We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Hotel

Save Saved
You added Majestic Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Majestic Hotel
Lower Branch Road, Tramore, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Tramore
Naas, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“one night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed in this hotel lots of times and can not say anything negative about it ,only that the room could do with a bit of updating, but it was clean.We had a family room as we had a teenage girl with us and ANN on front desk gave her the code for her phone to use the free wiif and she was happy.When you stay here you get a reduced rate in splashworld across the road which is great for kids .WE WILL BE BACK.

Room Tip: request a room facing front it worth it .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticTramore, General Manager at Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear McDonagh3232 ,

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive review & also for your loyal custom.

As a valued customer feedback is essential, as this enables us to improve our standards & customer needs. With this in mind we are now near to completion of the 1st phase of updating & upgrading our Bedrooms.
It pleases me that you availed of the Free WiFi & partook in the discount we offer to guests who wish to use Splashworld.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon, please ask for a recently upgraded room.

Kind Regards

Mark Whelan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    40
    22
    13
    15
See reviews for
54
37
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed in this hotel quite a lot over the past 20 years and have found that it just keeps getting better, the staff are so friendly and go out of their way to help with anything and really make you feel so welcome. The rooms are spotless and always a pleasure to stay in, but on our most recent visit the rooms were exceptionally clean. The food is delicious and we always look forward to the breakfast were the service and food is fantastic, have stayed in a lot of hotels as we love to travel, but nothing comes up to the standard of this hotel. Everything is just fantastic. Hope you have found this review helpful.

Marie & Aidan Garvey
Mayobridge

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticTramore, General Manager at Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Marie & Aidan ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review of the Hotel & staff.
The staff will be delighted to know their hard work and dedication to customer care & satisfaction is acknowledged & appreciated.
Wishing both of you a happy new year , hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Mark Whelan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Tramore is a lovely resort and the Majestic is the best place to stay. I have used this hotel several times and I have also frequented the 2 other main hotels in the town. The Majestic is ideally situated and within walking distance of the beach and all amenities. There is a large free car park to the front. The hotel is clean and warm and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are adequate and the food is very good. Best rooms are to the front with a balcony overlooking the lake and towards the sea.
There is a large screen tv in the bar and they show all the major sporting events particularly the soccer premier league. Several times in the week there is live music in the bar. The musicians can just about play anything you want and are great 'craic'.
The Guinness is great - nothing better than listening to the music with a pint of the dark stuff.

I'm looking forward to my next visit. I would though like to see the Majestic making stays more affordable by offering off peak package deals at reduced cost. For instance themed weekends or Mon - Fri stays on an all inclusive basis or with reduced price meals, etc.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticTramore, General Manager at Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Geronimo92 ,

Thank you for our lovely review.
It gives me great pleasure to see you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you also for your suggestions , we welcome all feedback as it enables us to improve our customer services & care . Looking forward to meeting you on your next visit.

Regards & Merry Christmas ,

Mark Whelan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Majestic Hotel occupies a hillside overlooking Tramore Bay and is an example of Irish 1960s/1970s hotel architecture that’s been updated somewhat, especially in the nice foyer area that offers a comfortable space to sit and watch the day go by. The rooms are small but adequate because they’ve received a pretty good makeover. Bathrooms are also small and the (oldish) shower posed some difficulty in regulating the heat of the water, indicating that the plumbing system struggles to cope when many people take showers at one time. Some might also struggle to get into the shower as it is in the bath. Beds were reasonably comfortable. The hotel says that they have free Wi-Fi and this is the case, but only in the common areas downstairs. Free service doesn’t extend to the bedrooms, but you can buy service from BT OpenZone if you feel that you absolutely must surf the web in bed. A nice bar provides good sandwiches and soup at lunch time and is popular with the sports crowd who watch soccer and rugby matches there. The dining room serves traditional Irish breakfasts, but despite the best efforts of the friendly and efficient staff, breakfast never rose above an average quality during our stay. Eggs and black puddings were good but sausages and bacon not as tasty, which is surprising because there are plenty of excellent local butchers that can supply tasty sausages and bacon. Dinner was just disappointing. Overall, the Majestic is a reasonable place to stay if you’re prepared to overlook some of the obvious flaws. Not the best hotel that you’ll find in Ireland, but certainly not the worst either – by a long way.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the front of the hotel so that you can enjoy the view over Tramore Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticTramore, General Manager at Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear 12 Knocksinna,

Thank you for relaying your observations about your recent stay at our hotel. We will certainly take your comments on board, as we constantly strive to improve our standards of food & service.
We would hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mark Whelan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My wife and I spent 6 nights from the 6th October and found the staff very welcoming and helpful. Check in was quickly dealt with. The room which had a sea view and balcony was clean and tidy. The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant and eager to help in any way they could. Should we be back in the area of Tramore in the future we would have no hesitation in staying there again and would recommend it to others

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticTramore, General Manager at Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Mr BrianA,

On behalf of myself and the staff at the Majestic Hotel, I would like to thank you for taking the time to acknowledge the dedication to customer care the staff have shown to you & your wife.

Thank you also for your recommendations to others.

Looking forward to welcoming you and your wife back in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Mark Whelan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We (boyfriend and myself) stayed here for one night on the 24th September. The receptionist was very welcoming and genuine, and our room was clean and bright and had a nice view of the sea. It was a reasonably sized room (223) and we were very comfortable.

Splashworld and the bus stop are directly across the road from the hotel (a 3 minute walk) and the beach is about a 10 minute walk away. The hotel bar was very nice; I loved the design of the couches and chairs which were very comfy. The barman was friendly, and there was a good relaxed atmosphere.

If I was going back to Tramore I would stay here again, very nice place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticTramore, General Manager at Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Deecat,
Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review of our staff & hotel.
I will look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Whelan
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

stayed here one night in July, was overwhelmed by the friendliness of the staff , good service and delightfully clean and spacious bedrooms. found the barstaff most helpful during my stay also. breakfast was well stocked and had a wide range of foods to suit most tastes . bedroom was really well decorated and loved the shower too! :-) would defo recommend anyone to stay here. perfect for families as its a great location too!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticTramore, General Manager at Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Stehfog,

It gives me great pleasure to read your kind review. I was delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you.

Mark Whelan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel

Address: Lower Branch Road, Tramore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Tramore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Tramore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Majestic Hotel is located in the sunny south east of Ireland, overlooking Tramore Bay with its impressive 5km stretch of golden beach and sand dunes and is less than 10km from the historical city of Waterford. The hotel is the perfect location for your overnight or extended stay when visiting Waterford or touring the beautiful South East. Situated just a short stroll from the beach, the hotel is ideally situated for guests who wish to relax and spend their free time walking, surfing, swimming, sunbathing or just taking in the beautiful scenery of Tramore Bay, the beach and sand dunes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Waterford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.