instead of a 1 rating. Our room was a 1 rating.

When we had arrived at Innisfree, we were met by Imelda's husband. He told us that there was a form to fill out for breakfast and that, if we could fill it out, it helped them be prepared. This was different from any of the other B & B's we had stayed at where you were asked in the morning what you wanted but we thought fine if that helped -- no problem. The list itself was a little limiting in that the only choice for eggs was either scrambled or fried. At all of the other B&B's I was always willingly offered a choice of poached.

The next morning on our way into breakfast we were greeted by Imelda not with an "Hello, how are you, sorry that I was not here to greet you last night" but a chastisement that one of our party had not filled out the breakfast form. The person in question was an 81 year old woman who was a bit upset by this. When we got into the dining room we found that in one corner on a small serving unit were two plastic containers with cereal. There were also prunes, apricots and raisins - still in their original containers with no serving spoons. The other items seemed to be small in quantity e.g two containers of yoghurt for the room. How different to any of the other B & B's in which we had stayed where everything was beautifully set out , very invitingly, on a nice large buffet with plenty of everything. When our breakfast arrived my scambled eggs were rubbery and grey in the middle. The fried eggs that the others had were hard. It occurred to me afterwards that perhaps the reason was that the breakfast were precooked according to your form and kept warm - hence the state of the eggs. Certainly when we had spoken to Imelda in the kitchen about the form not being filled out there were plates of food in the oven. Breakfast by the way is only served from 8 to 9 a.m. Every other B & B served from 8 to 10 with some of them expanding beyond 10 a.m. with a cold buffet.

In all other B&B's there was a seperate lounge for the guests - that was not the case here. In fact on our second day when we came back early Imelda was on the phone in the only lounge and we felt as if we were unterrupting. Contrary to our experience in other B&B's we were not offered a cup of tea. There were teamakers in the room but even so at other places we had been offered a cuppa and biscuits/cake in similar situations. Our teamaking facilities only ever had one packet of instant coffee despite the fact that there were two of us in the room. I feel that those sort of things show an attention or lack of it to detail and caring.

Much was said of Imelda's welcoming in other reviews. We did not find that. On our first morning, other than the discussion about the form not being filled out, about the only thing that she asked was if we needed anything else for breakfast. Had we have, I am not sure that we would have felt comfortable asking. One guest did ask for another scone and that seemed to be greeted with exasperation. By the third day, Imelda was a litlle chattier but nothing like those at our other B&B's. She never did call us by our names which happened within minutes at the other B & B's . She had mentioned to us that she was completely full which she said she did not like. It reminded me of a mother with a lot of kids. No great unkindness but not much personal attention. I cannot say that she seems flustered but rather gives the impression that she is busy and focused on tasks. Imelda's husband seemed either a bit flustered by having to deal the guests or in one case seemed as if he would rather not have to deal with guests' questions. One of our other least favourite aspects of Imelda's "efficiency" was that when you returned to your room after breakfast, your towels had been taken!!

The Innisfree is not within walking distance to Bunratty castle and folk park. It is probably one of the furthest B & B's from Bunratty. There is a very nice looking guest house called the Courtyard which is very close to the castle and park and were I to stay in Bunratty again I would certainly try there.

In terms of restaurants we went to Dirty Nellie's. We found out later that you can eat in the pub itself or in the restaurant. That is not obvious when you go in. One other guest told me that they had enjoyed the pub grub and I am guessing that there is a difference in pricing. Our food was good but relatively expensive. We would definitely recommend Galagher's. We had some great seafoood. Go for the early bird prix fix - I think that it runs from 5:30 to 6:30 p.m.. It is a great deal. Make sure that you make reservations though because they were turning away folks who wanted to eat early.

Because B&B's vary, rating them is tricky in that there are so many factors. A less than optimal setting may be offset by a particularly cheerful owner or maybe very reasonable rates. In the case of the Innisfree B & B we felt that there was no factor that offset our feeling that we were just a source of income. The rates were one of the highest that we encountered but of course in a location like Bunratty I am sure that prices can be higher. We have stayed in B& B's all over the world and this was one of our least liked. Certainly it was the worst we experienced in our trip to Ireland and meant that our trip ended on a down note with the feeling that we had been taken advantage of as tourists.

  • Liked — There was nothing to like
  • Disliked — Small, shabby room; poor food; not very friendly owners
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2007

We had booked another place in Bunratty, but that place, Bunratty Heights, had given our room away even though I confirmed twice and told them what time we would be there. That owner booked us at Inisfree and because we were tired, we took it. While the hostess is nice, the room was very shabby, with the most terrible beds we've ever experienced and the cheapest/shabbiest bed linens. The toilet made terrible noises too and we could hear the plumbing of the room across the hall. We hardly got any sleep that night, would not recommend this place at all.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — beds and noise
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2007

Mel was a wonderful hostess. We got there terribly early because our flight had just gotten in and she was nice enough to give us our room early. She printed out directions for us to the Rock of Cashel which was where we were going the next morning and she helped us book our last night of our trip. Breakfast was great, rooms were clean. Bunratty castle is about 1km from Innisfree.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2007

Bed and Breakfast can vary a lot and be a bit of a gamble sometimes, but you are on a winner here!

Located just 10min from Shannon Airport, Inisfree B&B is a modern house with a well kept and large garden and five fine spacious guest bedrooms, all en-suite..

Great care and attention to the comfort of guests is evident throughout, the rooms are pristine with exceptionally comfortable beds, the welcome genuinely warm and the owners go out of their way to make everyone who stays feel at home.

Breakfast is a feast, cooked to order using good ingredients and with plenty of choice.

If only all B&Bs were like this

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2006

We drove from Dublin (Liffy Valley) to the burren and then to the Cliffs of Moher. This was a long trip (not much to see till you get to Burren area); but so worth it. It only took 2.5 hours to get to area on super highway but its the small roads into Burren/Cliffs that take more time.
It was great to finally get settled in for our accomadations for the night. The triple room at innisfree was clean, lots of light from windows and a beautiful view of the front garden. Breakfast is a choice of full Irish breakfast, American breakfast or continental breakfast. Getting there from N18 is fairly easy. Imelda emailed me directions. It is close (2min drive) to Bunratty Castle, Folk Park and Durty Nellys.
For dinner we drove east on low road (away from Castle) and took a right at the T-Junction and drove into the town of seven mile brigde where we found an Indian/pakistani/Irish restaraunt Lagoon Spice. Food was good served fast and fresh.
Loved this B&B would stay again is ever back in this area.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orono, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2006

Innisfree is a delightful B & B conveniently close to everything that is Bunratty. Mel, the owner, works hard to make sure all her guests are treated to the best! She takes a personal interest in guests and goes out of her way to help them in whatever way she can. Innisfree is clean, quiet, and very comfortable. I would recommend this B & B to anyone who stays in Bunratty, and have already told friends about it. You cannot go wrong with Innisfree.

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Innisfree B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innisfree B&B

Address: Low Road, Bunratty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Bunratty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Innisfree B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innisfree Bed And Breakfast
Innisfree Hotel Bunratty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Innisfree B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.