We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in lovely location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bunratty Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bunratty Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Bunratty Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shannon to Limerick Road, Bunratty, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
ESPERANCE WA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay in lovely location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here whilst on CIE Bus Tour. Located in lovely setting and only a short walk to Bunratty Castle (a MUST SEE). Rooms are extremely spacious and well appointed. Staff are friendly and helpful and breakfasts very good. Only downside was the plumbing. I would definitely stay here again to explore more of the local area.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Many thanks for your review - delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and we hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    305
    158
    57
    32
See reviews for
197
299
31
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Visalia, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We only stayed one night. We got off the plane and Shannon at 7 AM and arrived at the hotel at 7:30. We asked how early we could check in and they checked us in immediately. Great surprise as we were exhausted from traveling for 14 hours. Our room was beautiful. It had a huge walk-in closet with two ironing boards. A large bed and flatscreen TV. A separate bathtub and a shower. A nice living room with a desk and sofa. The coffee maker with tea and coffee available. The hotel had a very nice restaurant. They also had a bar and restaurant adjacent to it who would allow you to take your bar glasses to your room. The Bunratty castle and folk park were within walking distance. I would definitely recommend this place and I would return again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for much for your kind review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and all the facilities on offer. You comments are certainly a great boost to us all in midst of a busy season.
Hope you get the chance to return to Bunratty soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I guess I was expecting a little more...it was more like a glorified Choice Hotel. You had to put your room card in a slot for the lights to work...which we would see more of this during our travels. No top sheet, again something that would be seen. No lotion. The TV clicker did not work very good either....for some reason the hotel felt like it just needed some work. You had to work with it to make it work at times.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Bunratty Castle Hotel is conveniently located to the Shannon International airport, approx, 10 minutes away. The hotel and room was very clean, up to date and had all the amenities you could ask for. It even has a spa and an indoor pool. I was disappointed that the pool closed to children at 6pm as my family and I had hoped to unwind poolside before outer long flight home. Within walking distance is some last minute shopping (also closed at 6pm), The Creamery restaurant which was excellent as well as a pub across the street. Not to mention the Bunratty Castle which is a must see. Overall we had a great visit.

Room Tip: We had two family rooms which were very different in size. One room had a pull out sofa with two cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel we were told that check in would be 3pm! That was fine, however, part of our group didn't get their room until 4.30pm! It isn't cheap to stay here so one would think that the rooms would be available at check in time!
The wifi doesn't reach the rooms, you had to sit in the lobby area to use their wifi! Seriously!! Its 2013, the least you could have is wifi in the rooms!
The receptionist wasn't the friendliest of people, for the job that she has, she must know that she has to deal with the public!
Although the bar person was very nice, it took a long time to get served, when other people joined our group it took even longer for them to get served! :/
If I were going back to Bunratty, I wouldn't choose this hotel as my first option, only if I were stuck!

Room Tip: Get a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments’. I’m very sorry to hear of your experience during your stay at Bunratty Castle Hotel. It is the hotel policy to ensure that our highly trained staff provide the highest quality of service throughout all areas of the hotel. However on this occasion we fell short of this. I have taken the necessary steps to ensure this does not happen again.
I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Bunratty Castle Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Fall of 2010, my first trip to Europe & this was our first hotel & first night there after travelling 20 hours to get there .... first night in the hotel we were woken up by fire alarms that sounded as though sirens were blasting in our rooms. We quickly exited our room & arrived out side to find people scattered about & finally staff appeared & informed us that "not to be worried as the fire alarm system is merely faulty". With this comforting thought in mind (sarcastic statement), we looked online for another hotel to stay for the next night. We finally fell back asleep only to be awakened by the fire alarm again & this time I phoned the front desk & queried if the hotel was on fire & They replied no. It went off several times through out the night & the fear of god remained in us each time. The next morning when we woke & had breakfast ..the hotel had printed sign apologizing for alarm, no dates & very generic ...we discovered the alarm is often an issue at this hotel. We left the next day & told them we would not be staying any longer & they did not ask why or how our visit was or what they could do make up for anything etc., not very pleasant staff & horrible experience.

Room Tip: book another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We got a great deal online and decided to treat ourselves to a Castle - but its a hotel on the hill overlooking the Castle!
We had room on the 4th floor.. the Executive floor, which was spacious and roomy. Very happy with it, bar that there was a wedding on and some guests were staying beside us so we were kept up late at night with the noises from the neighbours.
Otherwise, great bed, great location and enough parking for you!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bunratty Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunratty Castle Hotel

Address: Shannon to Limerick Road, Bunratty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bunratty Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bunratty Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bunratty Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.