We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs an upgrade!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hotel Square | Tramore, Tramore, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tramore
armagh northern irealnd
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Needs an upgrade!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed in this hotel back in August 2012 for 3 nightswith our one year old daugher. Location is not great, it is a bit of a trek down the hill to town especially when pushing a pram. The view over the bay is gorgeous though. Our room was at the front of the hotel and was very noisy with traffic and music from the bar until 11.30pm. The rooms and bathroom are clean but very outdated in terms of carpet and furniture. There was also a musty smell in the whole hotel. Corridors were very narrow as well for navigating a pram. Bed was very uncomfortable and both my husband and I had sore backs when leaving.The shower was over the bath which I did not like either. Food in the bar and restaurant was excellent though and the staff were all very friendly. There was also good entertainment in the bar at night. I would not return to this hotel. Needs a good refurbishment!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason D, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Clairebear55,]
Thank you for the positive aspects of your review. Its nearly 8 months since your stay, the service and staff in the hotel remain the same but we have and are undertaking constant refurbishments. I hope that you get the chance to stay with us again soon and look forward to welcoming you then.
Best regards,
Jason Doyle
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    75
    38
    29
    44
See reviews for
71
86
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I attended a fund raiser last weekend in this hotel for two little kids and it was a cracker.It was a music/ band night and was attended by rockabilly and rock and rollers from every part of this Island. The hotel is clean and warm.It is a bit dated here and there, but what hotel is any other way? Wear and tear by the customers is part of the problem in any establishment.It is reasonably priced for famlies and couples and it's location on a height has to be seen to be believed. The staff are a mix of young and not so young, which I think is a good thing and I cannot honestly fault any of them while I was there.The lounge/ public areas are large and airy and can cope with large groups.
The food and drink were excellent and well priced.There is a lift to all floors.I'm told there is music of some kind most nights.The carpark is ample and free (yahoo).You are right in the middle of everything Tramore has to offer.There are singing / music pubs just outside the door or nearby. The beach and amusements are just down the hill.If I had a small concern, it would be the showers and the twin rooms. The showers are a bit of a chore for us 6ft people,shower head is a bit low and the step over/ into the bath / shower is a bit much.The beds in the twins are a bit too close together. Other then that, Irene and her team do a great job. Give it a go. you won't be disappointed, I promise......Paul Boylan (pboylan@eircom.ie)

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side can be a bit noisy as they face a pub, but not a real problem unless you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason D, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Paul,
Many thanks for your kind words, its so encouraging when people appreciate the good service and food offerings that we provide. I am delighted that you enjoyed the Valentines Rockabilly Rave and i hope to see you here for the weekender in November for even more entertainment.
Thanks again,
Jason Doyle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Ok so my husband got me a deal on living social for my birthday and we decided to use it for valentines weekend. When I rang to book I was told there was a increment for valentines weekend of 20 each. And I also booked a sea view room for a extra 20. 60 all together. Now I don't mind paying extra increments for valentines as we always go away for that weekend if there was something included for that extra price example last year we recieved fruit and chocolates in room
And champagne with dinner and a rose in a different hotel thus that's why there is a increment. Now this hotel did not provide anything extra! And was not full!! So this is my first disappointment. I did not expect this hotel to be great as it is old it really needs a update to the rooms especially carpet, curtains and bathroom tiles. I must say we had bar food which was good and the resturant was lovely too however the fruit pavlova was not cooked it was raw egg white and sugar. The bar entertainment it excellent as we are a young married couple this suited us fine but older people might not enjoy. The second night we stayed we had a few drinks and retire early there was a function on and could hear everything again we are young and can get over this. Others might not. O and I forgot to mention could hear everything in room next or above ours and sounded like someone was walking around our room. I'm glad my expectations were not great for this one having recently come back from honeymoon from 5 star to here but I know it's not a 5 star 3 maybe 2 definatly!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason D, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear irish_fairy_girl,
Thank you for your recent review. Valentines weekend is one of the busiest of the year for us thankfully and as such our rates are charged proportianately to the level of business, we are delighted to work with Living Social on the current deal that we have with them but we cannot afford to turn fully paying guests away at peak times, hence the small supplement. Of the current deal that we have there are only three weekends that there is a supplement for out of the five months that the deal is running over five months.
I very much appreciate you mentioning all of the things that you enjoyed, the service, the food & the music and I will take the rest of your comments into consideration and they are very much appreciated. There is no point in comparing us to a 5 star hotel, we are a 3 star hotel, you would be comparing two different products.
Best Regards,
Jason Doyle
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I was down there for the National Kettlebell Competition being hosted by Tramore Kettlebell Club. The facilities in the Hall were good, for getting ready lifting out the side was good as it was away from the main Competition.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason D, Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear aaronb1990,
Thank you for your review. We very much enjoyed hosting the event and meeting all of you. Hopefully it won't be too long before we get the chance to work with the National Kettlebells Association again.
Best Regards,
Jason Doyle
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

