We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
The Old Imperial Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 North Main Street, Youghal, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Youghal
Kerry
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed here in early September and I must say on first sight I was dissapointed as it wasnt what I was expecting in a hotel but I must say i really enjoyed my stay here. I dont know should it be titled with hotel as its more like a bar with bedrooms but the bedroom I stayed in was in great condition, clean and the shower was great. The food at the hotel was second to none and must say the best food we had for the two days spent in Youghal. It must be said that the staff are really nice and friendly and if I was ever to go back to Youghal I wouldnt stay anywhere else as there is something very charming about it. For someone travelling to Youghal dont make the mistake as I did that Youghal is right on the sea its not its outside the town which was a dissapointment as i phoned the week before and spoke to a receptionist and requested a room with a view and she said ya no bother instead of telling me that there would be no view as the Old Imperial is located in the middle of the town (great location) and there is no sea view hence the initial let down. Thanks again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear MarieKerry
Thank you for your detailed review. We appreciate the candid honesty in your review and it will enhance they way our reception team describe rooms here in the building and also the way we market the building. We are glad you enjoyed your meal here also and your comments are greatly appreciated by the kitchen team. We look forward to welcoming you again should you be in the area.
Best wishes
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    35
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
50
77
9
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Youghal, Ireland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in the Old Imperial Hotel after our wedding. It was just great and we couldn't have been happier. Both Marc's truly understand the meaning of customer service, breath and live it and so does their staff. Thanks very much for a great few nights. Highly recommendable. Greetings to everyone at the Old Imperial Hotel who made these days real special.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear donal_buistear.
Thank you for your very thoughtful review. We are very glad to have made your stay with us an enjoyable one and it is the team spirit here at the hotel makes it all possible!
Wishing you lifelong health and happiness!!
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed in this Hotel 01.09.12 for two nights. On arrival the car park was full but the owner Martin came out personally to make sure we were sorted and even offered to move his own car if we wanted to. Check in was very friendly and efficient and I was soon in my room. Rooms were spotlessly clean very comfortable & laid out to a high standard. There is even an ironing board in each room which negated the normal 30 - 40 minute delay in getting one which you experience in larger hotels. Bathrooms were again spotless and you can tell this hotel takes quality very seriously. I was with two colleagues and we ate in the restaurant and I have to say it was one of the best meals I had in a long time. If you stay you have to try the chowder its is delicious and come served with locally made breads. I have a personal predilection towards chowder which can be a bit like Bertie Botts sweets in the Harry Potter books and in many places the chowder is equivalent to getting bogie flavour....not here its exceptional!!! The presentation of the main courses was akin to that which you would normally receive in a five star restaurant and the quality/taste of the food was exceptional. This was repeated at breakfast where again this establishment goes the extra mile to really impress. The bar in the hotel is very welcoming with a good range on offer and has a lovely atmosphere and on a good day you can eat or drink outside and enjoy the good weather and speaking to locals they told us this was the best spot in town to eat and on the Sunday it was jammed which bore testament to this.
If you are this area and you want a quality chilled experience this is the place to go you will not be disappointed and remember try the chowder and a nice chilled glass of Sauvignon Blanc...Bertie would defiantly approve lol!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear hagrid1206,
Your detailed and very kind review has gone down a treat with every member of the team here at the hotel. The tinge of humorous analogy makes it all the more heartfelt, it makes the hard work put in by each member of staff here worthwhile. We thank you again and hope to have the pleasure in having you stay with us again.
Best wishes
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We visited The Old Imperial in Youghal on a friend's recommendation last week for an evening meal. The food was very good indeed. Two of us had the chicken burger, and one had pasta and chicken. All plates were nicely presented, the food was fresh, generous in portion size and competitively priced. If only some of the so-called gourmet burger chains in the UK could do something similar. And the service was very good as well. Top marks!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Sean C

Thanks for your lovely review, it makes it all worthwhile to read your thoughtful words.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Arrived. Late last night booked in had an amazing gormet meal. Rooms are spotless beds comfy and an amazing breakfast !! Buzzing bar and friendly staff !I would recommend if you are travelling through Ireland it's a quaint town not to miss!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Paul Meekin
Your thoughtful review has been appreciated by all the team here at the hotel. We all work together as a team and try to make it a fun environment for everyone. Thank you again for your thoughtful words and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Really lovely vibe in this hotel. Room was fairly standard but nice / very clean. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the bar and breakfast; the food was fabulous. Stayed over for the Sean Kelly an Post cycle as Dungarvan was booked out: perfect choice, will be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Feoil,
Thank you for your recent review, we appreciate the kind words. The rooms are all currently being redecorated, some finished and the rest being slotted in as time allows, so you should notice a change the next time you are in youghal!
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel is only a small hotel but has a BIG heart. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, always asking how we were etc. Our room was spotless and spacious. The food was second to none and so reasonably priced for the portion size. Overall a fantastic stay and I would highly recommend this hotel.

The only thing we had an issue with, which may I add had nothing to do with the hotel was Expedia/Venere who we booked with. If you book through either of these companies I would contact the hotel first. I will never book through them again.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Clareski1892
Thank you for your heartfelt review it is very much appreciated i can assure you! It is nice to be described as having a big heart. We strive to ensure our guests all get the attention they deserve whilst in our care. We hope to see you again in the future!
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Imperial Hotel

Address: 27 North Main Street, Youghal, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Youghal
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Youghal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Small family Friendly Hotel situated in Youghal town centre, customer care and comfort is our priority- Our en suite bedrooms are luxuriously furnished with king size beds, TV, trouser press plus iron, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities. - All rooms with Free Internet access. Rates include full irish or continental breakfast from 7:30am - 10am each morning - Full a la carte menu available daily from 11:30am including daily specials and also set dinner menu available daily from 6pm in the bar and bistro. Private car park for our customers. Youghal is a historic seaside town on the South East coast of Ireland. It is 35 miles from Cork Airport on the N25 which runs from Rosslare Harbour to Killarney and approx. 80 miles from Shannon Airport. 150 approx from Dublin Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Old Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Imperial Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.