We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dooley's

Dooley's
Main Street, Tramore co waterford, Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 28 Restaurants in Tramore
Cuisines: Fish & Chips
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Too expensive!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

This chipper has always had top reviews and a great reputation but as the years have went on, their portions have decreased and prices have increased! Not a good thing especially in our current economy.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    13
    5
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great Chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

The is always a Queue outside both shops - this speaks for itself. So enjoy the old fashioned Fish & Chips - but put your litter in the bins provided

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Recommended by the proprietor of Diamond Hill B&B and we were glad we took his advice. Cozy atomosphere, delicious food. Try the Beef & Guiness stew!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“reputation doesnt always mean everything!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

I had heard how fab dooleys was and i must say i was kinda dissappointed. staff were rushed and rude and there were only 3 orders ahead of us. when i couldnt make a decision on the spot one of the staff members rolled his eyes and moved on! the chips were under cooked and squashed into the bag. the battered sausage and snack box were ok.was hoping for a better 'warm me up' chipper but didnt get it!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fishy "chips" that were more oil than spuds!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Stopped into Dooley's takeaway on the seafront out of sheer desperation for food (since strangely, nothing else was really open at 8pm on a Saturday night!), and would have been better to go hungry. The scampi we ordered wasn't scampi at all, but cod, and the chips tasted like fish. There was more oil than actual food. We would have been better to go hungry. The only plus was that they did offer to give me a new order of chips when I complained about mine, even though the replacement tasted only vaguely better. Just don't.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dooley's also viewed

Tramore, County Waterford
Tramore, County Waterford
 
Tramore, County Waterford
Tramore, County Waterford
 

Been to Dooley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dooley's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.