We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Durty Nelly's

Durty Nelly's
Bunratty, Bunratty, Ireland
353 061 364861
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 12 Restaurants in Bunratty
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $34
Cuisines: Irish, Fish & Chips, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Durty Nelly’s is one of Ireland’s most famous pubs and offers a truly unique Irish experience through its history and character. Often copied but never replaced, this truly unique piece of Irish heritage dates back to 1620. Enjoy the craic agus ceoil at the world-renowned Durty Nelly’s where we offer live Traditional Irish music every weekend, host festivals all year ’round, and even welcome a few celebrities on occasion!Durty Nelly’s is famed for our extensive and great-value menus in The Bar, Loft & Oyster Restaurants. Whether it be a quick bite or a special meal, our top-class chefs will cater to every taste and budget, providing an unforgettable dining experience.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Decent Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We drove by earlier in the day when Bunratty Castle was still open and the place was very busy. We returned later in the evening after the castle had closed and the buses were gone and there were only a handful of people there. The steak was tender and flavorful, not gourmet, but very good. The staff was very friendly and even opened the closed gift shop for us to buy t-shirts and souvenirs.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DurtyNellys1620, General Manager at Durty Nelly's, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Great to here that even though it was busy when you first passed you came back and enjoyed the experience. Some people love it here when it is busy and some when it is a little quieter. Maybe you will think of a return visit when you wear your T shirt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    250
    103
    37
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conroe, Texas
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Lots of history, plenty of Guiness”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our meal was adequate, the beer was fine, but my wife saw a silverfish crawling in the wall. That spoiled her meal. Other than the historical aspect of the building, it wasn't that special.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DurtyNellys1620, General Manager at Durty Nelly's, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Sorry Mister_Boffo you did not thoroughly enjoy your time with us. As for the silverfish as you say it is a historical building and the walls are almost 400 years old so you can get a small amount of insects but rest assured we have very good pest control in place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Close to Bunratty Castle great for a drink and a rest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great for a bite to eat and a drink we had lunch here which was lovely, but we were chased away by bees, I think we sat to close to a huge flower pot! My husband then accidentally threw coke across the table which encouraged more to come! Hahaha

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DurtyNellys1620, General Manager at Durty Nelly's, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thanks angels, unfortunately nature is out of our control re. the bees but glad you liked it here at Durty Nelly's. Next time you can enjoy your drink and food inside and not share it with the bees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful visit and great scenery.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We were involved in a charity drive recently and the management were more than helpful and friendly.
The food was beautiful and there was a great buzz about the place as tourists and locals mixed.
Staff were friendly and very attentive and chatty.
My only gripe was the cost of soft drinks.
However the shop outside was great value.
Looking forward to a return visit (the Guinness looked just divine)

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“fabulous experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

While touring the west of Ireland , an evening at durty nellys was one of the highlights of our trip. the restaurant was very busy so we ate from the bar menu and got to sit outside and enjoy the beautiful warm weather. the service was very good and our hostess (maria ) was just excellent , the menu choice was extensive and good value for portion size. the atmosphere was wonderful as it was a very busy spot with both locals and tourists enjoying the music and craic. l would highly recommend this restaurant/ bar.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DurtyNellys1620, General Manager at Durty Nelly's, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thanks for the review Susie and are delighted you had a good time here.Maria has seen your review and was happy you enjoyed the food and atmosphere. hope to have you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Durty Nelly's also viewed

 
Bunratty, County Clare
Bunratty, County Clare
 

Been to Durty Nelly's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durty Nelly's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.