We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice apartment and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carleton Village

Save Saved
You added Carleton Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carleton Village
Golf Links Road, Youghal, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“Nice apartment and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed in a two bedroom apartment in Carleton Village along with my parents recently. We booked the apartment through the Super Value holiday deals, so we got the week here for €300. Our first impression wasn’t great as the hallways are a bit dingy and smell a bit damp. However the apartment itself was lovely, bright and airy with beautiful views over the ocean from the living room and master bedroom windows. The bedrooms are a good large size; the ensuite especially is very large. The beds were comfortable although there were only blinds in the room, no curtains, so there was some bleed through of light in the mornings. The kitchen/dining/living area was a good size; the kitchen was very well equipped. Although a bit cramped if there was more than one person in it, it was cleverly designed to maximise space. The furniture in the living room was comfortable, but the TV was small and received a very poor picture, it was pot luck if we got any stations at all and if we did the picture was borderline unwatchable. The curtain in the living area was very shabby and looked like it was going to fall off the rod at any moment. The whole apartment was very clean.

The apartment is situated above the town, it is quite far out if you are driving, but there is a short cut if you are walking, but be warned, it does involve a steep climb. All entrances were guarded with gates which required pin numbers, so it did add a little bit of security. The pool, putting green etc was closed for the season so we didn’t get to try those.

Overall we thought this property was good. A little attention to detail would make it great. Putting up some curtains, sorting out the TV and making the entrance a little more inviting would have had me giving this place a 5 star rating. Still, for the price we paid, we thought it offered good value. Youghal is a nice town and convenient for visiting east coast of Cork.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarletonManager, Manager at Carleton Village, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear NCMC,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for pointing out the issue with the Television and Curtains,we have had our maintenance team in to assess the issues and found that indeed there was a faulty cable in the rear of the T.V and that the curtain rail pull cord had been broken. These issues have now been fixed.
Thank you for the feedback and we hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

I booked a 3 bedroom house for a family and friends trip (4 adults and 2 kids) but in the end got a 4 bedroom house, as it was off-season. Can't complain about the price as it was booked as a deal, but not sure I would have paid the full amount on the carelton village website. However it was good value for us.

The 4 bedroom house actually had a pretty small groundfloor area though, it was effectively a 2 bedroom house with the extra 2 bedrooms and bathroom tacked on the side (which I suppose provided a quieter sleeping area).
The house was spotless and the beds were very comfortable. The management supplied two travel-cots, although the toddler slept in a big bed in the end, and the blackout blinds were great for getting him to sleep. The house actually got very warm when the sun shone. The toddler loved the playground, and I must admit his Auntie had a go on the slide when nobody was looking as well. The guys got to play (very amateur) tennis too, with racquets supplied by the receptionist, a nice touch.
There are some lovely views of the sea from the patio, but not from all the houses.
Its a pretty good location to walk to youghal and the beach, although the hill is VERY steep for pushing a buggy back up. For those without cars its an OK location to get to shops, I've found a lot of self catering places tend to be away from town a bit.
As it was low season the walled garden with the pool was closed, which we expected, although it would have been a nice sheltered spot to sit on the sunny days.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarletonManager, Manager at Carleton Village, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear CorkonianCouple,

WE delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Carleton Village. Particularly delighted that 'Auntie' got to enjoy the slide, some photographic evidence would prove very amusing? The Walled Garden and Swimming Pool area will open again to guests for the July/August Season
Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Just had to come on and share our wonderful experience of Carleton Village. Both myself and my husband have spent two lovely weeks in Youghal with our 17 month old toddler.

We booked a fortnight 'off peak' at the holiday homes and secured a great rate with thanks to the help of some Super Valu tokens we had. On arrival we were given an complimentary upgrade to a 4 bedroom villa and a stair gate was provided. Car parking is ample and the village is well lit at night. A security code is required allowing only those resident to enter the village.

We had read the reviews here before going and have to agree with all the great compliments about this holiday village. Spotlessly clean on arrival, copious amounts of towels available, good quality furniture and fittings, bedlinen attractive and suitable and ample supply of kitchen utensils with all mod cons. The outside landscaping is very well maintained too.

The holiday village was quiet, we didn't see anyone else holidaying in the village during our stay, there are some families and young professionals residing there long term but these residents are quiet and bar hearing one neighbour having a hard time starting his old banger of a car each time he was going anywhere we had no complaints about noise or disturbance.

Our toddler had plenty of fun in the playground daily which is clean, well maintained and safe. We had a game of tennis on the courts which are in great condition and open all year round. We had been informed on booking that the kids club, outdoor pool and seasonal reception would not be available during off peak season and we had no problem with this.
Toddler was also very happy in the home, layout was safe for children and comfortable. The Jacuzzi bath was an extra treat.

Naturally spending two weeks at the holiday home we wanted to cook at home a lot, our oven temperature didn't work satisfactorily on our first night there, a text to the owner to report the issue was all that was required and the oven was repaired and in perfect working order within a few hours. Communication with the owners is great and the welcome information pack provided in each home is very informative and useful.

We availed of the discount price for residents at the local Aura pool/gym and at Perks funfair in the town. We found Youghal a useful base from which to explore East Cork.

