We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERB FAMILY HOLIDAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal to your Saves list
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Redbarn Beach, Youghal, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Youghal
Cork
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“SUPERB FAMILY HOLIDAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

We booked the Quality for the 3rd year in a row and had a fabulous week in Youghal. With 3 young children it's difficult to get away and keep them entertained but the facilities and accomodation for families are excellent. The value for money was very good, we ate in the bar some days and cooked ourselves on others washed down with a few pints in the evenings. The rain held off for most of the week ensuring we made the most of the lovely beach literally on the doorstep.
John Dineen, Ballintemple

  • Liked — 2 Minutes to the Beach
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    137
    71
    32
    22
See reviews for
292
41
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin 15
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

We stayed here for 4 nights during the week. When we arrived we checked in and were given the key to our 'apartment'. Starving after the journey, we went to the bar for something to eat first. Food was not bad. The 'apartments are outside of the main hotel at the back, Main door to each block is left open (not good security). We were on the second floor. No lift. Not a problem but I was not told this when I was booking, nor was I asked if I needed any special access requirements. Apartments were a great size. Two bedrooms, one twin ensuite and one double, family size bathroom, kitchen area and sitting area.
Ate in the hotel retaurant one evening, food was lovely and so was the staff.
Just two complaints really, I never got my breakfast one morning, after sitting for half an hour I asked againe for it, the chef had forgotten about it (It was not busy)
The apartment was never cleaned. The cleaning of the apartment was not a big issue as we did not create much of a mess but it would have been nice if the towels had of been changed once while we were there. It did not really matter to us as there was only two of us and there were four towels but for a large family, this could have been an issue.
Enjoyed the stay and may go back, though I don't go back to the same place twice usually unless I have been really impressed.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athy, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

We decided to get away for a couple of days over the june bank holiday, and thought this would be ideal due to its beachside location and onsite leisure centre.

We reserved a 3 bed holiday home, on arrival on the saturday afternoon we checked in and were given the key, only to find that when we arrived at the house they were still cleaning it. Ok, we were about 45mins earlier than stated check-in time, but it was v annoying to get key etc and then arrive at house to be told go away and come back in half an hour. Just a minor thing, but after the long drive, twas a bit unwelcome.

Anyway, once we got in the house was just what we needed. 3 bedrooms, 2 ensuite and plenty of room for 2 adults and 3 kids. Only a couple of gripes about the accom: we had booked a cot which wasnt there when we arrived and we had to ask for it twice before it came down. Also, the tv was rubbish. I know we were on hols and not there to watch telly, however, with 3 young kids, when they go to bed at night its nice to relax with a glass of wine and the tv. The channels were a basic selection, the reception was awful and a dvd player would have been welcome. In the 21st century, you would assume that hotels would have cable tv, so shouldnt really have issues with picture quality.

The leisure centre was lovely, the kids loved the pool and it was never very busy. The hotel location on the beach was great, couldnt have been any better really.

The only other thing worth commenting on was the lack of restaurant facilities. The bar does lovely food, we ate there on the first night and as it was a lovely eveing we sat outside and the kids could play on the lovely grassy area. However on the second night it was raining and the bar area was jammers. It seems to us that the holiday homes were built after the hotel was up and running and they just havent taken into account the extra numbers they might get looking for food. In the end, we went into town and got a chinese takeaway, which was yummy.

To finish, the staff we met were all lovely and a real credit to the hotel.

I sound like Im complaining about everything, but overall we had fun and the kids really enjoyed themselves.

