We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven of relaxation... no matter how many times you visit.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabra Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cabra Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Cabra Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Castle   |   Kingscourt | Co Cavan, Kingscourt, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
portadown
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A haven of relaxation... no matter how many times you visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

A late made booking, and as always the Cabra booking ladies, Denise and Lorraine met our every need. They had arranged a stay for our daughter and new husband, a day previously and treated them with excellent service as always. The magical ingredient with Cabra is the staff when you arrive welcome you so warmly, but know that you are there to relax, and will not intrude on your stay, yet there to answer every and any query. I have been going to Cabra for many years, maybe 3 or 4 times a year, and every stay is better than the previous. My little corner of heaven.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    184
    53
    26
    15
See reviews for
130
390
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

My husband and I were so excited to be staying at a Castle on our recent holiday in Ireland. We found the Castle with little difficulty and on checking in the staff were non receptive. We found our room to be in the castle but nothing like the photos on the web site. Our room was above the car park and very small but clean. We were not told that they have a wedding at the castle almost everyday and the Reception goes very late into the night. We woke on the first night to talking in the car park and the sound of car doors and people making their way to their roomswhich was not too loud. But on the second night, the reception guests were much noisier, very inconsiderate loud talking, revving cars and blowing the car horns.(From midnight to 4am) The guests staying in the castle carried on in the rooms and guests even tried unlocking our room by mistake, other guests also took the party into the courtyard in the early hours.Which was outside our room also. On checking out, we were not asked if we enjoyed our visit, so my husband and I said we loved the castle, the meals were wonderful but the nosie from the inconsiderate wedding guest was disappointing. This comment was taken as a personnal attack on the senior female staff member. Surely with such a versatile establishment that there could be a little discretion by staff to ensure that all guest are comfortable and get a good nights sleep. We felt the staff were more focused on Wedding guests than the other guests. At E150 per night we expected alot more than we got.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

We went here for a wedding.
Everything was just perfect!
The staff were great and very very attentive.
The food was excellent!
Hotel looked great!
Loved the Irish wolf hound at the door.
Thank you to all the staff

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

We had our wedding at Cabra Castle on Friday, August 13, 2010. We could not have asked for anything more!!! The ENTIRE staff, from reservations to our wedding staff was SUPERB!!! We would like to name everyone, but are fearful of omitting someone - Howard, Paul, Betty, Denise, Karen, Lorraine, Audrey - please, if we left anyone out, we are so sorry, because there was not one negative person or occurrence! EVERY GUEST CAME TO US TO TELL US IT WAS THE VERY BEST WEDDING THAT THEY EVER ATTENDED - THESE WERE GUESTS FROM ALL OVER IRELAND AND MANY FROM THE USA, AS WELL! The food, the service, the attention to detail and assuring that our "custom requests" were accommodated - it was everything and much, much more than we dreamed of! I believe our guests booked well over 50 rooms - EVERYONE was amazed at the service and friendliness of all the staff. AND, we cannot forget Oscar - the resident Irish Wolfhound - he was the hit of the wedding! THANK YOU, CABRA CASTLE, FOR MAKIING OUR WEDDING MAGICAL!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Stayed in Cabra Castle weekending 13th August. Check in was excellent. Absolutely beautiful room in the Castle overlooking the golf course. Eventhough there were weddings on on both days never heard any noise all night. Service was excellent. Staff very friendly. Food was really good. The only down side was the spa /beauty which was in the lodge at the end of the drive treatments were not good.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

I was really looking forward to spending a relaxing couple of nights at the hotel for my boyfriend's birthday. We were delighted when we checked in and saw that we had the room we had had our eye on from the website. We were put in room 57, the the courtyard and I can fault nothing about the room. It was huge, romantic and comfortable. However, in my opinion, this is where the charm of the hotel stopped.

On our first night, we went for a few drinks in the bar and found the decor tacky and not in keeping with the style of a cozy castle bar. It was also cold and uncomfortable, but the staff were lovely.

The next morning we ordered breakfast to be delivered to the room. I couldn't believe the state of the food that was delivered. The coffee was cold and we were both served one measly sausage and one even more measly piece of bacon. The scrambled egg had the consistency of rubber and it was lumped on top of a soggy piece of brown toast. I couldn't believe that this was the standard of breakfast in a place that charges €185 per person for a night.

Unfortunately my experience of the hotel's cuisine only went down hill from there. On our second night, we were greatly looking forward to our meal in the hotel's restaurant. I was delighted to see tuna steak on the and ordered that. It was completely over cooked, as was my boyfriend's steak, and the tuna was covered in a hanful of chopped, burnt almonds. Bizarre! The meal was accompanied by over cooked root vegatables and under cooked/raw potoatoes. I was so disappointed by this as it took away from the whole night.

We went down to the restaurant on the morning of check out and what happened here reduced us to completely incredulous laughter. We entered the restaurant and approached the head waitress for table. She informed us that the guests of a wedding that had taken place the night before get priority seating for breakfast over everyone else and we would have to wait outside. So off we went and took a seat outside the door with the other poor guests who had the nerve to book a room in the hotel and not attend the wedding. We felt like naughty children sitting outside the principal's office, as the members fo the wedding party strolled by us to have their breakfast. After about 10 minutes we were all marched in to a room near by, which reminded me of something from The Shining and we were allowed to have breakfast there.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The room was amazing but that was it. Ridiculous value for money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

I think I was hoping for more of a castle and less of a hotel so I was disappointed. This place was also really hard for us to find and drove around for about 2 hours trying to find it. It was a nice place if you want a hotel but we are more of the B&B kind of people I think.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabra Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabra Castle Hotel

Address: Kingscourt | Co Cavan, Kingscourt, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Kingscourt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kingscourt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabra Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive through the 100 acres of beautifully manicured gardens and parkland to the magnificent 19th century 4 Star Castle Hotel set deep in the Cavan countryside you will feel totally welcomed and thoroughly spoiled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Cabra Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabra Castle Hotel Ireland/Kingscourt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabra Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.