We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location but rooms and lobby need updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bunratty Castle Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bunratty Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bunratty Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shannon to Limerick Road, Bunratty, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Convenient location but rooms and lobby need updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Conveniently located for anyone arriving / departing from Shannon airport and for visiting the Bunratty Castle. The rooms and the lobby need to be updated - everything looked and felt very worn. Wifi only available in lobby. Overall an average hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    284
    152
    57
    29
See reviews for
188
284
26
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Rooms big, well equipped, but not very clean. The cleaning lady makes beds and exchanges towels.. That's all:( Breakfast very poor quality, not much choice... Waiters do not notice guests. Disappointing... The only adventage is indeed near to the Castle.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We chose it due to its convenient location next to the castle and were not disappointed. Very comfortable bed. Nice breakfast buffet with plenty of offerings. Don't forget to take a walk arond back and check out the old church ruins and graveyard. The music, pints, and craic that evening were pure Ireland at Kathleen's

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipswich
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed two nights on banquet package, the hotel met expectations although I found price was a little high for what it was, breakfast was alright, have had better at cheaper hotels but no complaints, room had an exceptionally large bed which was good, receptionist was very friendly. well positioned for visiting Bunratty castle, there are other hotels nearby for comparison price wise, we thought this was the only one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, AZ
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Nothing in this hotel wasn't top notched. Due to its proximity to Shannon Airport (7 minutes) this hotel must have huge amounts of Westerners staying there as they have electrical outlets in American voltage. It has many stay options so check them before booking. We were in room 248 which had us going through was a jigsaw of doorways & turns...definitely not for the disabled to navigate via wheelchair, so make sure they know you need to be near the lift. Breakfast was very good & we could not have been any more satisfied with their receptionists or waitstaff. Even the bellboys were friendly. 3 restaurants on site & rooms beautifully furnished with the world's most incredibly huge leather sofa in the 2nd salon...probably sat 2 dozen people. I'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the elevator if wheelchair bound, as almost all the floors are carpeted...a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We reserved two deluxe rooms to be able to visit the Folk Park and attend the banquet. The package was reasonable, particularly after we were upgraded to Executive rooms. Talk about spacious. Don't know about other rooms but this is about as good as it gets. King size beds, tub and shower, buffet breakfast that was excellent, and an easy stroll to the Castle. A wonderful end to our holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The hotel is only about ten minutes drive from the Shannon airport, so it's in an ideal location if you have an early flight out or late flight in. We were staying in Dingle bay which meant we would've had to allow about 4 hours to get there. Not a fun drive. We stayed there the night before my sister had to fly back and liked it so much we stayed on another 2 nights. My friend and I were both exhausted from all the touring around and I was fighting off a bad cold, so I could rest while she enjoyed the high speed internet (a rarity in Ireland), the several shops and restaurants across the road as well as the infamous Bunratty Castle and Durty Nelly's pub, two ancient relics that have withstood the test of time.
The hotel is gorgeous and the grounds are well manicured. The staff are friendly and extremely accommodating. When we told them we wanted to stay longer they informed us of a 3 night stay discount, which made the decision all the easier. We also took advantage of the hotel's spa. All guests can access the pool (you must wear a swimming cap and they sell them at the counter for 2.50 euro), the dry and Eucalyptus steam room and jacuzzi. I went for an hour long Javanese massage which worked miracles on my swollen legs an ankles (a travel hazard for me).
Though everything is aesthetically pleasing, I will agree that the bar service and food isn't the best. People were friendly, but you did sit with an empty glass for quite a while and at night it becomes not so much a meat market, but more a slaughter house of drunken locals looking to pick up on some holiday travelers' action. They're harmless, but one was too touchy feely while the other leans in so far you want to just rip your shirt open and say "here, have a good long look why don't you". I don't know about you, but I'd expect the staff to step in at some point or least make sure my glass is full...
We had the breakfast once. It was traditional Irish and tasty except for the eggs that seemed like they were made from powder...
If you're looking for good quality food and atmosphere then go across the street to Durty Nelly's (I'll write about them next), The Creamery or the Cafe in the shops across from the Creamery. If you are looking for good accommodations near the airport that have services to help you decompress, then the Bunratty hotel is a great spot.
It's well equipped to juggle busloads of tourists while hosting a wedding and taking in the lone travelers looking for a bit of peace and rejuvenation. They get my highest marks for that.
The only real disappointment was from our second stay there. We booked the hotel for the last two nights of our stay, thinking we'd explore Bunratty castle, take care of all our souvenir shopping and get in one last spa session. They even offered us a continuation of the extended stay discount for booking before we checked out the first time, but when we arrived to check in, we were told we only had a room with two twin beds, not the same quality as before We didn't realize we'd been given a free upgrade on the first arrival. On our part, we didn't think to say we'd have a third person with us. Know this; they only have 10 rooms in the entire hotel that offer two double beds in the room. These are considered Jr. Suites. We ended up in a room with 3 twin beds that is clearly designed as a kids room with small TV and bathroom (with no vent/fan)and unlike the Jr. suite, Wifi isn't available in the room. We thought it might since there was a sign in the room saying so. Wifi is (for the most part) only available in the lobby area. Very nice lobby with over stuffed chairs and couches and a fire place though. The door on our room wouldn't shut to lock either. By the time we discovered it. One of the girls was trying to sleep, so we informed them at the desk before heading off to dinner. The hotel was completely booked as it was a bank holiday weekend and they were hosting a wedding. The only other option was to move to another triple twin room, so we opted to hold out and let them fix it in the morning.
So, we kind of went from feasting at the king's table to being relegated to the kiddie table, which was disappointing, but overall our experience was good and the staff were genuine and helpful. I'd still recommend it and I'll plan to stay there again upon arrival and departure of my next trip out there.
My advice would be to be very clear about what type of room you want and if you must have internet access in your room then call them to confirm ahead.

PS, if you do have an early flight and have a rental car then fill up the tank the night before. The gas station down the street (there's only one) wasn't open when we passed it at 7am and the only next option I know of is BallyShannon by the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bunratty Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunratty Castle Hotel

Address: Shannon to Limerick Road, Bunratty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bunratty Castle Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Bunratty Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bunratty Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.