We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and Welcoming B&B a Short Distance from Bunratty Castle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Courtyard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Courtyard to your Saves list
The Courtyard
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Bunratty Village, Bunratty, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 27 Bunratty B&B and Inns
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
321 helpful votes 321 helpful votes
“Spacious and Welcoming B&B a Short Distance from Bunratty Castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2008

I chose this B&B as we wanted to be within walking distance of Bunratty Castle and this is the only B&B actually located within Bunratty Village.

We were welcomed by the proprietor, Michael, and shown to our two extremely spacious and well-furnished rooms. All rooms are en-suite; ours had showers and were spotlessly clean as were the bedrooms.

Breakfast was taken in a pretty little room and comprised cooked breakfast, toast (jam, marmalade, marmite, peanut butter etc, provided), and a choice of cereals, fruit, tea and coffee.

Evening meals are not provided, however this isn't a problem as there is a good choice of restaurants and pubs within easy walking distance.

I would definitely recommend the Courtyard to anyone wanting a friendly, clean and comfortable B&B in a convenient location not only for Bunratty, but also for Shannon airport, which is a short drive away (15-20 minutes).

  • Liked — Spacious, clean rooms; good showers; convenience for Bunratty and Shannon airport.
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    25
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
54
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

We stopped at The Courtyard at the last minute and were rewarded with a terrific rate, a kind and helpful host and a very large, warm, clean room. We were leaving very early for the airport, so the owner provided us with juice and cheese sandwiches. You really couldn't ask more of an inn.

  • Liked — Great location, great price, great room.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2007

Very nice b&b. Comfortable rooms, filling breakfast, good parking. 5 minute walk to village centre.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocoee, FL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2007

The Courtyard is just lovely. Michael and Mary 's attention to detail is apparent in every way. Lovely sitting area with a fireplace in front of the morning breakfast room, books every where, good breakfast and large, clean, nicely appointed room. True, Bunratty Village is very small, but the Courtyard is a lovely place to stay for your first or last night if flying from Shannon. Durty Nellie's was quiet when we stayed, which was a disappointment, as we were looking forward to another fun visit. But the Bunratty Castle folk park and medieval dinner is a very short walk away. And Michael only raised one eyebrow as we carted in a multitude of bags and suitcases to get organized after our 2 week tour! The Creamery had decent food at reasonable prices. We enjoyed our 1 night stay, and our chats with Michael.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2007

This was the first place we stayed in Ireland and it is a perfect spot on arrival or just before a departure from the Shannon airport. I rented a car and was there within 15 minutes.

On arrival, my room was not ready, but I just went down the road and had lunch in the upstairs portion of the Woolen Mills. The location is within walking distance of Durty Nellys and The Creamery Pub. The castle is close too- bunratty is a rather small town.

I took one of the larger rooms upstairs and it was very quiet and very large with a large bathroom. They are 15 euro a night more than downstairs and I found it very worth the difference if you want a large room and a bit more privacy. The rooms were nice, although not elegant by any means. I liked the antique furniture, and the public areas were very nice. The breakfast was cooked to order and nicely presented.

I would definately stay here again !!

  • Liked — Location, Charming and comfortable decor
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2007

Excellent location and Michael is a wonderful host. When we first arrived, he was not available and a woman checked us in. There had been brief confusion about the type of room we were to have but it was quickly remedied. We tried to catch the woman before we left as we had lost our alarm clock, but she was on the phone and then we couldn't find her. When we got back from walking around, however, Michael was there and he was a pleasure!

Breakfast was good and filling, especially important on the day you have a 7 hour flight. The drive to the airport was only about 10- 15 minutes, easy access. The walk to Durty Nelly's and Bunratty Castle is about 5 - 10 minutes. Good location.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2007

We stayed at the Courtyard this wknd past for one night. Can only echo whats already been said. Property looks lovely from the outside & continues to impress when you get inside. Owner (Michael I think?) was very friendly & there was a large choice for breakfast of cereals, fruit, yoghurts, juices or of course the full Irish!
The room & en-suite were both clean & spacious & the bed was very comfy.
We were in Bunratty for the Mediaeval (sp?) Banquet in the castle. B&B was about a 5 min walk from the castle entrance. Be aware the castle is the only activity in the village.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtyard

Address: Bunratty Village, Bunratty, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bunratty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Courtyard 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bunratty Courtyard Bed & Breakfast has 11 en-suite rooms and is ideally situated in Bunratty village. Our rooms are spacious and are equipped with TVs, Wi-fi, Power Showers and Telephones. Tea and Coffee Facilities are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Bunratty
Bunratty Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Courtyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.