We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comparable to a typical average American hotel.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bunratty Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bunratty Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Bunratty Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shannon to Limerick Road, Bunratty, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Salem, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comparable to a typical average American hotel.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

After staying at the Old Ground Hotel in Ennis and the Hayfield Manor in Cork, this was dreadful. But, perhaps that is an unfair comparison. This hotel reminds me of the large generic hotel chains that you find in America. At first glance things seem okay but look in the stairwells and the restaurant and you know that cleanliness is NOT a priority. The breakfast served was disgusting, the quality of food and beverages, subpar. We basically had coffee and tea (though we had to chase after someone to serve it to us!) and left. We only booked this place because of its proximity to the Shannon Airport where we had an early flight out. I would not do it again, I would go back to The Old Ground.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    318
    170
    66
    33
See reviews for
211
319
34
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ct
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

A friend and I stayed at this location last week as part of the Castles of Ireland tour. We read reviews before our arrival and were apprehensive since there were so many negative reviews. We found the hotel to be lovely and clean. Our room was beautiful and in perfect order. Staff was friendly and helpful. We though buffet breakfast was lame as we do not care for powdered eggs or canned fruit. We were not interested in trying dinner based on breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRELAND
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Just returned from two nights stay here. The price was excellent value, €110 for two nights bed and breakfast for a family of 5. Our children are small so they happily shared the second queen bed in the large bedroom, which also had a long sofa, two armchairs and large coffee table as well as the usual desk, large press with tv, coffee facilities etc. The bathroom was fine perfectly clean and fully equipped. we spent an hour each day in the pool and sauna, steam room. The kids loved the pool particularly the little waterfall and seating area. The pool is small, you won't do many lengths but its a nice relaxing place to hang out. Some lights were broken and the fake windows could be updated but overall its clean and fun. The dressing rooms are well equipped with decent hairdryers, family dressing cubicle and shampoos, bodywash, plenty if towels, lockers etc.

There was a large wedding on when we arrived which gave us a bit of concern but actually they were completely separate from the rest of the hotel except the reception area when they arrived. we ate in the Italian "Il Pomodoro" which was fine. The kids pizzas wre disappointing, just order the adult size. The staff wre very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was the only downside. The food was fine, large buffet cooked breakfast complete with 5 different juices, lots of breads but the service was very poor on bith mornings. Simply understaffed and they couldn't cope with the numbers so people were left waiting for tables because the staff couldn't clean them in time.

Over all if you're travelling to Bunratty I would certainly recommend this, for sheer value alone. There are not many hotels in Ireland where you will get a pool, choice if restaurants insite and large clean double rooms for €48 per night!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

We all had a fantastic time in the Bunratty Castle Hotel, my mum and sister had our xmas outing, we had a beautiful meal staff were very pleasant and attentive. our bedrooms were just spotles and very cosy and comfortable, it was just the perfect venue for us.
we also attended a wedding there in October, I have to say it was superb, again the food and staff were exellent, we are all looking forward to visiting the hotel again soon.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saline, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

Ick, yuck and run for the hills!! This place looks nice online and even from the lobby but walk any further and the cracks start to show. Literally. A dive is the nicest words I can think of to describe this place. Just walking to our room we noticed huge rips in the carpeting in the hallways. Not such a big deal I guess but it just got worse from there. When we got to our room we were very surprised to see how old and outdated things were in there. Since we had been traveling all day my husband went to take a shower and couldn't get any hot water in the shower. He called the front desk, the man who checked us in came up to the room and told us that you had to let the water run for at least 15 mins if we want hot water. What? Seriously? My husband wasn't having that and asked to be changed to another room. Flash forward 30 mins and into the new room.
There were huge stains on the carpet, stains on the walls, including some questionable drip marks on the electrical outlet, a tear on the sheet, mold/mildew in the shower and tub, chipped and peeling paint throughout the room and gross white stains on the desk chair.
I have pictures of all of these things if anyone is questioning how a place could be so bad. It really is hard to believe. The only thing this place has going for it is that it does not have bedbugs.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre2011, Manager at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Thank you for your comments’. I’m very sorry to hear of your experience during your stay at Bunratty Castle Hotel. It is the hotel policy to ensure that our highly trained staff provide the highest quality of service throughout all areas of the hotel. However on this occasion we fell short of this. I have taken the necessary steps to ensure this does not happen again.

I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Bunratty Castle Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

My girlfriend and I spent two nights at Bunratty Castle Hotel at the end of a package stay at "castle hotels" in Ireland. Let's be clear: this hotel is not in a castle. It is across the street from Bunratty Castle. (The other hotels in our package actually were in old castles or manor houses.) The fact that the hotel wasn't in an old castle really made no difference to us, however.

Overall, our stay here was just fine. Most of the staff was friendly and accomodating, which I think is the standard for most Irish (except, perhaps, Dublin). The room was roomy and clean. The Irish breakfast was not stellar, but good.

But for us, the real selling point of this hotel is its location. As mentioned above, it is right across the street from Bunratty Castle, which is impressive. It is also across the street from the famous Durty Nelly's, where we spent two fabulous evenings, notwithstanding our subsequent hangovers. It is also a great base from which to see the Cliffs of Moher and other famous southwest Ireland sights. Finally, it's about a five minute drive away from the Shannon Airport.

There is room for improvement at the hotel. First, Wifi is only available in one spot in the hotel. There should be Wifi throughout the hotel, particularly for one that caters to international travelers who rely on Skype to make calls from the smartphones. Second, some of the common areas of the hotel are a bit shabby and could be spruced up.

Overall, however, this hotel was fine and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, S.Wales
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

We stayed at the Bunratty Castle as part of a Coach holiday tour to see our local rugby team play Munster. We had a really good deal because of this so to us the hotel was a bit of a bargain for what we paid for the whole trip.
Our main moan was that our bus arrived at about 9.45pm and there was no food to be had in the hotel, except for via roomservice, which incurred a 5 Euro charge per person - making a plate of sandwiches (2 rounds of bread, I checked) a rather extortionate 11.50 Euros! The food had stopped at 9.30pm but our coach arrived at the scheduled time so surely they could have laid something on, as there were obviously still kitchen staff on duty to do the roomservice?
The drinks at the bar were also expensive (10 Euros for a double Jack Daniels & coke) but, as we later discovered, this seemed normal for 'tourist money-traps' throughout not just Dublin as we were aware but the whole of Southern Ireland?
Ok, now for the good points: The Hotel is a nice-looking building located about 10 minutes from Limerick and less from Shannon I believe. Buratty Castle with it's folk trail etc is literally 2 minutes' walk away. In the village is a small shopping arcade selling woollens, crystals, linen, clothing and various Traditional Irish gifts. There was also a coffee shop. Also in the village there was a village shop I think and a couple of pub/restaurants (The Creamery and Durty Nellies).
The hotel has a nice bar (Kathleens) and restaurant, with a nice ambience. The decor was lovely, appears to have been recently refurbished, although we spotted a couple of bits of chipped woodwork and torn wallpaper which are maybe next to be done?
Our room was very nice - a 6 foot bed with nice quality bedding and plenty of pillows, tv, wardrobe, dressing table, iron & board, hairdryer etc. The en-suite had been recently done too, and the shower was adequate. We stayed for 2 nights and the room was cleaned after the first night. Breakfast was average - bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, black pudding, beans and tomatoes plus cereal, juice and continental. The waiter service was good and extra toast and coffee was no problem.
All in all I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if a good deal came up.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bunratty Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunratty Castle Hotel

Address: Shannon to Limerick Road, Bunratty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bunratty Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Bunratty Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bunratty Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.