The only missing element was Basil and Manwell at the reception. Jesus how in 2013 are hotels (or so called hotels) allowed get away with charging people to stay in substandard accomodation.. This place is horrific. We were booken in for a weekend and within 10 minutes of checking in and seeing our room we were on the net looking for another hotel. Dump is to fine a word and how it claims a 3 star rating is beyond me. More like a 1 star.. The pictures of lovely rooms on the net dont resemble the real room... My advice GIVE THIS PLACE A MISS.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason D, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear edjam71,
Its regrettable that you did not stay with us to experience the true value of a stay in the Grand Hotel Tramore, which is the quality of service that we are constantly complimented on. I find it very unfair of you to rate the service as you didn't experience it and also unfair of tripadvisor to allow your review to be posted as you didn't actually stay with us. The Grand Hotel is the oldest public building in Tramore and as such contains a warmth and character unobtainable in many modern hotels. This is then complimented by our amazing staff and the quality and consistency of our food offerings. We also offer discounts on all activities in and around Tramore which gives added value to our customers on what are already very competitive rates. We supply quality entertainment offerings all year round with a particular focus on family and child orientated entertainment throughout the summer. All of the above and much more make the Grand Hotel a particularly attractive destination to a wide audience with many of our guests returning year on year for the service and welcome that they recieve with us.
Best regards,
Jason Doyle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

i dont understand some of the previous comments as we found the hotel pretty good. yes it may be dated but the staff were very nice and the hotel was clean. as we stayed on the 3rd floor maybe thats why we heard no noise as previously stated. we also got a great deal on groupon so cant complain about the price. yes the outside could do with a facelift but overall we had a good experience there

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason D, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear hoeanna,
Thank you sicerely for you complimentary review and i look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Best Regards,
Jason Doyle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here last weekend for two nights. While the rooms and facilities were quite basic and we did have some initial problems with heating in the room the staff were extremely friendly and the food was lovely. Tramore itself is a lovely town; small with everything within walking distance, quaint pubs and restaurants and the people were so friendly; I would certainly recommend this hotel if you were looking for somewhere in Tramore.

Room Tip: sea view is worth the extra money however may be more noisier as they look onto the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason D, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Laura F,
Thank you for your kind words in your recent review, and your kind recommendation. Its very rewarding to see such positive feedback not only as regards the Hotel istelf but as to Tramore as a destination. Your comments will be taken on board as regards the facillites and we do have a schedule in place on an ongoing basis for refurbishments. I look forward to welcoming you back to Tramore in the future.
Best regards,
Jason Doyle
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: Hotel Square | Tramore, Tramore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Tramore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tramore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Waterford offers over 80 spacious and comfortable en-suite bedrooms which are decorated with guests comfort in mind. Most of our rooms offer stunning views of Tramore Bay. All our bedrooms have extensive facilities including: Direct Dial telephone Tea/Coffee making facilities Hairdryer Multi-Channel TV Fresh linen & toiletries daily As a family friendly hotel we have 10 dedicated family rooms with double and either two or three single beds in each.There is an elevator servicing all guest bedrooms. Check in time is from 2pm, check out time is 12 noon, if you would like an early check-in or a late departure then please contact reception and we will do our best to accommodate you. A Credit Card is required to secure bookings at The Grand Hotel.Other facilites our rooms may offer include; Free High-Speed Internet Access 24hr Room Service Babysitting Complimentary baby listening service Wake-up Calls Laundry Service High Speed Internet Access Mini-Fridge Safe Secure Services Iron & Ironing Board Dvd Cots Newspapers available on request Late check-out €25 per room We also have specially adapted rooms for guests with limited mobility and with wheelchair access. We offer both smoking and non-smoking rooms for guests. A dedicated smoking room is located on the ground floor near the bar. Please note that a credit card pre-authorization is required on check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.