We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic 3 night break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bunratty Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bunratty Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Bunratty Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shannon to Limerick Road, Bunratty, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Blackpool
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic 3 night break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night family stay. We were a family of 2 adults and 2 children (8 +12) and went to celebrate mine and my daughters birthday - where better to stay?! I cant believe any negative reviews on here as we encountered no problems at all and the staff were all so polite, friendly, chatty and helpful. We love our weekend breaks but nowhere have we come across such lovely service as we did here. Our room was lovely just like the pics (We had a family suite). Breakfast was fine, the usual cereals, fruits, full english. We had pre booked our evening meals too as part of a special package and evening meals were held in the little italian restaurant at the side of the hotel. Food in here was beautiful and again the ladies serving us were really lovely and helpful - They even organised a birthday cake for my daughters birthday short notice. If you dont like italian food there are other things on the menu. The chicken wings were fab and i didnt know what to expect when i ordered red thai curry in an italian restaurant. I thought i made the best thai curry in the world until I tasted this, it was out of this world. They had the basic childrens food too chicken nuggets, pizza etc & it was all really good so can highly recommend prebooking meals at this hotel. All in all a fantastic weekend and lovely location. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RiggersBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Unprofessional bar staff who had to asked numerous times for various orders for bar food. The food was of appalling quality which left me sick afterwards. The outside was untidy and table etc were left dirty for long periods.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgreene81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

The staff was very nice but for the price, I expected a lot more. The thermostat controls were missing from the room, there was a lot of cosmetic issues (cracks in walls, roughed up carpets), the rooms were just kind of mediocre, and the advertised music in the bar "every night" was not there. It is a great location if you need to get to the Shannon Airport early.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallston, Maryland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed at the Bunratty Castle Hotel as part of a CIE group tour and LOVED it. It is a beautiful hotel both inside & out. The rooms are spacious, well-appointed (including free wi-fi), & comfortable. We particularly enjoyed the indoor pool/spa area which was very relaxing. Note that the pool does require swimming caps so come prepared or buy one onsite at the spa reception.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBJBride0520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Curtain torn, tiles loose in the bathroom, TV instructions AWOL, came back from dinner with lock mechanism for the door dead as a door nail, two trips to the lobby to resolve as there are no hall phones with which to call the desk. That said, it's near the airport, the room is pretty, and you'll get a great workout with the walk from the lift to your room.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShelbyOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed in a very lovely room for just one night, but everything was perfect. It's a beautiful building, and the staff was courteous and accommodating. The location can't be beaten - just a short walk to grand Bunratty Castle and Folk Park as well as great shopping at the Blarney Woolen Mills Bunratty location. Kathleen's Bar was comfortable, but nothing special. Breakfast was a quite ordinary buffet, but the staff went out of their way to be helpful and even served some items right to our table. This was a pleasant surprise as service at a buffet isn't usually good. I highly recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to stay there if I'm ever so fortunate as to be in the area again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank calgary_visitors52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Better than the Shannon airport hotels , great location beside Durty Nellys . Had a few great Guinness in Durtys with some trad music every night. The rooms are spotless and quiet. Overall , I would stay again

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
7.1 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.5 of 5 stars 2,084 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
2.8 mi away
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
4.0 of 5 stars 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3.5 of 5 stars 656 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,124 reviews
4.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunratty Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunratty Castle Hotel

Address: Shannon to Limerick Road, Bunratty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Bunratty Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Bunratty Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing