We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and wonderful hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunaree

Save Saved
You added Dunaree to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunaree
Low Rd., Bunratty, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 26 Bunratty B&B and Inns
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great location and wonderful hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My family recently visited Bunratty at the conclusion of a two week tour around Ireland. We loved the country and particularly enjoyed our stay in Bunratty, and at Dunaree. We decided to spend our nights in local B&B’s, primarily for convenience and to experience the renowned Irish hospitality. We were so pleased that we did. We stayed in about 10 B&B’s over the two weeks, so got to know the differences well, and my reviews are relative to each other and not to other B&B’s in the area. Generally the B&B operators were local, knowledgeable about the area and they consistently demonstrated wonderful Irish hospitality. Our stay at Dunaree was no different. Penny and Kevin were wonderful hosts, and Penny was fun to be around. The B&B is located a few minutes’ walk from Bunratty Castle and the local pubs like the fun Dirty Nellie's. It's also very convenient if you are flying out of Shannon airport in the morning, as it's a short drive (or taxi ride). The B&B was easy to find; parking was convenient and check-in was very smooth. The comfort and quality of the rooms were adequate for our needs, and the beds comfortable enough. Our room and ensuite bathroom was spotless. We had to leave before the Irish breakfast we loved on our trip, but they left out a nice continental spread. Overall a nice stay and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    21
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
72
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moyock, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Accommodations were clean and comfortable! Penny was the best host we encountered in our trip to Ireland. Her B&B is located close to Bunratty Castle and a great pub called Dirty Nellie's. Can't say enough about this beautiful B&B and the wonderful people who look after you while you visit, even when it is only for one night! Would return again and again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I booked this B & B on the recommendation of another hotel in the area and after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. I was not disappointed. The house, built in 1998, is immaculate in every way and the proprietors, Kevin and Penny O'Connor, were the perfect hosts. My friend and I arrived in the early afternoon and were greeted warmly. After checking in, we were treated to tea and scones in their kitchen which was spotless. Our room was small, 2 single beds but adequate and the bathroom was immaculate. The gardens are impeccably manicured and there is a lovely seating area in the back garden. Penny even arranged for someone to drive us to our restaurant in Bunratty that evening and offered to pick us up after our meal so that we could have a few drinks. The latter was not necessary but when we got back to the B & B, our hosts were in the kitchen with 2 guests and invited us to join them for a glass of wine. Beds were extremely comfortable and we woke refreshed to a terrific Irish Breakfast. Because I was happy with the B & B, I tried to book it again 2 days later but unfortunately they were completely sold out. at 70 Euros for the room and breakfast per couple, this was excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We could only stay one night at Dunaree, but we were very pleased with our accomodations. Rooms were clean and comfortable and Penny was a wonderful hostess. Dunaree is in a quiet country setting, but in easy walking distance to Bunratty Castle and Durty Nellie's pub, which we did. I had a delicious traditional Irish breakfast and Penny was happy to prepare a complete vegan breakfast for my daughter. I highly recommend Dunaree B&B and would definitely stay there on a return trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Tn
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Excellent b&b! We spent 4 nights with Penny and highly recommend. The breakfast is great, the room is very quiet. Bunratty Castle is quite interesting. Lots of interesting sights within easy driving distance, Cliffs of Moher, the Burren, Adare, and a number of interesting nearby castles and monasteries, some off the beaten path.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was a really nice place to stay, a little hard to find at first and the only complaint I have is that the shower makes a loud noise and is a little on the small side which is something I found throughout a lot of B&B's in Ireland. But the room was very nice, Penny was very friendly and the breakfast was superb. Wish I would have had more time to enjoy the grounds as there is a very pretty garden area but was very rushed to catch my outgoing flight. This is an excellent place to stay on either your first or last night in the Shannon area if you are flying out or into Shannon Airport. Would be a great place to stay the entire trip if you are making the Shannon area your home base. Very nice B&B and the service was excellent! Again, Penny was very nice and this was a beautiful place to stay! I would stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Mr and Mrs. O'Conner have a wonderful B&B situated just a few minutes walk from Bunratty Castle! This B&B has a very homely feeling and my grandfather and I really enjoyed our stay here! I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone traveling to Bunratty and to also visit the castle and take in the Medieval dinner! We had an amazing time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dunaree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunaree

Address: Low Rd., Bunratty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Bunratty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bunratty Dunaree is a traditional style residence, custom designed to provide a high standard of accommodation and comfort in a non smoking home for all visitors. Located on the Low Road, close to Bunratty Castle it is operated by the O’Connor family. Built on the eastern slope of Bunratty Hill close to the famous castle, it has panoramic views over the Owenagarney River and beyond to the hills of Cratloe. A warm friendly welcome awaits all guests. Dunaree is renowned for its fresh tasty breakfasts and now has free wifi throughout. The interior has a spacious relaxing lay-out and is decorated with a relaxing blend of modern and antique furnishings, complemented by an interesting collection of original artworks, prints and antique maps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dunaree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunaree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.