We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff trying hard” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hotel Square | Tramore, Tramore, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tramore
Kilkenny, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great staff trying hard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed at the Grand Hotel for NYE 2013.
The hotel is a very basic 3star hotel - sadly reflecting a lack of reinvestment over the last ten years.
From the initial contact right through to check out, the staff were helpful, welcoming and courteous. Both reception and banqueting staff in particular.
The public areas of the hotel are badly maintained - basic cleaning of glass doors and carpets would go a long way towards improving customers experience.
Live bands and discos play a big part in the business -and that was why we choose to stay here -however the individual venues (rooms) are just too small.
If the lack of investment continues, the Grand will become a pub with bedrooms.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    75
    38
    29
    44
See reviews for
71
86
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Have stayed at the Grand Hotel a few times, most recently for the Seaside Mayhem event in November. Staff are always extremely friendly and helpful. A good breakfast served promptly, but in a relaxed atmosphere. Food in the bar is excellent and again in a relaxed atmosphere and pleasant surroundings. We had a sea view room which was stunning and we found everything we needed to make a very enjoyable weekend. Great location close to amenities and the beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed at the Grand hotel during a work organised trip and we loved the hotel it's very grand , the decor with the Waterford crystal chandeliers was gorgeous, adored the carved wooden sofa in the reception , we had excursions to the Waterford crystal factory, the Jameson whiskey factory ( my first taste of whiskey EVER) and Blarney castle where my 22 stone husband got down to kiss the stone the factory shop at the castle was brilliant . Would recommend the Grand hotel for the food, the service, staff and the very comfortable rooms .
Actually went in October 2008

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Myself and my partner have stayed in the Grand Hotel a few times now. The last time was at the start of November for the Seaside Mayhem festival. On arrival we were met by friendly staff who booked us into our room. Our room/bathroom were spotless clean as were the bed and bed clothing. Our Breakfasts, Dinners and drinks were first class, even on the Monday after our breakfast when we were going home a member of staff made us a sandwich for our journey home. We will definitely be back to stay soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I have visited the Grand Hotel Tramore many times and I delight in the character of the building with its design and location (Overlooking the beach). The Management and staff are very friendly, helpful and courteous and their professionalism is a credit to the overall running of the hotel. I am returning soon with some friends for a weekend stay, we are all looking forward to that well earned break. I would personally recommend the Grand Hotel for a short break stay or a function the hotel is well up to any task that is placed on them.

Room Tip: The rooms are all good, the staff can advise you of your opyions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed many a time through functions that the hotel have held. The hotel itself is a little dated but what makes up for it, which I find most important is the fantastic staff. They can't do enough for you and I have to say through staying there a few times the staff have become an extended family. Its great to walk in and be greeted with a big smile and to be recognised by name. The hotel feels like a family run hotel and not a corporate business that just wants to take your money and turf you out. Will be back

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I have stayed in the Grand Hotel a number of times now & whilst in comparison to new-fangled Hotels where the Bars have no personality the Grand is out on it's own, A wonderful place which reminded me of holidays when I was young(60's/70's), food was top drawer & service second to none(thank you Jo). Always got a good deal too!!, Rooms could probably do with a little updating(flat-screen TV with some decent channels) but not too much, don't want too take away the charm. I love this place & will be back for sure, I know what to expect so I won't be disappointed . Les K

Room Tip: If you want a quiet night, state it when booking, it's no use looking for it when you arrive, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: Hotel Square | Tramore, Tramore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Tramore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tramore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Waterford offers over 80 spacious and comfortable en-suite bedrooms which are decorated with guests comfort in mind. Most of our rooms offer stunning views of Tramore Bay. All our bedrooms have extensive facilities including: Direct Dial telephone Tea/Coffee making facilities Hairdryer Multi-Channel TV Fresh linen & toiletries daily As a family friendly hotel we have 10 dedicated family rooms with double and either two or three single beds in each.There is an elevator servicing all guest bedrooms. Check in time is from 2pm, check out time is 12 noon, if you would like an early check-in or a late departure then please contact reception and we will do our best to accommodate you. A Credit Card is required to secure bookings at The Grand Hotel.Other facilites our rooms may offer include; Free High-Speed Internet Access 24hr Room Service Babysitting Complimentary baby listening service Wake-up Calls Laundry Service High Speed Internet Access Mini-Fridge Safe Secure Services Iron & Ironing Board Dvd Cots Newspapers available on request Late check-out €25 per room We also have specially adapted rooms for guests with limited mobility and with wheelchair access. We offer both smoking and non-smoking rooms for guests. A dedicated smoking room is located on the ground floor near the bar. Please note that a credit card pre-authorization is required on check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.