We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic 3 night break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bunratty Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bunratty Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Bunratty Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shannon to Limerick Road, Bunratty, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Blackpool
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic 3 night break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night family stay. We were a family of 2 adults and 2 children (8 +12) and went to celebrate mine and my daughters birthday - where better to stay?! I cant believe any negative reviews on here as we encountered no problems at all and the staff were all so polite, friendly, chatty and helpful. We love our weekend breaks but nowhere have we come across such lovely service as we did here. Our room was lovely just like the pics (We had a family suite). Breakfast was fine, the usual cereals, fruits, full english. We had pre booked our evening meals too as part of a special package and evening meals were held in the little italian restaurant at the side of the hotel. Food in here was beautiful and again the ladies serving us were really lovely and helpful - They even organised a birthday cake for my daughters birthday short notice. If you dont like italian food there are other things on the menu. The chicken wings were fab and i didnt know what to expect when i ordered red thai curry in an italian restaurant. I thought i made the best thai curry in the world until I tasted this, it was out of this world. They had the basic childrens food too chicken nuggets, pizza etc & it was all really good so can highly recommend prebooking meals at this hotel. All in all a fantastic weekend and lovely location. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    301
    156
    57
    31
See reviews for
196
297
30
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Unprofessional bar staff who had to asked numerous times for various orders for bar food. The food was of appalling quality which left me sick afterwards. The outside was untidy and table etc were left dirty for long periods.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

The staff was very nice but for the price, I expected a lot more. The thermostat controls were missing from the room, there was a lot of cosmetic issues (cracks in walls, roughed up carpets), the rooms were just kind of mediocre, and the advertised music in the bar "every night" was not there. It is a great location if you need to get to the Shannon Airport early.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallston, Maryland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed at the Bunratty Castle Hotel as part of a CIE group tour and LOVED it. It is a beautiful hotel both inside & out. The rooms are spacious, well-appointed (including free wi-fi), & comfortable. We particularly enjoyed the indoor pool/spa area which was very relaxing. Note that the pool does require swimming caps so come prepared or buy one onsite at the spa reception.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Curtain torn, tiles loose in the bathroom, TV instructions AWOL, came back from dinner with lock mechanism for the door dead as a door nail, two trips to the lobby to resolve as there are no hall phones with which to call the desk. That said, it's near the airport, the room is pretty, and you'll get a great workout with the walk from the lift to your room.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed in a very lovely room for just one night, but everything was perfect. It's a beautiful building, and the staff was courteous and accommodating. The location can't be beaten - just a short walk to grand Bunratty Castle and Folk Park as well as great shopping at the Blarney Woolen Mills Bunratty location. Kathleen's Bar was comfortable, but nothing special. Breakfast was a quite ordinary buffet, but the staff went out of their way to be helpful and even served some items right to our table. This was a pleasant surprise as service at a buffet isn't usually good. I highly recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to stay there if I'm ever so fortunate as to be in the area again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Better than the Shannon airport hotels , great location beside Durty Nellys . Had a few great Guinness in Durtys with some trad music every night. The rooms are spotless and quiet. Overall , I would stay again

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bunratty Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunratty Castle Hotel

Address: Shannon to Limerick Road, Bunratty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bunratty Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Bunratty Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bunratty Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.