  • Liked — location and comfy beds
  • Disliked — tv reception poor
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

I found this hotel online and was impressed by the ocean views and the few pictures of very clean and pretty rooms. I booked an apartment deal for three nights and two dinners. I asked for non-smoking area with sea views and as it was not the main busy season I expected at least one of those requests to be fulfilled.
When we arrived we were given our room key and off we went. I was a little dismayed to see the hotel was undergoing renovations which we were NOT told about when we booked.
The outside door to the apartment complex was ajar, the whole place had a very neglected appearance.
Our apartment was very roomy and had a view of the 'building site' below. No sea views and a distinct smell of smoke.
The rooms were cold and the furnishings very cheap pine. Perhaps suitable for people on a very low budget with low expectations.
Immediately we asked for another room and again no sea view. After more negotiations the receptionist came up with a room with a sea view. Again same cheap and nasty pine furnishings and neglected aspect. The sea view was obscured by really dirty windows, inside and out. Spider in bathroom, no hot water in bathroom sink...the list goes on..
Why we stayed even one night I just dont know..
The restaurant that night was booked for a private party so we had to eat in the crowded bar. The service was poor and the food tasteless. My rice dish was swimming in rice water.
Wow and the beach was horrible. Dog poo everywhere, not pleasant.

Our room was right beside the restaurant and we heard the very loud extraction fan until about 11.00om that night. The kettle in the room didnt work and when we complained the next day and wanted to check out we were asked to pay all sorts of fees. I would say to anyone there that this hotel is nothing more than a 1 to 2 star. Certainly no more. Don't go there unless you plan to rough it.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auvers-sur-Oise, France
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2008

Perfect stay, very convenient.
The two room appartment was very comfortable and convenient. It is possible to make your tea or coffee in the kitchen. The beds were properly done for us before our arrival. Two bathrooms for 4, it's nice !
Jacuzzi and Sauna weren't at the good temperature...

  • Liked — Confortable and quiet... but it was April !
  • Disliked — Sauna temperature 70°C !!!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfleet, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2008

This big resort type hotel caters for every need: Standard hotel rooms, two bedroom apartments and three bedroom houses. There is a full size leisure centre on site with free entrance to residents boasting a full size indoor pool, a children's pool, a jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and a full size gym all of which were clean and in very good condition. As expected there is a resturant, a bar and kids activities. The famous Youghal beaches are as always very clean. We stayed at the two bed apartment and were impressed with the size of the rooms and the facilities in the full size kitchen, which included everything from egg cups to a washing machine. The staff were very friendly.
The only let down was the cleanliness of some of the fixtures and fittings but overall a very good place for a short stay or an extended family holiday.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2008

I have stayed in a few Quality Hotels and all are value for money, as is this one.
Myself and my husband and two kids, 2 and 6, stayed in a 2 bed apt for 2 nights. Compared to an apartment in some of the foreign holiday resorts there is no comparison. It was spacious, clean , fully equipped and well stocked with kitchen ware etc.
The hotel bar, restaurant, & leisure club are fabulous. My only gripe is that it appeared to us as if there wasnt enough staff on duty. We stayed the week after the Easter holidays which should have been OK. It wasnt that busy. But staff were dishevelled and tired looking from running around to tend the bar , serve food, clean tables etc. This was in both the bar and restaurant, day and night.
The food is basic enough, satisfying but nothing fancy.
The location is the best bit about the hotel, right on the beach edge......
The Quality hotels are definitely family orientated and this hotel is no different, kids galore ...so be prepared.
The creche, kids clud and kids kamp are great too, Our kids loved them.
We had a wee incident with one of the showers. Pardon the pun. Looked liked a child had urinated in the shower but it had not been cleaned before our arrival. But maybe this is an exception as the place is generally clean.
Taking all of this into account, we had a great holiday, kids had a ball, and we didnt have to cook and wash up. All in all, It was a great family holiday.

  • Liked — Childrens facilities and beach
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal

Address: Redbarn Beach, Youghal, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Youghal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Youghal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Hotel in Youghal is situated a stones throw from the beach and 35 minutes from Cork City. The hotel is a renowned family friendly destination and includes excellent self catering facilities, with two bedroom apartment suites and 3/4 bedroom holiday homes on offer. All guests have free use of the leisure centre facilities and the gym,and guests can also avail of a range of relaxing spa treatments. Highlights during the school holidays is Kids Camp, with 3D movies also on offer for rainy days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel And Leisure Center Youghal
Quality Inn Youghal
Youghal Quality Inn
Quality Hotel Youghal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.