We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clancy's Bar & Restaurant

Clancy's Bar & Restaurant
Front Strand, Youghal 0000, Ireland
+353 24 25444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 22 Restaurants in Youghal
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar, Gastropub, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: With an impressive selection of beers, wines, whiskeys and cocktails, Clancy's is among the premier locations for a good night out in East Cork-whether it's to meet up with friends, celebrate a special occasion, enjoy the live music or catch any and all international sporting events on the bar's flat-screen TVs. The beauty of Youghal speaks for itself-where Cork meets Waterford, where the Blackwater meets the Celtic Sea, and where strong traditions meet the present day. There's no better way to take in that beauty than with a walk along the Strand. And while you're down here, call into Clancy's for a bit of refreshment-be it at the bar, in the dining room or in our beer garden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Wonderful view of sea from both inside and put on deck. Great cottage pie. Very clean. Beautiful wood bar.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We had lunch as a group of adults and dinner with our children in Clancy's. Both were very positive experiences. The menu had plenty to interest everyone and prices were a pleasant surprise, both at 1pm and 6:30pm. The service in particular was wonderful, all staff were helpful and very friendly, particularly to the children. They were well informed and attentive but not intrusive. We walked along the beach to Clancy's from Red Barn and the entire evening was a joy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padraig H, Owner at Clancy's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hi Aislilsia,

Thank-you so much for your lovely kind words about both your lunch and dinner experience and the 'great service' that you received here at Clancy's last week.

We appreciate your Feedback and hope to see you again in the future.

Padraig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Tasty bar food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Ate hear on a recommendation and wasn't disappointed . Had the fish and chips. Proper home made chips, delicious! Scampi pieces were a fine size. Would definitely go hear again if passing through Youghal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padraig H, Owner at Clancy's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hi,

We do appreciate you writing a lovely review about our food here at Clancy's and we would also like to thank your friends who referred you to us!

Hope to see you again in the future...

Padraig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great terrace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We had a drink on the sun terrace and decided to eat there that night. But on arrival we were told food service had finished and we would have eat inside. no prob we said but we were seated at a table and just left. Eventually a staff member told us we were in the wrong area and reseated us. so after a few false starts, we had a lovely meal of calamari to share as there was loads followed by duck and rib eye steak. all delicious. but just watch where you sit and if you want food on the terrace get there before 8 at least if not earlier.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padraig H, Owner at Clancy's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hi,

Thank-you for taking the time out to share your experience here at Clancy's. I am delighted that you enjoyed the Food!

We stopped serving that night at 8 as there was rain forecasted and the previous 2 nights for Dinner, it rained slightly both nights and when customers came in from outside, there was nowhere for them to sit inside as we were full so we did not want that to happen for a third night in a row. We always serve until 9 provided the weather is good so I apologize at 8 o' clock that you had to move inside but that was the reason behind it!

Thanks again

Padraig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“New Clancy's is brilliant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The re launched Clancy's is absolutely stunning. The decor has been overhauled to reflect the past of the bar as the railway pub. Old photos of the Youghal railway in its heyday, statues of train conductors, even a model train winds around the ceiling!

No expense has been spared in revamping the interior and exterior Clancy's. Wooden floors, nice brick work, and even an outdoor bar on the verandah add to its charm. The menu is extensive and more upper class than your standard pub grub fare. The outdoor verandah is also perfect for a drink in the sun while looking out to the sea. Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padraig H, Owner at Clancy's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hi,

Thank-you so much for writing such a lovely review about Clancy's. It really makes all the hard work worthwhile when we receive such lovely reviews!

Many Thanks

Padraig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clancy's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Youghal, County Cork
Youghal, County Cork
 

Been to Clancy's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clancy's Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.