We would certainly stay here again. We will take great pleasure in recommending this holiday village to other families.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarletonManager, Manager at Carleton Village, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Hi Nutty Laura,

Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, Thank you so very much for the fantastic review and we look forward to seeing you and the family again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed in Carleton Holiday Village in Youghal for 5 nights with our 2 year old during the first week of September. We had originally booked a two bedroomed villa, but as our stay was during the start of the non-peak season, we were kindly upgraded to a 3 bedroomed villa for free. The house we stayed in was spotless clean, with all the mod cons needed - in the kitchen there was washer/dryer, microwave, toaster, kettle, dishwasher and plenty of cutlery and dishes. There was a generous supply of towels aswell. Heating is by storage heaters which heat up very quickly and have temperature and timer controls aswell. Emersion is on timer aswell. In the sitting room, there was a stero, a medium sized flat-screen TV with integrated DVD and in the bedroom downstairs, there was antoher TV too. The bathroom downstairs had shower and jacuzzi bath. Upstairs, is the master en-suite bedroom, and box-sized bedroom with a separate closet on the landing too. House is very generously sized.
Just to note though, we discovered that some of the plumbing is a bit mixed up - in the bathroom downstairs for example, on the bath - the hot tap is the cold tap and visa versa - so if your child plays with the taps during bath time, word of warning to check that there's no hot water coming out of the cold tap - so to avoid any burns or scalding. This was the same in the electric shower in the en-suite, when the dial was turned to the hot setting, it was ice-cold water coming out!
We found at night time it was really quiet and as we didn't have any neighbours next door, there was no issue of any noise disturbance - again, one of the advantages of off-peak booking. There was no issue about the playground being too busy or much noise outside during the day either.
The grounds were excellent - as we were staying during out-of-season, the pool and walled garden were closed off (we were aware of this during our booking) - but it was not an issue as the weather was not suitable for swimming outdoors anyways :) In any case, the playground was excellent and was more than enough to keep a toddler entertained. The tennis courts and basket ball courts were open, and were also excellently maintained.
It's possible to walk to the town and to a small beach area from the holiday village - it's a steep walk on the way back though! About 3 minutes drive away is the fantastic 5-mile stretch of blue flag beach. Absoutley fab.
The manager was extremely pleasent and helpful. There's keypad entry at the main entrance to the holiday village, and again at the access gate down at the end of walkway to the town / beach and again at the fenced-off rubbish storage areas.
Overall, as this was our first experience of staying in a holiday home, all our expectations were met - and most definately would return. Would recommend a visit here for sure.

Room Tip: Book during off-peak season to have the place to yourselves !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarletonManager, Manager at Carleton Village, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear Dublin 074,

Thanks for the fantastic feed back. It's a great boost to all the staff here to receive such great praise.

Hope to see you again next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meath, ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

just home from week in youghal, stayed in carleton village 3 bed villa, house very clean had everything you could need e.g bed linen kitchen utentils. have 3 children age 1/5/6 yrs, walled garden with pool and other sports very good, very child friendly, play ground and tennis court, all grounds well maintained, bbq on tuesday eve good fun, children loved the magician, will return.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarletonManager, Manager at Carleton Village, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Hi Therese M,

Delighted you and your family had a great time. The BBQ night has been great success again this year and the feedback that we get from the whole evening has been resoundingly positive. Hope you are all keeping well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed in Carleton Village with three kids,5,10 and 13 years old. The accomodation was first class with all modern facilities,jacuzzi bath ,dishwasher, washing machine , two tvs, one in master bedroom complete with queensize bed ensuite toilet/shower. The kitchen was better equipped than our kitchen at home! Who needs a flan dish on holiday? Was lovely to note just how spotless everything was. The Village facilities are excellent with two tennis courts, play ground,outdoor heated pool (life guard and even armbands!), badminton. BBQ on Tuesday evening which is held by the management and the ever helpful Katrina.Gounds and Accomodation are well maintained with the setting providing views of the Blackwater River and Youghal Harbour. There was a short walk to town and beach. Youghal itself is a hillside town looking onto the bay with a relaxing holiday atmosphere with friendly local people.
The weather was good and meant we could go to the local Blue flag beaches and also trips to Ardmore and Whiting Bay (this beach had a lot of seaweed washed up and a dead seal!!!!!)
One wet day head we went to the local swimming pool with waterslide.

Eating out was good with plenty of options from Pub Grub, Chinese, Italian and the chipper!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

This was our first visit to Carleton Village. We are a family of 5 with two older teenagers and one younger 7 year old. We were a bit concerned about trying to please them all but I need not have worried. On site there was everything needed for my youngest son the tennis courts, kids clubs (Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday), heated outdoor swimming pool (with a fantastic lifeguard Michael) and games in the walled garden area. My older sons played tennis (onsite) and golf (Youghal Golf Club across the road and very friendly). There was also the aura swimming pool complex 5 min car drive where you could use an indoor swimming pool and one slide and gym. The house was cleaned to a very high standard and was very well equiped we had beautiful views of the atlantic from our house (3 bedroomed villa). You could walk into Youghal town and beaches (there is a steep hill to walk back up) or alternatly you could drive (2 mins). All in all we all had a great time and are considering a delux villia for next year.

Room Tip: Delux villas have fantastic sites overlookin the Atlantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carleton Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carleton Village

Address: Golf Links Road, Youghal, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Youghal
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Youghal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carleton Village Holiday Homes Youghal are ideally located to offer you and your family an activity packed relaxing family break. Only a 2 minute drive from Youghal, Carleton Village offers you an onsite heated outdoor pool, two championship tennis courts, a fantastic playground, The Carleton Village Family Fun BBQ night, *Kids Club and Walled Garden packed to the brim with family fun activities. We’ve even got rainy days covered with our free DVD and local loyalty scheme. All this along with fantastic views overlooking Youghal, the river Blackwater and Atlantic Ocean all set in a 20 acre private secured complex. 40 minutes from Cork City, 30 minute from "Fota Wildlife" and only 2 1/2 hrs from Dublin, Carleton Holiday Homes is the perfect place to start your stress free family holiday. Carleton Village Holiday Homes Youghal, East Cork No.1 in Family Fun Holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Carleton Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carleton Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.